Playing with Tags: Practical Exercise, Use and Application of Tags in Your Hive Posts (A)

in Hive Learners2 years ago

png_20220406_111102_0000.png

20220809_034144_0000.png

VideoCapture_20220830-010451.jpg

Understanding how to use tags efficiently has more advantages than you can ever imagine. But, as Newbies on Hive, we find this somewhat difficult and confusing so much that we either ignore learning this or just fill in something in order to successfully make a post.

But the fact is: if you don’t understand “the game of tags” on Hive then you are missing a lot!

I’ve read so many posts on Hive that explains what these tags are and their benefits. I have also written some posts about tags and Tribe Tokens. However, this post will take a different dimension.

WE ARE GOING ALL OUT!

WE....GOING PRACTICAL BAIBY!

png_20220406_111102_0000.png


Rather than just “talking-talking” only, we will try to be more practical in speaking about tags so that you will get to understand it better and you will be deliberate in your use of tags.

Well, every time you click on the PUBLISH icon, everyone believes that whatever you’ve put up as a post is DELIBERATE, and that is why you can be penalized by Hive Watchers for being dishonest with your writings or images (plagiarism). So be careful not to abuse the tags


Get ready, this will be a long post that will be divided into two parts.

In the first part we shall cover the following themes:

  • Tags = Topics
  • Examples of Tags
  • Categories of Tags
    • Community Tags
      • Community id
      • Community Specified tags
      • Using other Community tags/name in related posts
    • Tribal Tags
      • Examples of Tribal Tags
      • Tags for General Content
      • Tags for Specific Contents
    • Relevant Tags
    • Popular/Trending Tags

In the second part, we shall cover the following themes.

  • Arranging your Tags in Posts
    • First (Primary Tag)
    • First Five Tags
    • Other Tags
  • Examples (Analyzing and creating the placement of tags in three Posts)
  • Of What use are the Tags?
    • Wider audience and Visibility
    • Visibility and Earning from other Hive Front End
      • Author and Curation Rewards
      • List of some Hive frontends
  • Abuse of Tags
  • Concluding Remark

Walk with me; I promise this will be fun and educative!


png_20220406_111102_0000.png

20220830_040951_0000.png


☆ TAGS = TOPICS


The first question we may ask is "WHAT ARE TAGS?"

In order not to spend much time with definition, let us understand tags as keywords or assigned phrases.

Tags ksaam.png

On Hive they are called either tags or topics; but they mean the same thing. For instance, while peakd.com frontend calls it topics, ecency.com frontend calls it tags.

Leofinance.io calls it both topics and tags.

Hive.blog / Hive.blog
, Splintertalk.io, 1up.zone and Liketu.com frontends also call it tags. So, where ever you are blogging from on Hive, don’t be confused when you see tags or topics.

20220830_023827_0000.png

So, now we have established the fact that topics and tags mean the same on Hive. If you still don’t know what we are talking about, let’s go ahead to list more than 30 tags that are being used on Hive.

png_20220406_111102_0000.png


☆ EXAMPLES OF TAGS ON HIVE


Some of the tags we use on Hive include:

#introduction #music #writing #hl-blog #leofinance #money #blockchain #hive #homestead #art #photo #homestead #lovinghive #nft #oneup #splinterland #spt #proofofbrain #pob #vyb #neoxian #openmic #photo #pimp #ctp #wavio #archon #ocd #gems #qinspired #pukumundo #afritunes #hl-exclusive #photography #blog #vlog #spanish #espavlog #espanol #indiaunited #india #threads #hivefest #oneup #beatzchain #jahm #Nigeria #scholarandscribe #ecency

Pheeeew!

I just mentioned 50 tags, and I am sure I did not scratch the surface.

I believe that you all fully understand what I am talking about, right?

That’s a yes.

(Permit me to take a bottle of water to clear my throat before I continue)

.

.

.

png_20220830_024816_0000.png

.

.

.

Alright, I am back.

