MY RICH FRIEND IS A ROLE MODEL

in Hive Learners2 years ago

pexels-ron-lach-10431315.jpg
Source

While I was growing up, I wasn't brought up in a way I was told that there are certain people you should look up to as possible role models. And so I know nothing about modeling someone or a thing. Let's just say I did not have the privilege of being trained in that manner. Now this should not be an excuse. There are certain things in life that even if you're not been taught, you should someway figure them out by yourself no matter what it takes. It just had to happen that way because it's almost a normal thing anybody will expect you to know. And a role model is one of such things.

As you might already know. Role model is someone who you look up to wishing to be like them some day either in attitude, character, knowledge, appearance, or any other thing you wish in them to also be in your possession. But most of the time, it just depends on who you are and who you want to be like.

But since the time I've always been conscious of having a role model in my life that I look up to, I don't have one or just a few. I always have more and more of people to add to my list almost every time (both celebrities and non celebrities). This is because to me, a role model is simply someone that is of a good example in life and also worthy of imitation. And there are alot of so many good people out there today that qualifies with this criteria. So I will just try to mention a few of them who are all my friends.

26uUsAjKTsXCDw7zixZR182JbFKvgzJ9YwsFpTVcRaGCmsqhA1unTgpqwtpNwDpGjEeTGazUPgVtYcoFGeTice28nrRRTwJZAwGC47HgcQ8LbnA895RwiAujDC6ASwwvnA2obo2jkxfpWMFTkfnwofeu9aEPfxwu1d4gn2.png

MY RICH FRIENDS (Sammy & Samuel)

26uUsAjKTsXCDw7zixZR182JbFKvgzJ9YwsFpTVcRaGCmsqhA1unTgpqwtpNwDpGjEeTGazUPgVtYcoFGeTice28nrRRTwJZAwGC47HgcQ8LbnA895RwiAujDC6ASwwvnA2obo2jkxfpWMFTkfnwofeu9aEPfxwu1d4gn2.png


My Rich Friend Sammy


I met Sammy during my undergraduate days in school and we were also course mates in the same level. And one thing that still sounds funny to me in our friendship is this; we have never met each other in school, not even for once until we got to year three (300 level) in school.

I could still remember what joined us together as friends back then shortly before the pandemic break. It was getting closer to exam period and as usual students had to start studying for exams. So there was this special room inside school we created for ourselves where some other few friends and I converge everyday to read in the night. Then once it's morning, we use the room's bathroom to freshen up and get set for the exam that morning.

So Sammy then was a friend's friend who later became my own friend. And one thing I like so much about him is that he gives everything he does the appropriate time and attention that is required. He is someone who doesn't allow wealth to distract his academics. Once it is time to focus on studies, practicals, or prepare for exams, he will set everything else that doesn't matter at least for that period aside and give all attention to studying to pass his exams.

Not that I did not meet other rich friends in school. But non of them is like Sammy. And none of them is as dedicated to studies as him. This is very worthy of imitation because it was difficult for me to find someone as such again while we were in school.


My Rich Friend Samuel


Samuel was a childhood friend we grew together while I was still in primary school. Although we met in church and we attended different schools. So in terms of academics, I don't think anything is really linking Samuel and I together. He was older than me and also a year ahead of me in school but we are always together at home after school hours to play, gist, and read together sometimes. Infact, our friendship also made our mothers friends. And he is one person that made childhood experiences very fun for me to remember.

Unfortunately, Sam's family had to relocate shortly after (JSS 3 exams) year three in secondary school and that was how we stopped seeing each other like we often do.

One thing I like about him till date which I also love to really imitate is how he manages to keep in touch despite all odds. After my friend relocated, I started seeing some acts I do not like. And the one that I dislike most is him changing contact numbers almost every single time I tried to reach him. So that turned me off and I stopped making attempts to either try to call or pay him a visit.

But despite all of this he still keeps that connection and he ensures to always call me every single time he changes to a new contact. And that appealed to me so much that he is really interested in the existence of our friendship so I succumbed and fully reconciled with him and since then I've been enjoying our friendship even till date.

The last time I checked, I had 9 different numbers saved in his name on my phone. But that now is immaterial. What really matters is we're still good friends from those childhood days. And he has also since then assisted me in so many ways I can't remember.