HOW TO BALANCE YOUR LIFESTYLE & YOUR DEVICES

in Hive Learners2 years ago

pexels-thiago-japyassu-1113804.jpg

Source

This might seem like a simple topic to discuss. But a quick glance at it still deserves a thorough review. We all have gadgets that we work from, especially our smartphones in particular. Even if you're someone who doesn't work online or with any form of device, we all have a smartphone that we operate on a daily basis. So whether or not you're someone who uses your device for work or not, this is an important thing that cannot be neglected.

It sounds funny to me how I'm not familiar with the adverse health effects that excess operation of phones or computers have got to do with man. All I know is that there are some health issues that are associated with this habit. I think inability to do proper research about that is why I'm not very familiar with the challenges this can cause.

But there is a common health challenge that is associated with all of them either you're operating on phone or on computer. And at that even as there may be a lot of health challenges to talk about, and you're not been told about any one of them, this particular one is logically reasonable. And it is only one among the others. Which is a disease affecting the sight.

At least we grow up to hear that watching too much TV is not good for sight. Over time you begin to have some eye defects. It could be short sighted or long sighted error.

But the problem is not watching TV. The real problem is seeing the screen for a long period of time. This is not different from a phone or a computer. Reason is because they all have a screen you stare at during operation and it is the light emission from the screen over a long period of time that causes these eye defects.


So What Do You Do When This Is Your Source Of Living?



I'm certainly sure that there is no one best approach to managing this. However, some little adjustment may just go a very long way in ensuring your safety from being a victim.

The very first method I employ is using the screen light dark mode at all times. I'm sure all devices should have this option. Otherwise, just dim the backlight of the device and you're cool with doing that. I use this for both my phone and my PC whenever I want to work. And this usually gives me an awesome working experience and helps to stress my eyes less no matter how many hours of work I do that day.

Another important thing to note is the posture you maintain while working. I feel this is actually the most important of all in terms of maintaining the stress involved in working for long hours on your device. It's a bad habit to lie down to work for long hours and maintain the position until you finish. Initially I do this.

But I've realized that I tend to work for a longer time and feel less stressed whenever I sit upright at work than when I am lying down. And since then, that is just what I do. Although your sitting position matters alot too. Just ensure that you're resting your back while sitting and you are just good to go.

In general, using your phone or computer is something you cannot do away with whether you like it or not. Especially in this present dispensation. You just have to be intentional about using them lest you're found wanting.

Sort:  

Congratulations @mayowaemmanuel! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 1250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and win your Halloween badge
Hive Power Up Day - November 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

It didn't take long for me to realize that lying down to work was a bad idea. Even working on a couch makes me get tired easily. If I want to be comfortable and able to work for a long time, I'll sit on a chair and also make use of a desk. It works best for me.

Thank you for sharing this with us.

Dear @mayowaemmanuel, sorry to jump in a bit off-topic.
May I ask you to review and support the new proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/240) so I can continue to improve and maintain this service?
You can support the new proposal (#240) on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!