So far, we have explained what tags and topics mean, and we have seen examples of these tags as used on Hive. Our next step is to attempt a classification or categorization of these tags.

png_20220406_111102_0000.png


☆ CATEGORIES OF TAGS ON HIVE


I will classify tags on Hive under 4 categories:

  1. Community Tags
  2. Tribe Tags
  3. Relevant Tags
  4. Popular/Trending Tags

1. COMMUNITY TAGS


This has three aspects which I will explain:

  • Using Community id
  • Using Community Specified tags
  • Using other Community tags/name in related posts

a) USING COMMUNITY ID

Some frontends like ecency.com require that you use the real name or tag of the community you intend to post the content to as the first tag.

This is why your first tag on ecency.com will always be something like hive-153850 (for Hive Learners), hive-167922 (for leofinance) or hive-199275 (for scholar and tribe), among others. This is the real name of the community and ecency.com, leofinance.io (and few other frontends) regards this as the first tag.

20220830_030203_0000.png

b) USING COMMUNITY SPECIFIED TAGS

Some communities also have special tags that are required to use while making a post. It is important to always include these tags if they are compulsory, however if they are optional you can be free to explore better alternatives.

For instance, Hive Learners Community tells you to use the tags of #hl-exclusive and #hl-w24e3 if you are participating in the weekly featured writing for week 24, edition 3. Hive Open Mic tells you to use the tag #openmic, Splinterlands tells you #Splinterlands and #spt and many others. So, watch out for what these communities want and use their specified tags.

c) USING OTHER COMMUNITY NAMES/TAGS IN RELATED POSTS

Using other community names as tags in your post is advisable only when it is "necessary" to do so.

It is not advisable if your post do not relate with the values of the community that you intend to use. For instance, if I write a financial post in Leofinance community and use the #ocd tag, it is unnecessary and would be frowned upon. So, I advise you to use this only when necessary, in order not to get downvoted or muted.


2. TRIBE TAGS


There are some tags that when you use them it opens the possibility for you to earn author reward with that token. When you use these tags in your post, you earn both Hive, HBD rewards and the token rewards. However, you need to ensure that you use the appropriate tags for each post, and do not misuse the tags for the sake of rewards.

a) EXAMPLES OF TRIBAL TAGS

Some of these tags include:

tagstokens
#aliveALIVE
#hive-engineBEE
#splinterlands / #sptSPT
#oneupONEUP
#leofinanceLEO
#neoxianNEOXAG
#pimpPIMP
#weedWEED
#cinetvCINE
#hivememeMEME
#palnetPAL
#ctpCTP
#vybVYB
#battleBATTLE
#pobPOB
#archonARCHON
#blogBLOG
#scholarandscribeSCHOLAR
#scholarandscribeSCRIBE
#weedWEED
#thgamingTHGAMING
#stemSTEM
#foodie or #foodFOODIE
#sportstalk or #sportsSPORTS
#photographyPHOTO

Using these tags will enable you earn the tokens associated with the tags. Thus, before you use them, it is important to know more about the tokens and where they can be used, to avoid abuse.

b) TAGS FOR GENERAL CONTENT

You can use the following tags for any content of good quality and plagiarism-free:

TagToken
#neoxianNEOXAG
#pobPOB
#vybVYB
#palnetPAL
#archonARCHON (but best in photo related contents)

c) TAGS FOR SPECIFIC CONTENTS

TagTokenContent Specification
#leofinanceLEOfinance and crypto related contents (posting through leofinance.io frontend is highly recommended)
#sportsSPORTSFor Sports related content
#stemSTEMFor Science, Technology, Engineering and Maths related contents
#cccCCCCreative Coin – For contents that have to do with creativity such as crafts, art or photography, among others.
#diyDIYDo It Yourself (DIY) – For contents that deal with creativity also
#splinterlands or #sptSPTFor Splinterlands related contents
#battleBATTLEFor blockchain games
#ctpCTPFor contents that deal with marketing, business and other financial contents
#food or #foodieFOODIEFor food related contents

3. RELEVANT TAGS


By relevant tags we refer to tags that are relevant to the content of the post. For instance, if you write a finance related content, using tags like “money” or “finance” seem appropriate as compared to tags like “music” or “foodie”.

