MY FAVORITE GAME - AYO

in Hive Learners2 years ago (edited)

images (33).jpeg

Imageref

My favourite game is a local Yoruba game called AYO OLOPON - which means "seeds in he Holder".. All though i am an Akwa-Ibomite, i love this game so much and could spend several hours on it.

AYO game is a traditional board game which is well known as the game for intellectual Which requires so much of mathematical prowess to scale through.

In ancient times, the Ayo game was believed to be more than just a game, it was often thought of as a spiritual game that is played to amuse the spirit of the death, before a person is buried but in recent times, more than 60% of Nigerian homes, have and play the Ayo game.

images (34).jpeg

Imageref

Although at first, I kept loosing to my opponent but consistent playing helped me yo know the ropes around the game. I can recall how I loosed to a little kid of 6 years old and it happened repeatedly 🙈🙈🙈..Huh!! this kid laughed me to scorn..🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I had to do my homework and one day I won him too and everyone was so surprised and kept asking "how"

HOW IT IS PLAYED
The game is usually played between two people sitting in front of a wooden box and the first person begins by picking up all the seeds in the first hole on his/her axis and then passes it through the holes moving in a clockwise direction. During the process, if the last seed drops in a hole with four seeds on the opponents axis, then that particular hole is "captured" by the person playing. Now if the person jeeps capturing your holes and the seeds, then at the end at the game, he/she has the greater number of seeds, then you've loosed to the person.

images (35).jpeg

Imageref

WHY I LOVE THE GAME
I love the AYO game because it boost and improve my calculative skills because usually a high skill of mathematical calculation to win against your opponent.

Again, I love this game because its simple and easy to come buy, you don't need a crowd or a huge organization coming together to plan for an even before the game happens..

I just have so mich joy playing the game maybe because the name AYO is feminine and it means great joy...

If you've gotten to this point, then all I can say is "THANKS" for reading through....

@ladivee

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

The way I get beaten when I play this game eh
All my houses are gone instantly
Very annoying to see

 2 years ago  

Hahahahahahaha
Yeah I passed through that too but it made me want to learn more..

Thanks for reading through.

 2 years ago  

I am always careful in reading, I will check every letter of the posts in all of my friends' posts, I admit your writing is good, but it is a pity that what you write will not be seen by the contest organizers if you are not careful in using it (TAG), hopefully it's useful and you can edit it right now, STAY CAREFUL MY FRIEND. 😊👌

 2 years ago  

Thanks a million..
Please which tag I'm I missing or mis-spelling??

 2 years ago (edited) 

One more, hl-w3e1
besides that the title of the topic you are writing at this time is also not right, you should write about "FAVORITE SPORT" for this Week 03 Edition 01.
that's it, hopefully in the future you will be more careful, make posts according to the predetermined topic and also pay attention to the predetermined date limit, hopefully you already know about the topic for week 03 edition 02 tomorrow.

 2 years ago  

Thanks

 2 years ago  

See sweet memories. We call it chirikotor... Chai I played this game when I was younger. We would make holes on the ground and play it..thank you for bringing back sweet memories

 2 years ago  

Feels so good to know that you came in contact with this game.

 2 years ago  

OMG e don tay wey I see this kin game, though I don't know how to play it but I like watching them play

 2 years ago  

It's even sold in some book stores in my area ooo
It's now the game for ajebota ooo🤣

Ayo is a really fun game indeed, I used to play it a lot as a kid. But I doubt it is a sport.
I wonder if it is played on an international level... it would be interesting indeed.
Thank you for sharing this with us.

 2 years ago  

I heard it has been inculcated into the extra-curricular activities for schools. Most school come together to compete but not at the international level.
Thanks for visiting my blog.