Future thoughts in the present

in Hive Learnerslast year (edited)

Time is a beautiful and mysterious thing – you cannot rewind or fast-forward it thus one must remain in the present. Even our dreams of the future are made in the present.
©MoMoGrOw


Clock tower - Lenno, Italy

If the past is any indicator of the future – then I know that my prediction radar might be working well and I hope it continues to do so. I realized that my future is totally dependent on what I set my mind to now. During my corporate career, I became accustomed to making career predictions annually and due to the fact that my career path was hierarchical it seemed predictable. The inevitable question during my annual evaluation was always,
“Where do you see yourself in 5 years?”
It seemed cliché and it was.
I recalled thinking sometimes,
“Out of here and in another job!”

Of course, I could not voice this thought. The only time I answered that question truthfully was the first time I was ever asked. I could make things up and if it sounded reasonable – my employers were happy. However, I also realized that my dreams, thoughts and words have a lot of power. I needed to be careful. I had experienced this in other aspects of my life.
For example – I used to dream of travelling the world as I was curious about different cultures. I wanted to see more exotic places and faraway lands - I manifested those dreams.

My life has seemingly taken many unexpected turns – good or bad - I realized that it was really up to me. Once, I changed career paths because I was curious and I did it for exactly 5 years. My aspiration to climb the corporate ladder was therefore not a straight path. The more I climbed the clearer it was to me that I could also fall, or other areas of my life could be compromised. Was it better to deliberately fall off the proverbial ladder? Yes - it was and for me that was fine. I envisaged a trampoline to break my fall. I could then spring back when I wanted to. Some “falling moments’ were supposedly when I quit past positions, taken leave without pay or when I had children and switched to part time employment. Sometimes it seemed like throwing caution to the wind, however one must follow one’s heart. I can still hear the echo of family and friends saying,
“You gave up a perfectly good job – you are crazy.”
However, we all have our paths to travel.

I feel as though it has been the story of my life. Those changes happened because of my own dreams - which I am happy about. I realize that it is my mindset that predicts my future – that uncertain time that is still to come. This is very interesting; I am now in the present -looking at my past whilst thinking of my future. Hmmm

What I am currently busy with could have an impact on my future but it will depend on what I really want – what I am presently focused on. My future does not necessarily have to include a change – it could also be a wish for more of what I currently have now. When I really want a change – I now know that I need to focus/meditate. What I truly want in my heart is what will ultimately happen. Change and future plans can be scary, but I learnt that it is better to dive in than to be scared of the unknown. I have gotten better at dreaming and figuring out the actions to take thereafter. Fingers crossed that it works continuously.

If you can think it or feel it – I believe it can also happen. If one does not have dreams for their future, it is like a feather being tossed about on a windy day without a destination. Dreams give one purpose but dreaming alone is wishful thinking though. Rightful actions are necessary to achieve them – whatever that dream requires. That could be a new study, skill, location, people in my life etc.

Sometimes we focus on things and do not realize it. What it is depends on our overall positive or negative countenance – we all have a proclivity to one or the other. We might manifest something and think it is coincidence, bad or good luck or say that it always happens.

I started the habit of writing down my wishes because I learnt that my busy mind has so many thoughts. How can I even know which one I truly would like to manifest, if I do not properly define it or clarify it for myself?

To make things a bit more concrete – I will provide an example. At a certain point, I was sure that I no longer wanted to be an employee. I quitted at the opportune time – in hindsight. It was just before the pandemic started. It might have seemed like bad timing, however for my family and myself it was the perfect time. Without stress I could assist my children with their schoolwork during the lockdowns - spending more time with my burgeoning teenagers while dreaming about what next. I am currently a sole proprietor. Therefore, my past dreams and efforts created my current reality.

My current main goal is to continue to create balance in my life socially, emotionally, financially, spiritually etc. I cannot be totally certain about how my future will be but I will continue to dream – knowing that it does not manifest due to merely luck alone but hard work as well.


This is my response to Hive Learners prompt about the Future and my first time participating!

The photo is my own

Sort:  
 last year  

If you can think it or feel it – I believe it can also happen. If one does not have dreams for their future, it is like a feather being tossed about on a windy day without a destination. Dreams give one purpose but dreaming alone is wishful thinking though. Rightful actions are necessary to achieve them – whatever that dream requires. That could be a new study, skill, location, people in my life etc.