However, it is important that you pay close attention to the details of your contents, as each post is unique in its own way.

For instance, I can write a post where I use musical words and thoughts to speak about food; and in discussing about food, I also discuss how inflation and devaluation of my country’s currency has affected the Market, which in turn affects the prices of food stuffs. This also affects the money I spend on food, and who knows, maybe it has affected my singing voice. (hahahaha)

So, in this post, I don’t think I will be penalized if I use tags like “leofinance” “music” “foodie” together. This is because, my content reflects all these tags. Hence, they are relevant to my discussion.


4. POPULAR TAGS


By popular tags, we refer to tags that are trending and that are used by many people. Using popular tags will make your post show up among the list of posts that made use of that tags. Using the web version of ecency.com will easily show you the popular or trending tags.

ecency topics.PNG

png_20220406_111102_0000.png


By way of summary, in this first part we explained what tags/topics are and we gave different samples as seen on Hive. We also gave the different Categories of Tags, and this includes: Community Tags, Tribal Tags, Relevant Tags and Popular/Trending Tags.

In the next part, we shall discuss how to arrange tags in Posts and we shall access various examples. We shall also discuss the use of tags and tag abuse.

Don't miss out!


For more information, you can read:


  • Screenshot of the different Hive frontends taken from my mobile phone and PC.
  • Designs created with Canva Mobile App
  • Links of some key terms from @leoglossary

Have you read these posts by me?

DIARY OF A CONTENT CREATOR ON HIVE

Did you know that there are more than 10 ways to Earn on Hive?

WHY I HATE HIVE

SAY THANK YOU TO YOUR MENTOR ON HIVE

Unravelling my Favourite Hive Author: The Story between the Storyline


png_20220406_111102_0000.png


I AM KSAM


I may not be your favourite author, but you can journey with me to help me develop my writing skills. I am always open to criticism, correction and learning 🥰.

ezgif.com-gif-maker (1).gif

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @ksam ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

 2 years ago  

It helped like you said it would.
Thank you❤️

 2 years ago  

Chai
I'm glad it did ooo 😁

You're welcome
The part b will be more practical and enjoyable as well 🥰

 2 years ago  

Chai
I'm glad it did ooo 😁

😂 me too

I patiently await part b...

 2 years ago  

Yipppy
Mama I have made it 🤸‍♂️

😭 @kamarah is waiting for my post like this ooo

 2 years ago  

😂😂 Calm down abeg.
Me wey dey learn work from you like this. You dey try jare👍😁

 2 years ago  

Hehehe
Thank you 🥰

 2 years ago  

🤗😊

!PGM Reblogged

 2 years ago  

Thank you

Congratulations @ksam! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 250 posts.
Your next target is to reach 300 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2022
 2 years ago  

Thank you so much @hivebuzz 🥰
I hope to reach the 300 posts in no distant time

You're welcome @ksam. Looking forward to you reaching your new target 🌹

I believe frontends should either provide guidelines for using tags or link to a guide published on this topic, from their part of the interface close to adding tags. Many people don't know how to use them correctly. Thanks for the mention!

 2 years ago  

Yes!
I feel the same also.
This will also reduce tag abuse.

Thank you so much for your comment

 2 years ago  

Professor @ksam, I don commot cap for you sir.
This is fire and I'm a beneficiary of this class.

I must say, you are a rare gem of knowledge that cares about the growth of his brethren.
This is a nice and great post pal, well-done!

 2 years ago  

Baba, be calming down ooo
Lol

I'm glad it was/is helpful
We need each other to grow on Hive 👌

 2 years ago  

I no get pills wey go caln me down chief....

Yeah, you are right that we need each other to grow.

Thank you so much boss! That was really educational.

 2 years ago  

Thanks baba

Welcome bro

Great article as always man. I didn’t know I needed this info until I read this.

 2 years ago  

I'm glad this info is helpful, watch out for the remaining part 🥰

Sure thing man.

very well written, and thank you for the tips and the explanation.
!hiqvote

 2 years ago  

I'm glad this was helpful
Thanks for the tip also 🥰

Loading...

