MY FAVOURITE TECHNOLOGICAL ADVANCEMENT

in Hive Learners2 years ago (edited)

kitchen-2165756_1280.jpg

Source

To be totally honest, I was a little bit confused on what to write regarding this topic. I had so many ideas, yet I couldn't pick one.

I'm writing about kitchen gadgets. They ought to be my favorite technological advancement considering these gadgets make cooking and kitchen work a whole lot easier. One could easily get freshly made food because of the help of these advanced kitchen technologies.

Back in the days, we had to spend hours in the kitchen just to prepare food, one could even lose appetite in the process because of the stress. Now, these advancements have a bigger advantage over the previous methods.

I'm going to be comparing what was used then and its replacement so we could see the difference and bigger picture.

Grinding stone vs Blender

Growing up, my mum had a grinding stone that was used to blend pepper and tomatoes which we use to cook. The procedures were really rigid. It had a smaller stone for the hand and a bigger stone which was used for the grinding. We use the hand stone to grind the pepper and tomatoes until they are smoothened enough to make either stew or soup.

stone-751890_1280.jpg

Source

Now, the blender has taken over. To smoothen the pepper and tomatoes is not as tedious as before. We have the electric blender where you have to just pour the washed tomatoes and pepper in the bowl and use the adjustable engine to smoothen the pepper, this is totally dependent on whatever you want to make.
There's even the manual blender. This doesn't need electricity. There's a manual rotator that is easily controlled by the hand. This also makes blending of pepper easier.

blender-10933_1280.jpg

Source

One major advantage now is that unlike the grinding stone that was limited to softer particles, the blender smoothens almost anything. You can use the electric blender to smooth the yam to make pounded yam, for mashed potatoes, for bean cake and so much more. The blender makes me smile because it has saved my time, energy and gives me higher satisfaction.

Firewood and Stove vs Gas cooker and Electric cooker

Times indeed have changed for the better. I remember the first time I used the gas cooker, I was so scared I'd burn the house. I definitely was not sure about that advancement. It felt more comfortable to use the stove or watch my mum set the firewood.

campfires-31926_1280.png

Source

But ever since I knew how to use both cookers, I prefer it anytime to either the firewood method or the stove.
With the firewood, you had to have moderately dried woods because wet wood won't burn well and extremely dried woods would burn out so fast. Then the stove, which could be a coal stove or kerosene stove.

kettles-2178442_1280.webp

Source

These methods of cooking were really slow. They also deeply stain the pots and kettles and leave black stains all over the kitchen which usually requires vigorous cleaning after usage. Compared to the gas and electric cooker which is easier to operate, saves more time, makes cooking neater and saves energy. Most importantly, it is cleaner to use than the previous methods.

cooker-295136_1280.png

Source
I'm always grateful for the advancement because it's really been helpful and neater to use.

**Ice house vs Refrigerator
**

Imagine going to an ice place built from lakes, snows or simply placing the food in a jar out overnight just to keep it cool and durable. I remember one time I went to the village, my granny craved cold water and had to send my uncle to the stream to fetch water for her. The stream water was the coldest then and considerably fair enough.

igloo-1114042_1280.jpg

Source

Now, the refrigerator has taken over. The refrigerator is one major advancement compulsory in a kitchen for storage and preservation, and also to keep things chilled. They come in different sizes to suit the home. It is indeed a better replacement for the ice house. It guarantees good hygiene, better preservation and a decent method of cooling.

refrigerator-1889067_1280.jpg

Source

Other kitchen advancements include different kinds of knives, the boiling ring or electric kettle, the microwave, the oven, etc. They make cooking easier and faster.
With all these available, I'd rather have my home made food and preserved always. Indeed, technology has made a whole lot easier.
What's your take on this?

Thanks for reading 😚

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Your approach using comparison clearly shows us how helpful technology has been.

 2 years ago  

Thank you very much, and thanks for reading

 2 years ago  

You have said my mind already, let me go and submit my own post, 😉. Really technology has helped us greatly in the kitchen area

 2 years ago  

Indeed it has. Lemme go and read yours...

 2 years ago  

You can now, just uploaded it

 2 years ago (edited) 

@megpeters You're always on track with exceptional content. May I add the pressure cooker is another advancement that cooks food under high pressure and considerably faster than a gas cooker (esp for beans lovers like myself 🙃 whowpuld want to get their beans cooked in minutes lol).

 2 years ago  

Thank you very much. Yes, there's the pressure cooker too. It does wonders I tell you... thanks for reading

 2 years ago  

You're welcome dear.

 2 years ago  

Lol, the movement of grinding stone to the blender is awesome but somehow I prefer grinding stone, it is stressful but the stew is sweeter jare.

 2 years ago  

My dear, i prefer blender o. You can get the texture of the grinding stone own with the adjustable blender. Imagine cooking for a whole family and using stone...not me.

Congratulations @megpeters! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 3500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Wow... this your post got me feeling a sense of nostalgia. Those days, although we didn't use the grinding stone, we had mortar and pestle. You would pound till all your muscles wept. Then stove... let us just be thanking God for gas.
Cooking has been made a whole lot easier and cleaner now, thanks to technology. I look forward to more inventions.
Thank you for sharing this with us.

P.S: We are no longer accepting photos that may be subject to copyright, you can take images from free sites like Pixabay, Unsplash, etc. And we are now taking strong actions against such acts.
You can learn all about it in the post below:
https://peakd.com/hive-153850/@prayzz/newbies-tutorial--the-dos-and-dont-of-hive
We suggest you get to it as soon as possible so that your post or your post will be muted.

 2 years ago (edited) 

Thank you very much. I'm glad you got to get the old feelings back.

These pictures were all from pixabay.com.
If you could go through them, you'll see I got them from pixabay.com as the rule of hive said.

Actually, the picture of the blender is not from Pixabay. As you can see, it has Istock written all over it. That means it's not a free image because Istock is not a free site.
You have to change it.

 2 years ago  

Thanks for the correction. I didn't notice the blender. I've changed it. It won't repeat itself.