My Favourite Cousin First Step

in Hive Learnerslast year

It was 3rd July 2011, a very bright sunny afternoon I came back home from school, the day was Monday, and we all can relate with the stress that comes to us on every Mondays of our lives.

childhood-3721318_1280.jpgPixabay

This one was not quite exceptional, the normal hectic routine for a very young me, from waking up to school after a very exciting short weekend that I wish it never ends, to going to school, attending assemblies, then my classes that would take forever before coming to an end.

Finally it came to an end, and I was at home but something wasn't right about being at home by this time of the day, there was no one else at home not even a single soul. You must be wondering how I got home, well the school bus dropped me right in front of my house just for the records.

I dished myself some kept food from the cooler that was kept as lunch or something I really can't remember though, I undressed myself and ate, after eating I started watching TV and was bored of it, because the house was all boring being all alone inside. On regular days, there was always someone waiting at home for me, but today I was all by myself.

It was almost 5:30 PM when I heard my father's car entering inside the compound, finally a soul to talk to and it made me a bit cheerful.

He entered the living room a little bit more excited than usual with a takeaway in his hand, I welcomed him and he gave me what was in his hand and said it was mine. I gladly collected what he gave me, I started digging into the food which now I can't remember but one thing I know is that is was delicious.

I got carried away with the food that I didn't notice that he was talking to me, he called out my name to call me back from zoning out, after calling my name and having my attention he told me that my aunt has given birth to a baby girl. I immediately lost interest in the food I was eating and was really eager to go see her and the baby, for it was not just any of my aunt but my favourite aunt.

He asked me to calm down and finish my food saying we'd go there later, because we'd take hot water and buy them food from a restaurant.

My mother and my aunt were who I refered to as them.

We got there and I was so excited to see my aunt and her baby, I don't know what came over me but I felt this bind and connection between me and my new baby cousin.

Few days later, my aunt got discharged from the hospital and she didn't got to her house but ours, her husband came along too but when it was night he left, it now became a routine for him to come visit and leave at night because my mother was taking care of my aunt and her baby.

Eight days after she put to bed, was the child naming ceremony, she was given many names but of them all Bukola was/is my favourite, I call her Bukky for short not just me though. The naming ceremony was glamorous, fun filled and all delicacies served that day were delicious.

A month later after Bukky's birth, her mother was now ready to move to their house and my parents asked me to go with her so I can assist her with some chores to relief her of some stress.

My bond with Bukky grew and waxed stronger daily, Bukky is really one of her kind.

It was barely five months of Bukky in the world, she already started saying few words and crawling. It was really fun being around her, she also reciprocated the love I have for her and she grew up to be fond of me as well.

One fateful Saturday I was left home alone with Bukky, her father went for some meeting I guess and her mother went for her month shopping in the market. I was sitting and playing with Bukky, she would crawl and hide behind the cushion and want me to look for her, we played like that for a while.

I thought she has a little know about hide and seek which is impressive for a five month old what if I tried getting her to walk, I got her close to me on the mat While I stood holding out my hand gesturing that she should reach them.

which she only could if she stood.

She attempted continuously which I found amusing and exciting. She could get herself up but standing and even taking steps was with assistance, my assistance mostly. This exercise went on and on as days went by.

Bukky played while I was cleaning the dinning table after dinner then I turned to her and gestured that she should come, she got up herself, with a smile on my face I cheered for her to continue she understood that too and for the sake of enthusiasm cause I cheered she took her very few steps towards me.

I was bewildered.

Sort:  
 last year  

Phew, bukky should be a big girl now and would have forgotten about how she struggled at some point to take her first steps.

The sweet part of caring for babies is when you see them struggle to do things we now see as common and that's what makes them so amazing and creates deep bonds.

I remember when my Neighbour's daughter took her first steps and how beautiful and happy she looked. I can't forget the smile and joy in her face and her mom too.

Sometimes, I just wish babies never grow old.

 last year (edited) 

Wow!
At that early age... interesting!!
That's nice.