Wow, this is educative, and you know what? I had fun reading hehe... Thanks for the valuables...

Waltzed in through dreemport.

 2 years ago  

I'm glad you had fun while reading it... that was part of the aim of this piece, alongside the educative aspect 🥰

You are highly welcome

Yes sur😍

Great post! Very handy info in one place 🖖🏼😎🤙🏼

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

 2 years ago  

Thank you so much
Im glad you liked it 🥰

 2 years ago  

So stem was an actual tag. I've just been using tags at random but this was a really helpful guide, thanks!

 2 years ago  

Hahaha
Yes, it is a tag
And not just any tag, it is a TRIBAL TAG which means you earn STEM coins when you post in the community or when you get upvoted by someone who has a staked STEM coins.

I'm glad this was helpful

 2 years ago  

What's the case use for stem coins though and where do I see that?

 2 years ago  

For the Case Use, I really don't know much about it. But the little I know is that it is a reward token for the Science, Technology and Mathematics community on Hive.

You can earn it by posting those related contents in their community and using the tag when posting related contents. You can also earn by staking it to earn curation reward.

As for the Location.

It is located alongside other second layer tokens in your Hive Engine.

Go to your Hive Wallet... click that arrow in that red area, and it will give you those options. Then click on Hive Engine there.

You can scroll down, you'll get to see the later tokens that you have... and their worth..

I don't post much of that kind of contents that's why I have only few STEM tokens

 2 years ago  

Whoah- I need to check how many I have OnO maybe I can use it for staking or maybe it's a transaction type token.... I'll try asking around OnO
You gave me a new mission with this 🤣 thank you so muchhhh!!!

 2 years ago  

Hahahaha
You're welcome
Hive is just vast and many people don't really know that these other layers are important as well.

What do you mean by transaction type token?

hi @ksam , man this is just come in handy for sure. help me a lot to understand .
come from dreemport

 2 years ago  

I'm glad you gained from this piece
You are highly welcome

And don't forget to watch out for the second part of the piece, it'll be published tomorrow or Friday.

 2 years ago  

This post is so informative. As a newbie, I don't really know anything about tags but with this post, I now know about some tags and how to use them. Using the right tags help our post visibility, thank you for this @ksam

 2 years ago  

It will set your foot on the right direction so that you become more conscious of your use of tags...

I'm glad this piece was helpful

 2 years ago  

This is an amazing post ksam...you are doing excellent job here....May I ask how you created that your personal line divider...I don't mind learning that asap...and also the combination of all front-ends icon with a welcome to my blog writeup. As for that list...you did use coding to do it right...??... @ksam

Tags are very relevant in making post and they help gain extra visibility to so many readers in the hive blockchain. I have learnt about this tags and their a busy and I must say I had an insight too when I read this article.

Quite interesting!

Loading...

Tags are great and people do need to make the appropriate use of them.
I do notice some people abusing country tags, so people need to be aware that their tags are 100% relevant to their post.
Great article and popped in from dreemport today.

solid content good wrk!

 2 years ago  

Thank you so much

I wish you'd add something like Buy Me Some Berries to this post because I just discovered it and the rewards period has passed. This was incredibly helpful to me. Thank you!

 2 years ago (edited) 

Awwwwn
Thanks for having this in mind. There's a gift option to gift HIVE or HBD incase you change your mind 😅😅

I'm glad it was helpful
Have you read the part 2?

I also wrote about how to sell Hive Engine coins (LEO, POB, VYB, LOH, CINE, DREEMTOKENS) to Hive, and vice versa. You can also check them out I believe

I did check out the 2nd part and will check out your post on Hive coins.

 2 years ago  

That's great
I'm always here if you wanna ask any question

I also "boosted" and gifted so hopefully all of that gets to you.

 2 years ago  

Wow
Thank you so much
I'm truly grateful 🙏
And I'm glad you benefitted from this piece
I'm grateful for your gifts 🥰