Self Care Not Self Loathe

in Hive Learnerslast year

Self care, to me, is subjective.

To a person, self care can mean munching on a bucketful of KFC alongside their favourite red wine at their favorite spot

To another, self care can mean squeezing out time out of all the buzyness and boisterity of the day time to get that solid soul resetting moment to ourselves and ourselves alone.

It can also be booking for a weekend massage session to relieve the stress the week has had on us.

Whichever one it is, I can't remember when last I underwent a proper self care routine, and funnily, before having the reflection writing this article made me had, I used to think staying up past my bedtime to Netflix and chill was me self caring for me… well it is, but not entirely, because at the end of it, I always find myself attaching one work or the other in between.

The last time I decided to stay up late to nextflix and chill- that was yesterday pricisely- I couldn't help starting up on this article I was supposed to turn in the next day, and in between, I decided to fill in some spaces on my Google spreadsheet, check in on my Ui/UX online class assignment, and before I could realize myself, time was alrespent and it was deep into the night. Writing about it now, I see how ridiculous it all was..

For as long as I can remember, I've been postponing this Thai body massage/ spa session I've always fantasized about booking, but haven't because of financial constraints, but you won't believe that after cross checking my end of the year cash-in/cash-out expenditure for two weeks ( I do my run-through bi-weekly) I saw that I had spent more than twice the amount I budgeted for the massage session on junk food. Ordinary junk food.

Now, I have changed my mindset about what self care truly is.

While I bask in the euphoria of this new knowledge, this will be a subtle note to myself.

Praying remains in my self care routine. This might sound cliche, but prayer is very important. To have something to believe in, to have something to hold on to; something that works for you.

Simple living is everything. Makes life easier for me and other people around me. Don't think that appearing complex will make me sound smarter or more intelligent.

I'll stop beating myself up about things I should have done earlier when I didn't know how.

I'll keep in mind that I brim with value and potential. The world is waiting for me to show forth that goodness that lies within me.

I've been hearing of self care. I'll practice it earnestly this time. My soul, my mind, my skin, my hair, I won't let rubbish permeate through. I'll Listen to the radio more, take late night walks at mama's backyard garden more often. I'll buy myself hardcover books whenever small money enters my hand. I'll stop doing "PDFs are a lot better", I very well know hardcovers beats that. It's just a matter of the price.

I have a good saving habit already; I'll try spending more on good food and not just junkies.

I'll reach out to people I care about the most; 'cuz I'll miss them when they're gone.

I'll Invest in my interests.

I'd have loved to make this note longer, but let's make it easier to stick to.

Sort:  
 last year  

These are well-planned steps to caring for and loving yourself because, at the end of the day, we would be happy fulfilling those little things. Self-care is definitely important for us all.

 last year  

It is really nice to take some time to yourself…
You will realize how beneficial it is.

I understand the ups and downs… but lil by lil you will get used to it.

Thanks for sharing this

 last year  

I am glad you have decided to work on your me time, show yourself some love each time you get the opportunity.

 last year (edited) 

Hmm nice, your plans are well detailed, no one really knows you well than yourself, so you know the best thing that fits you.
Anyways, I want to start eating junks too maybe I'll be fresh like you.

Thanks for sharing this awesome write up.

Congratulations @mistural! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 31000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 32000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

They are all excellent resolutions, respect them and you will benefit from them.

Taking care of yourself is also very important because if we don't take care of ourselves, who should?