Finding Balance: My Weight Loss Journey and Lessons Learned

in Hive Learners11 months ago (edited)

I have an issue which is losing weight. The concept of losing weight is simple and straightforward, as all you need to do is eat less and move more. This way, your body breaks more fat. In practice, it is quite a very difficult task as it takes a lot of discipline to stop eating all that you love eating. People say dieting works best for them, but the truth remains that dieting is not sustainable, and at some points, we break down and resume old habits. People want to lose weight for various reasons best known to them, but it is advisable to do it for the right reason: living a healthy life and being fit. Other reasons may not allow you to achieve or maintain weight loss.

WhatsApp Image 2023-06-12 at 19.28.21.jpeg

I have much to say regarding the loss and adding weight issues; however, I will base my journey on the questions asked, so continue reading.

Have you ever had to lose or add weight?

Yes, I have had to lose weight. However, losing weight was not medically recommended; I just thought of it. Also, the need to add weight once came up when I was much younger as younger. I was so skinny due to an illness and had to bounce back.

What brought you to the decision?

My decision to add weight when I was younger was to become fit and also to ensure that my body functions properly as it is supposed to. I was sick when I was younger and lost a lot of body fluids and weight; the doctor advised me to add more by eating more and stressing myself less. I was so lean back then that I looked like a ghost of my former self, so I had to add more to at least become a resemblance of my old sef.

At the moment, though, I am working on losing some extra pounds and keeping a healthy lifestyle. So my major reason for wanting to lose weight was because I was adding much weight due to the fact that I work from home and hardly move around, resulting in me looking out of shape. My desire to look great and smart in my clothes and be comfortable in my skin drives me to lose weight. Having a big belly at an early age is a sign of a bad and unhealthy lifestyle, so I need a change.

WhatsApp Image 2023-06-12 at 19.28.23.jpeg

And how did you go about gaining/losing weight?

I will only speak about how I am going about losing weight at the moment. I have been doing lots of walking around. I once registered in a gym, but it was not sustainable, so I had to settle for home exercises and lots of walking around. I tend to take bikes to walkable distances and ensure that I walk for at least 30 minutes in the early hours of every day and night.

Some of the exercises I do at home are Jimping jacks, pushups, situps, and sometimes high jumps. I work out for 20 minutes at least to stress and burn body fats. There are days when I skip as I have a skipping road at home. I do this in my compound, though.

Lastly, I have been eating less. I tend to do more fasting, and when I eat, I eat smaller portions of meals than I used to eat at some points. The maximum allowable time for me to eat is 7 pm; after that, I do not eat anymore. I only drink water till bed calls. I am also trying to have a certain time for feeding as I want to organise and track my feeding habits. I am working hard on eating more protein, less carbohydrates, and fatty or processed foods.

WhatsApp Image 2023-06-12 at 19.20.46.jpeg

Did the process teach you anything?

From the journey, I have seen changes and learnt that with the right mindset, everything is achievable; you have to want it badly. Also, losing weight is more of what you eat than you do at the Gym. You could lose weight by eating fewer meals. The weight-loss journey could also be achieved faster when you have people around to support you.



ALL IMAGES BELONG TO ME AND SHOULD NOT BE USED WITHOUT PERMISSION