Water and Its Inhabitants

in Hive Learnerslast month

I was in Junior Secondary School 2 when I first had a serious water related issue. Then, the housemaster of our hostel dug some ponds with the help of students. He was going to raise fishes in the ponds but he didn't stock the pond for a while. As a belligerent child belonging to a caucus of obstinate children, we decided to give those ponds that had been filled with rain water a lovely visit.

On a hot Saturday afternoon, we got the motivation to go bath in the ponds. It was a very enjoyable afternoon for us as we laughed, danced and played in the pond. But it all turned sour when the housemaster got wind of what was happening. We escaped before he made it to the ponds but he caught a glimpse of the slowest moving member of our gang.

Well, after some severe beat down the silly boy ratted us out. That day was one hell of a day I'll never forget. However, the punishment meted on me by the housemaster was nothing close to the one that waited for me in the nearest future. About some weeks or so later, I noticed my urine was dark red. I was scared. And after diagnosis, it was confirmed that I had hepatitis.

Well, I was too young to understand what that meant until some questions were asked. That was when I realized I had contracted the illness during my day out in the pond. Obviously, one of the molluscs in the stagnant pond water was a carrier of the hepatitis parasite. I'm probably susceptible to it. That was why I was the only one who fell ill of about 12 of us that visited the pond. That was the first time I really got scared of water and its inhabitants. In fact, dirty water can kill as fast as anything out there.

As for how clean the water I consume is, well, sachet water is the most affordable thing to clean water that we have here. Despite its availability, I've tried my hands on other affordable methods of getting clean drinking water.

The one that easily jumps to mind is boiling water, allowing it to cool and then sieve before drinking. Though this method is touted to be effective against germs, for the few times that I've drank boiled water it felt like I was drinking "dead" water. It didn't taste soothing and refreshing like a good water should. Or, maybe I didn't do it right.

Asides boiling water before drinking, I've read that activated charcoal is also used to purify water. It kills germs and makes water safe for drinking. Also, when I worked at a water factory a UV water sterilizer was part of the setup to purify water before it gets bagged. The idea is that the UV sterilizer damages the DNA of microorganisms resident in the water.

To get clean water, I guess using a combination of activated charcoal and a UV water sterilizer should get one a clean drinking water. Its affordability is a topic for another day, though

Source.

Sort:  

MMS does a very good job too, not only for water, but also to reverse most diseases in humans. And it costs very little. So "they" don't allow the population to get to know about it, 'cos their business is #depopulation and wealth transfer.

 26 days ago  

MMS as in Miracle Mineral Supplement?

Yes, that's what MMS originally meant. But not allowed to say taht, so now it Master Mineral Solution.

Ie. Sodium Chlorite solution activated with a food grade acid to produce chlorine dioxide, commonly known as MMS or CD

Hmm. This is serious..

When people consume bad water, it has a lot of terrible effect in the body.

Came in from dreemport.

Hmm. This is scary. I hope the hepatitis was treated, I learned it has no cure.

Clean water should never be underrated..

#dreemerforlife

There is a cure for every-thing, but "they" don't want you to know.
https://ecency.com/hive-153850/@mckane/water-and-its-inhabitants#@atma.love/re-mckane-202455t15229161z

 28 days ago  

There are different types of hepatitis. The one I contracted was the mild one. It was treated within two weeks. I've never had such case ever since.

Oh. Thank God..

 last month (edited) 

Wow. So sorry about that disease you contracted. Bad water can be so dangerous to bring all kinds of illnesses to one. We just need to be careful with the kind of water we drink.
#dreemerforlife

And if we don't have access to clean water, then we can use MMS to clean it:
https://ecency.com/hive-153850/@mckane/water-and-its-inhabitants#@atma.love/re-mckane-202455t15229161z

 28 days ago  

We just need to be careful with the kind of water we drink.

I was just playing in this one o and the water nearly killed me. Bad water is dangerous in all ramifications.

 last month  

I feel sad hearing how U contacted hepatitis. It highlights the importance of clean and safe water even if not for drinking because same could be seen in a swimming pool that is not properly maintained.

 last month  

Actually we can see how dangerous it xan be to consume or even go close to dirty water. Everyone needs to learn the lessons of water purification

 last month  

Hello my friend. It's amazing how bad water can cause damage or disease.

You are right in what you comment, boiled water sometimes has a characteristic taste that makes it not so refreshing and leaves an unpleasant sensation.

That method you mention to purify is very good, in my country there are several methods, that is one of the ones that are applied. Greetings.

I drink boiled water and has never experienced it being dead like you said. It's safer for me that way as I stopped drinking sachet water for years now. Alternatively I take bottled water

#dreemerforlife