Truely if you can you think or feel it it might happen, dreaming about the future is good and what makes it work is what you have just listed here rightful actions are necessary to achieve any dreams or goals you have set in life.

And to make the future bright you have to be consistent in everything you are doing, dedication,perseverance , patient and hard work will surely makes all the dream comes true.

@momogrow honestly i have been reading the context so far and this is top-notch ❤️ 🥰 you have explained everything in details I'm really glad i came across your post thanks for sharing with us. 🤗

 last year  

Aww thanks so much @moremoney28 - I almost missed the deadline - I am happy I posted my thoughts.

And to make the future bright you have to be consistent in everything you are doing, dedication,perseverance , patient and hard work will surely makes all the dream comes true.
This complements what I wrote nicely. Thanks for dropping by.

 last year  

You are always welcome 🤗

There is great power in our thoughts, what we focus on consistently will eventually become our future. For me, I always try to keep the negative thoughts out as soon as they surface and keep the positive ones.

 last year  

It is great that positive thinking is your tendency- this trait has an impact on our lives hence our future.

Our thoughts are indeed so powerful- they can even make us happy or miserable.

These are very true, we are exactly what we think we are.

 last year  

😀 indeed

 last year  

The future is usually a product of the past. What we do consistency today usually affect or determine what we are tomorrow.

 last year  

That is true - what we do consistently is what we focus on - so that is what we are creating and most likely will continue to create. Thanks for dropping by.

 last year  

True.. the work of our parents is to equip our minds on what we need for our future to be what we want. It is all in our hands to plan our future the right way we desire. cheers

 last year  

Yes you are correct - if we do not have a plan we are like a tossed about feather with no destination like I mentioned before. The least we can do is to set goals and make the effort to achieve them - it is better than doing nothing. 🤣

 last year  

Hahaha.. very true my friend i agree with you a hundred and one percent. 👌❤️

 last year  

😀

 last year (edited) 

Hmmmmmmm, I just gave a huge sigh of relief and happiness to how far you have gone in your life not just as a person but as a mother, wife, daughter, daughter in law and also a career woman, I truly respect your kind of being and how you have lived your life so far and that to doing something you love and also believing is the best decision for yourself and not just believing it, you also worked hard to make things fall into place...

I wrote on similar topic, some days ago about predicting my future, I realized that one could predict ones future in a matter of seconds but the question is are you doing what it takes to make that prediction accurate???

If not then you are laying a foundation on a sinking sand which will end up sinking...

You are indeed gifted when it comes to making decisions about your life, you know what you want to do and what is at stake if you fail but you also made sure you had a back up plan incase anything goes wrong, you don't end up with regrets and you are still grateful you took that step in the first place...

Our present actions is what will determine the outcome of our future, we shouldn't feel pressured to what our future would hold but we should rather focus on our present life and make sure we live it in a way whereby our future gets it reflection and that is what we call an accomplished life...

You dreamt and wished to travel around the world for different reasons and that happened because you wanted it to happen and you don't want it to remain a wish, you aimed to make it happen and that is living a life that will reflect in your future...

The moment you had to quit your well paying job, took a leave without pay and also had your children, you already made a choice of how you want your life to be and that too with a picture of it in your mind, the purpose was to live a fulfilling life...

Your children grew with mothers love and also you achieved that which you wanted...

Your dreams didn't end as dream but as a reality because of your hard work and your determination to make a change...

Change is inevitable and it is a must but our change should never have a negative impact on our future and you are an evidence statement...

 last year  

Wow - thanks for yor wonderfully thoughtful comment. You are so kind and you captured what I wanted to convey accurately. I will continue dreaming and doing what is necessary to enhance my life - enjoying the present moment whilst doing so.

 last year  

❤️❤️❤️❤️

Hi @momogrow,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @momogrow.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

 last year  

Your perspective on your entry is deep and simple to understand... And I can relate to some extent. I remembered when I started my crypto journey back in 2017,the one who evangelised it to me, said a word that motivated me to become curious and led to me joining different groups here and there. He said "we would make 2 million naira when we join crypto - instead of wasting our time doing useless things". This word alone was what refreshes me anytime I felt like giving up cos I joined crypto during a harsh bear market, so there was nothing to backup all the testimonies of the technology and how it has changed people's life but I persevered and bullrun came 3 years after and all I can say is that there is reward in belief and hardwork. Today the same guy that preached crypto to me is still the same person that shared an insightful thought on why people should start learning coding and now I am manifesting it, maybe in a year or two I will become a spectacular dev.