I DISCOVERED THIS AT A TENDER AGE

in Hive Learners2 years ago

pexels-mart-production-8471958.jpg
Source

Oftentimes many things will happen to you and you hardly even know what it truly means. This is actually common among little ones especially while you're still growing up. And looking back now that I'm a grown up young adult, I could say that I was really talented as a kid and I was able to discover it on time.

I was 6 years of age when I started beating the drums in church. Even though I know nothing then, and often disturb other people after every church service in the name of I am playing the drums. Little did I know that it was a hidden part of me I'm trying to cheer out early enough in life. And the funny part was that I wasn't attending the same church as my parents. It was just my brother and I and whenever the adults got angry at my noise in the church, there was no mum or dad there to defend me.

I was ruthless about disturbing people, and I was also consistent at it. So almost everyone knows me to be a master in disturbing other people's peace after service in church. The surprising part of it is that I didn't exhibit these traits while I was younger than 6. I played with different toys but I did not have a drum toy either. So my love for music and playing the drums was a sudden discovery that nobody guided me to.

26uUsAjKTsXCDw7zixZR182JbFKvgzJ9YwsFpTVcRaGCmsqhA1unTgpqwtpNwDpGjEeTGazUPgVtYcoFGeTice28nrRRTwJZAwGC47HgcQ8LbnA895RwiAujDC6ASwwvnA2obo2jkxfpWMFTkfnwofeu9aEPfxwu1d4gn2.png

HOW IT STARTED

26uUsAjKTsXCDw7zixZR182JbFKvgzJ9YwsFpTVcRaGCmsqhA1unTgpqwtpNwDpGjEeTGazUPgVtYcoFGeTice28nrRRTwJZAwGC47HgcQ8LbnA895RwiAujDC6ASwwvnA2obo2jkxfpWMFTkfnwofeu9aEPfxwu1d4gn2.png
I was getting noticed with my everyday disturbing after service and the church head pastor got angry about it. That anger became a stepping stone for me and I could still recall the incident just like it was yesterday.

It was on a saturday when my pastor called upon the church main drummer that day and handed me to him to teach me how to play the drums properly. That way I could learn and receive a formal training on the drums and play alongside other musicians once I get better. My drum class started that same day and the excitement was just more than enough for me like a young boy who just won a free meal at Mr Biggs. My drum classes continued for about three weeks and then;


Something Happened...


But this part I can't recall the main incident that led to this. All I could remember was that my brother and I attended a function in church. Perhaps we didn't inform our parents or so. I just knew a misunderstanding came up and then my dad out of anger ordered us to stop attending our church and then change to our parent's church with immediate effect.

This was how my early journey of becoming a drummer was shattered. And there was nothing in my power I could do to it. I was still very young and could not have gone against my parents decision. Besides, I am not yet old enough to take vital decisions about my life and living. So it just had to happen like that.

So in my new church, I didn't have access to the drums the way I used to in my former church and having the opportunity to play the drums was drastically reduced. And even if I get a chance, there is nobody available to teach me. Therefore, I was practically on my own and this continued like that for about 5 years until I started using a mobile phone of my own and discovered YouTube videos along the way.

It was then that I got to know that I can learn alot of things on YouTube and learning how to play the drums was one of them. So I subscribe to a lot of YouTube channels that teach how to play the drums and I also watched a lot of drum lessons which I will save on my phone to watch and practice later.


Eventually...


I continued like that until I became very good at playing the drums and this became a major skill for me. Infact, I was able to monetize my drum skills and used it to finance about 80% of my expenses during my university days. Although I have left drumming for the past two years now to pursue my career in another industry. It still remains the talent I will forever be grateful I got to discover it on time.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

I could tell how annoying an upcoming drummer could be
But fortunately enough for you you didn't let the anger from your pastor kill your talent
I'm glad you found it as a stepping stone
And today look at it you doing perfect at what you know how to do best.

 2 years ago  

Honestly, it could be very frustrating at times when you're still in the learning phase when it comes to music.

But there is an adage in my language which says

The beginner is not the worker, except if he finishes to the end.

I was able to scale through to the point I can confidently play along with other instrumentalists. And this remains my talent I admire the most.

Congratulations @mayowaemmanuel! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 2750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - November 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I remember trying to learn how to drum one time. But the guy was not keen on teaching me, and I lost interest. I don't know how far I would have taken it if I didn't give up. You're doing well.

Thank you for sharing this with us.

 2 years ago  

Lol.. I think sometimes what makes one lose interest is not having any prior knowledge at all. In my own case, I've already started my classes and I think that was why I was able to pull through.

Thanks for your contribution. You're well appreciated. 🤗🤗

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment
 2 years ago  

Yeah.. YouTube is a university on its own with some raw information you can put into use. But only a few people utilize it well.

 2 years ago  

Exactly Mayowa, i did mpst of my fashion design personal learning on yourube too. It just about being disciplined and practicr what you watch so you get better with time.

 2 years ago  

You're right Glory. Oftentimes the challenge comes from having patience to practice what you learn.

I'm glad I found people like me here who learn from YouTube just as much as I do.

Thanks so much for your contribution.

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment
 2 years ago  

You're welcome