Experience Is The Best Teacher

in Hive Learnerslast year

We are always being taught things, often times we carry whatever we are being the taught with negligence and don't really put it into consideration for we sometimes believe they are just theories that were made to hold us down from exploring our potentials.

jo-szczepanska-5aiRb5f464A-unsplash.jpgPhoto by Joszczepanska on Unsplash

Along the line, we get to see that these are not just mere theories but the truth about life and before we get to realize this a lot damage might have been done, as we all know what has been done can't be undone.

Here's my own share of learning from experience the hard way, which I could have been spared if I had listened to my parents advice from the start.

The lectures for that day just ended but it looked like it was my life that was about to meet it's end, I was looking all weak, stressed and almost at the verge of loosing the grip my leg had as I walked. I was so tired that a wind could sweep me off my feet and I'd be broken to pieces by the time I hit the ground.

I got to my apartment that evening, I opened the door and slammed it right as I entered inside my room. I sluggishly dropped my bag on the floor, dragged myself to my bed and fell on it that very moment I got there.

Uncontrollable tears started dropping from eyes, it found its way down my cheek, I couldn't help but sob and cry in pains and I remembered how much of a careless person I've been in this school.

It's been week since I've been feeding on just garri, as funny as the story may be, it is really true every single thing you read here is true.

Garri had only been my means of survival in school then, day in day out I took garri. For breakfast garri, lunch garri and even dinner garri. There was a day when I ran out of sugar, and I had money money for sugar well if I had money I would not have been taking garri.

It got really hard for me that I turned to taking it with salt, something I have never done in my life but from the Nigerian proverb "na condition make cray fish bend", it was my condition that resulted me to taking of garri with salt.

I kept crying but this time with hatred for myself and the actions I carried out in my first week of resumption, and I wept with bitterness with no caution of anyone hearing my cries or anything for i really did regret all of my actions.

Few days before resumption, my parents called me to their room and asked me for the list of things I'd be needing for school, and I wrote the list of everything. After going through the list of everything, my mother told me that we'd go shopping for the items the next day, I then interrupted her saying she shouldn't worry about doing the shopping for me because I wanted doing it with my friends in school together I added saying all she should get me is garri and sugar.

Quite unusual for them to oblige at once with no questions, it got me worried for a moment but I overlooked it. I was then transfered the money for the shopping to my account, and additional thirty thousand naira for my pocket money, I was then warned by my father saying I shouldn't call to request for money till the end of the month, he said the only time I can call is when I want to greet them he further said if I call asking for money, I won't be given anything and I'm on my own till the end of the month.

In total I was given the sum of eighty thousand naira by my parents for shopping and my upkeep.

When I was travelling I was given half bag of garri and sugar that was to take me for a whole month I guess.

When I got to school, I didn't go shopping as I told them I would instead I was being reckless with my spending, taking the bills upon myself anytime we went to eat with my friends, I bought clothes so I'd drip to core.

I did all this without checking my balance, for my alert sim is always at home while I'm in school for safety reasons as my parents would say.

One-day after asking my friends to come meet me so we'd go eat, we did go there and ate to satisfaction and it was now time to pay for the bills which I'm to sponsor because I called them for the eating.

The bill was around seventeen thousand, I said it's fine and when I was put in my atm card pin to make payment, it showed insufficient balance. I was shocked and then I realized how big of a mess I'm in, to cut the story short I and my friends washed plates there in the restaurant and ever since that day the all left me and ended the ties I had with them.

They left me broke, with no money, no place and no one to run to.

I cleaned my eyes, I decided to make amends by never being reckless with my spendings anymore, I summoned courage to talk to my parents, they did listen to me, way billed me some food stuff, sent me fifteen thousand for the rest of the month.

I took garri again that night for dinner, slept and woke up, had garri for breakfast again before I got the money and food from my parents that afternoon, it was a horrific experience for me.

I did learn the hard way, experience taught me to save when I have plenty and invest, and it taught me to have friends that would stay with me in my good times, bad times and in times of crystals.

Sort:  
 last year  

Woah! Really? You guys did the dishes? I'd say you didn't have the greatest friends, to begin with. Yeah, you made a mistake, but they really shouldn't have left you just like that, when it wasn't money that tied you guys together in the first place.

I'm sorry you went through all that to learn the lesson. Trust me, I do know what it's like to live on garri for a long time.