My usual Christmas tradition

in Hive Learnerslast year

Christmas is right around the corner and counting from now, I will say we have less than 4 days to Christmas and I have to keep reminding myself of that information every second because I'm currently at the university and I have exams on the 23rd but fortunately for me, my family's house is not far from the university and I can go back home on the 24th.

Aside from that, I also have an oral exam on the 28th of this month, which means I will still have to come back to the university a few days after Christmas. Unfortunately for some of my classmates who stay far away, they won't be able to go home for the Christmas celebration. So, this is what I meant earlier when I said I have to keep reminding myself that Christmas is around the corner coz I'm not even thinking about that right now because of my exams.

I don't really like doing much on Christmas day because a lot of people also have a lot of activities planned for that day and one thing I have noticed with going out on Christmas day is that a lot of the good places to visit (restaurants, parks or clubs) are usually very crowded and if there's one thing I hate, it's crowded places. So, because of that, I usually avoid going out on Christmas day.


Image by rawpixel.com on Freepik

It's because of this that I now do my celebration on Christmas Eve. So, my Christmas celebration for this year will start on the 24th which is also the day I'm returning from the university. In the evening, I will go to vigil mass with my family (we are Catholics). After the mass, I and my sisters usually go out and patronize various restaurants and street food joints.

We buy suya (barbecued meat), bread and egg, stir-fried noodles, chicken, and drinks. We take them back home and start eating at about 1 am as we play music and just have a good time. This is what I also plan to do this year and after that has been taken care off, I don't plan on going out later in the day (it's technically Christmas day).

On Christmas day, the major thing I look forward to is the food which my mom doesn't joke with. Christmas day is usually one of the days she goes all out and cooks a lot of delicacies. I'm just going to stay in bed all through that day as I eat, drink and browse social media. That will continue till the next day and I repeat the same thing; eating, drinking, and chilling in my room. Pretty boring, right?

I think that's mostly the reason why I no longer find Christmas fun; I have been doing the same thing for so many years. While doing my usual tradition last year, I actually thought about going to an amusement park this year's Christmas with my siblings and also just touring around my city which I will say is better than visiting restaurants and clubs (due to the crowd).

This plan involves a lot of money but I didn't mind as of when I planned it but right now, that plan has been put on hold because of what's currently happening in the cryptoverse. A lot of coins (at least all the ones I have) are very low in price as of now and I don't want to even think about selling them. So, I guess this year's Christmas will basically be like every other; eating, drinking, and browsing the internet.

Thanks for reading

Connect with me on:
Twitter: @kushyzeena
Readcash: @kushyzee

Lead image: Image by freepic.diller on Freepik
Edited with Canva

Sort:  

This plan involves a lot of money but I didn't mind as of when I planned it but right now, that plan has been put on hold because of what's currently happening in the cryptoverse

NVM bro we gonna get that money when we use "hive as our shield" according to @theycallmedan

Wish you all the best

 last year  

Wish you all the best too bro. Thanks for stopping by

 last year  

Weldone @kushyzee

You're low-key man. 😎

 last year  

Thanks 😊

 last year  

You're welcome

 last year  

I believe in miracles, anything can happen and your wishes would come through. I wish you a merry Christmas

 last year  

That's what I'm praying for; a miracle. I wish you a merry Christmas as well

 last year  

You are quite right. I guess people have gotten tired of doing the same thing every year and the fun has worn out. Maybe we'll have to figure out something else that will work for us.

Thank you for sharing this with us.

 last year  

Exactly, things will definitely get boring after a while and that's why I planned on doing something different but I guess I will have to do that next year, by God's grace