Can Our Personal Data Online Be Privatized?

in Hive Learners14 days ago

I know this might sound off or weird or shocking but I'm just learning that a lot of our data online are not as private as I've been thinking they were, the Government have access to them! It was shocking to me that I had to ask a neighbour sitting close about his thought on it.

Do you think there's a way to find out our conversations on calls and chats too? I asked out of curiosity and the reply was, no, it isn't possible except we give the access.

20240422_204206_0000.jpg
Image designed with Canva

The thing is, the fact that our data isn't private as we want it to be is something to be bothered about. If there is no privacy to such about us, I wonder what else is private with the human right we claim we have (right to privacy).

I've read some entries and I couldn't agree more with their point in regards to having our data accessible to people we may never know. For the Government, it makes sense that they do have access to every citizen data but it also doesn't make sense with our human rights in view.

I mean, there are instances I've witnessed or heard about that I am actually grateful that our data are accessible by the government and that's in the case of being scammed or stolen from. Like a friend once had all his money in his bank account stolen by an unknown individual. It took a long time but he was able to recover most of his loss when the culprit was caught through the data he had stored before.

With the increasing cases of fraud and evolving technology most especially the introduction of robots and AI, one is made to wonder if our data being online and accessible by some people would be a worse risk. There are lots of advantages to these things but where is the good, there's also the bad and that's what we should be more concerned about.

Honestly, I can't think of or know a way that our data can be privatized but if there is the option to keep my data private, I would choose that option. There may be the disadvantage of me not getting to catch culprits through their data if data are privatized but there is also the high safety that comes with keeping my data to myself.

Sadly or maybe not so sad, there's no way we can not have our data kept to ourselves anymore. Although keeping our data on Web3 platforms seem to be safer but not without the keys being kept safe by the owner, there is almost no site we would get access to without sharing a bit or more about our personal data.

To not worry much about my data being made public, I try to look at it from the positive side and hope that my data won't be fall prey for fraudsters. It's the major thing we fear but less ways to avoid it aside being vigilant to know when it's about your turn to escape their grip.

So we're back to the question I asked, Can Our Personal Data Online Be Privatized? I would love to know what you think about this.

20240101_094050_0000.jpg

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 14 days ago  

Privacy is one thing that can just get us confused, yes we think we love our privacy but I don't think it's something that can be fully attained but then as I always say, nothing is impossible. I just hope that we don't start crying that we would have preferred a non private life 😂.

As you rightly said, everything that has an advantage has it's disadvantages so there we have it, hehe.

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below

 14 days ago  

Haha I thought of that too, what if it's better this way?! 😅

 14 days ago  

I know right? But we can never know until it happens, hehe

 14 days ago  

The Sad answer is No, it's even bigger than you imagined, Data from the internet Big fish (Social Medias, Search Engines and Data Miners) , Telecom industry, Local Database too like your BVN, NIN, Passport are data readily available for our Government use.

 14 days ago  

Really sad, we hope not to fall victim of any bad intentions towards our data.

 13 days ago  

Making a choice is dicy.
Do we go with the advantages and manage the disadvantages or do we forego the advantages because of the disadvantages. It's not easy to choose and I don't think it's in our place to choose. The game is on already and we can only try to minimise the quantity of data we put out there.

 13 days ago  

That's right! We just have to minimize it.

 13 days ago  

Looking at things from the bright side, I think data can be privatize if only the government takes it more serious and before going through a person's data it should be for a reasonable course and under close watch making sure there is no way it can be leaked to the general public.

 13 days ago  

That's a way but would they do that? It's a wonder!

I think in the future of Web3 we will probably own our data, but we will sell it. big market of little secrets. I think real privacy is out of reach because we live in a very connected world and leave a lot of traces. We need to fly to Mars)

 13 days ago  

Lol I know right! We've gone so far from privacy, everything is out there now.

 14 days ago  

Everything that has a good side also has the bad side. It's not not safe to have your data out there, no one is to be trusted nowadays, even those in the government can use it to harm you.

 14 days ago  

That's just it, we can only hope we don't fall prey

https://inleo.io/threads/merit.ahama/re-merit-ahama-2dqbmytup
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( merit.ahama ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Congratulations @merit.ahama! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 270000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 280000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP