Childhood Lessons That Has Been Helping Me

in Hive Learners8 months ago

During childhood I know majority of us here from this part of the world (Africa) wouldn't like our parents because of the way they disciplined us. As you all have been reading from my previous posts here on Hive, I'm a Teacher's daughter so I believe you would have caught a glimpse of what I pass through as a child. I had my Primary school in a school where my Mom teaches so at every time I'm always serious with my books I dare not play around while others are reading unless it's break time.

Even during the break time, there are some kind of play I can't involve myself because at every corner of the school all you will be hearing is .....see the kind of rough play a teacher's daughter is doing, so I'm under strict watch in which I mustn't misbehave or else I'll face the consequences with different kinds of punishment, you can always trust African mothers.

premium_photo-1664047472802-b959712baa0f.jpeg
Source

Even though I grew up with disciplinarian Parents which I didn't appreciate while growing up but I now understand fully well as an adult and I cherish them more than anything in the world for instilling good morals in me.

One of the lessons I learnt during childhood and has been helping me as an adult is how to use "eye contacts and body language" for communications or reactions.

My Mom didn't have to open her mouth to instruct me on what to do before I understand her, I'm always at alert whenever I'm around her not to loose guard or else I'll receive the beating of my life for been carried away where I am.

So has an adult now, I use body language to read meanings to people's reactions to know if I'm welcome in a place or not. The way you react to me with your body language tells me whether to be free with you or hold back my friendship with you.

I also learnt the act of gratitude from my Parents, been appreciative and saying "thank you at all times" was a thing I learnt right from childhood. My Mom most especially is always appreciative when people help her do something or her children help her out.

Sometimes I do imagine why my Mom will be saying thank you continuously to me when I help her out, but I later came to realize that it was an habit she learnt from her Mother in which she also want to pass the habit to her children. I was trained to always appreciate people for their kind gestures towards me at all times.

I was taught that, I can't have everything I need, so whenever people render help unto me, I must always show genuine heart of appreciations which can prompt them to do more for me. Since then, saying "thank you" has become part of me, in any little thing people do for me, I appreciate them genuinely.

These particular habits and lesson has really helped me as an adult because it has become part and parcel of me which can't be stopped even when I want to....

Thanks for stopping by and have a nice weekend 😘

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 171 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
7

 8 months ago  

My mum also thought me to be Thank you anytime you are give something you must tell her thank you so she takes it from you.

 8 months ago  

That's good, it's a real attribute a child must learn from any of the parents

 8 months ago  

I guess you are from Yoruba tribe , because I also experienced this too while growing up , seriously I feel what you felt then , thanks for sharing

 8 months ago  

Yes ooo, I'm yoruba🤣🤣

 8 months ago  

Teachers daughter 😃😃 I can imagine the kind of strict watch you were under then. It's not easy lols. But then all those teachings paid off big time now.
And I'm sure you'll be forever grateful for the kind of parent you have now.

 8 months ago  

It is always nice to thankful. Your mom taught you well.

I can totally relate. Hehe. You must understand body language as a Nigeria because if not it is a pity.

 8 months ago  

You can say that again, I understands body language very well. Thanks for reading through