Nigerian Jollof || My Favourite Food

in Hive Learners2 years ago

IMG_20210926_174944_6.jpg

Which Nigerian don't know about our popular Jollof rice? I doubt if there is any even though some don't like it but there are way more people who enjoy this meal in my country Nigeria and I am on of them.

Eating rice has it's own benefits and eating it in the Jollof style is even more beneficial to one. I read somewhere that one of Jollof rice benefits is that it strengthens national bonds 😂 I guess that is relating to the fact that "There is almost no party you'll go to in Nigeria that you won't be served with this special meal".

Jollof rice is one of my favourites out of so many favourites because I'm a foodie and I love to explore different meals. Owing to the fact that I'm yet to taste a lot of different dishes, I would refuse to say I really have a favourite meal but for this purpose of this post... Jollof rice is my favourite.

So here is my own process of how I prepare my Jollof rice for a really delicious taste.

Ingredients Needed

IMG_20220302_134623.jpg

  • Rice
  • Fresh tomatoes
  • Fresh pepper
  • Meat (Chicken)
  • Vegetable oil
  • Crayfish
  • Garlic
  • Ginger
  • Thyme
  • Onions
  • Maggi
  • Salt
  • Jollof spices (Optional)

IMG_20220302_140537.jpg

Firstly, I blend my fresh tomatoes, fresh pepper and onions with an electric blender or manual blender...

IMG_20220302_134219.jpg

While doing that, I wash and stem my meat (I used chicken) with spices like ginger, garlic, onions, small fresh pepper, salt and Maggi.

IMG_20220302_151204.jpg

Then I parboil the rice to half cooked then go ahead to prepare the Jollof sauce for the half cooked rice.

Preparing the Jollof sauce is the most fun part and the part where you decide how delicious the food would taste.

Firstly, I heated the amount of vegetable oil I wanted then poured my blended fresh tomatoes and pepper...

I fried it to an extent of about 15mins then added my grinded crayfish, salt, Maggi, garlic, ginger and thyme to taste.

IMG_20220302_161236.jpg

After that, I poured the already parboiled rice and stirred for some minutes so the ingredients could go round and I poured the chicken steamed water then allow to boil.

IMG_20220302_141417.jpg

My Jollof is ready and I fried my already steamed chicken meat... I don't know gave this belief that Jollof rice go really well with fried chicken but I do enjoy it too.

IMG_20220302_151119.jpg

So this is the outcome of the fried chicken and everything was set for eating.

This is how I prepare my Nigerian Jollof rice, you can drop your own special recipe 😉 so I can try a new one though. By the way, mine is super delicious too.

Thanks for reading!!!

All images used are mine

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

O boi, this meat is making me salivate 🤤, do you know you can be prosecuted for displaying such meal with sharing some with your viewers 😒.

You've got a great choice by the way, jollof rice is always delicious 😋.

 2 years ago  

😂😂😂😂
Here he comes again! Well, at least I didn't show you when I was devouring the meal so you will agree I'm the good one here.

Thanks for stopping by, it's very much appreciated 😁

 2 years ago  

You of all people should know meat has a way of capturing one's attention that food and this one looks well fried🤤.

Anyways lemme leave you, before you start addressing me as a foodie.

 2 years ago  

😂😂😂😂
I've actually started tagging you as a foodie... What do we do now? 😁

Come back here o
Come and take one meat before you say I'm stingy 🙄

 2 years ago  

It's not like I'm a foodie 😔 O, but make e no be like say you no be person follow you chop, sha bring the meat😒.

 2 years ago  

😂😂😂😂
You're so funny
Foodie take the meat joor 🤣

 2 years ago  

😔🥺🚶‍♂️🚶‍♂️

 2 years ago  

Eiiii it the chicken for me..yummy and enticing.
This food is calling me..lol

 2 years ago  

😂 What is he doing awake looking for chicken? 🙄

I also love a good stew, any day and any time
This looks really delicious indeed and red.
Thank you for sharing it with us.

 2 years ago  

Yeah, thanks for reading 🙂

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment
 2 years ago  

Yeah, not everyone likes the meal even though its called Nigerian Jollof 😂