My favorite food, Sesame seed soup and vegetable garnished with smoked fish

in Hive Learners2 years ago

Hello Hive.

Am finally happy to be able to make my first post in the community after going through the verification process am now a member of the Hive learner community with all silliness to learn, unlearn and relearn anything about hive and the community.

The series of activities in the community and the state of activeness of member here is commendable, this gave me a more reason to be here.

Today am sharing my post post and participating in the contest that talks about my favorite food.

To begin with, I love to eat healthy meals, that has some touch of medicinal properties.
Some leaves are more beneficial to us than others that's why I would prefer bitterleaf and Pumpkin leaves for cooking my meals over ordinary vegetable or spinach.

IMG_20220325_183003_037_1648880510296.jpg


IMG_20220325_182936_078.jpg


IMG_20220325_175755_069.jpg


IMG_20220325_182705_524.jpg

I love Egusi (Melon gourd) soup prepared with bitter leaf.

Bitter leaf has medical properties and I have been taught traditionally that it has antimalaria and typhoid properties.

But in instances where there is no Egusi I could replace this with my traditional Sesame seeds called "Ocha" in Idoma language

This is how I prepared of this delicious soup for my family...

How to prepare Sesame Seed Soup.

  • Ingredients needed
  • Sesame
  • Pepper and onions ( Scotch bonnet preferably)
  • Palm oil
  • Seasoning, Salt and spices ( tumeric and garlic)
  • Bitter leaves or vegetables as desired.
  • Smoked fish, meat and cow skin.

IMG_20220325_174252_425.jpg

Preparation procedure

  • I had the Sesame Seed washed to free it from sand and stone from harvest. Next it was sun dried thoroughly before blending in our family small grinder.

IMG_20220324_101438_765.jpg


IMG_20220324_101940_424.jpg


IMG_20220324_101803_016.jpg


IMG_20220324_102419_210.jpg

  • Next I had the pepper and onions well blended and ready

  • Wash and clean my meat, fish and cow skin. (If cow skin is available).

  • Wash clean and prepare your desired vegetables.

IMG_20220325_173650_709.jpg

Cooking Procedure

To cook this, palmoil goes in the fire first, next I add the pepper and onions blend followed by the Sesame seed. These are all fried together for 5-7mins before adding a little water.

IMG_20220325_173748_086.jpg


IMG_20220325_173939_561.jpg

If the smoked fish is not to hard, I add it directly into the fried mixture but if its hard or am adding fresh meat, this is to be cooked separately until its soft before adding it to the soup.

The spices go in next, adding seasoning (Maggie cubes) and a pinch of tumeric and garlic, all medicinal.

This is covered and allowed to cook for at least 10 mins before adding the vegetables.
Spinach and Pumpkin leaves (Ugu) Shouldn't be cooked for long compared to bitterleaves.

IMG_20220325_174932_786.jpg

With that we are done preparing Sesame seed soup that can be eating with semovita, pounded yam, poundo potato, wheat, garri, Fufu or any turning food of your choice.

Thank you for reading my post.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Welcome to Hive learners ❣️
Your first post is really great ☺️
Truly call it awesome entry 🥀
Your food Egusi soup is really looking great 😋
Thanks for sharing such a brilliant post 📯

 2 years ago  

Thanks so much.
Your comments makes me happy

I want to have a taste of these soup oooo

 2 years ago  

There you go dearie

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 99 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
13

 2 years ago  

This is looking so nice, though I haven't tasted this kind of food and I will like to taste it.

 2 years ago  

That's good dear, am sure you will like it. Thanks for the comment

 2 years ago  

Wow, this is new on my menu, I hope to try it out someday.
Nice ingredients 😍😍.

 2 years ago  

Thanks dearie, am glad you learnt something new.

 2 years ago  

Yeah, I did and it's all thanks to you.

All I can do is just salivate!

 2 years ago  

Glory😂😂😂

Wow...
I don't think I've had the pleasure of tasting this soup before.
Might decide to do it one of these days.
Thank you for sharing this with us.

And a very warm welcome to the Hive Learners Family.

 2 years ago  

Thanks dearie, am happy to be here.

 2 years ago  

Eiiiiiii this is enticing.
And your recipe caught my attention thank you for sharing maybe someday I will try it out.

 2 years ago  

Thank you so much for reading.
I hope to see you replicate my delicious soup 🙏🌹🌺💐