Stay protected on the internet.

in Hive Learners12 days ago

I am in danger or maybe not.

But I need somewhere to hide, not necessarily because I am in danger or because I am a bad person, I just want to practice prevention. You know they say, “prevention is better than cure”. I’m navigating the media and real life carefully because I don’t want to be in danger. So, I deal only with a few people who I can trust that they can’t do anything that will hurt me or even sell me off for a token. But what if they really sold me out for a token?

It would mean that my life is no longer safe. I have to walk, eat and even breathe carefully because the danger is closer to me now than ever. Now, this is what the breach of data privacy does to me.

Purple and Orange Gradient Internet Security Technology Ad Instagram Post (_20240422_194248_0000.png

I will never agree to sign a paper that says “your data can get sold anytime to any individual, body or government that pays the highest amount of money” because it only means that my life is not safe. Imagine my bank telling a team of robbers the amount of money in my bank account. Do you think my life and properties will still be safe?

Data privacy breaches happen from the accounts, media, websites, and many online sources we subscribed to, and shared sensitive information with because we had checked the box of “I agree to the privacy policy”. Wait, did you remember to read the terms and conditions and the privacy policy, or did you just check and move on like most of us do?

You don’t have to run from the government except when you are doing something fishy, but sometimes, even without fishy, you end up been a target when your data gets sold to the government or any other body that is interested in buying maybe not for a token, but for huge amount of money that is profitable for the company. Then, it’s left for you to protect yourself. How?

Purple and Orange Gradient Internet Security Technology Ad Instagram Post (_20240422_194529_0000.png

  1. Read and understand the privacy policy. Stop checking the box like you used to do. Take a few seconds to read through and see if your data can get sold anytime.

  2. Stop oversharing on the ‘net’. People won’t know anything about you until you share it with them. So, be careful of sharing sensitive information about yourself online. That way, you can’t be tracked for what you did not say, do, or write online.

  3. Use strong passwords. DO NOT use your year of birth as passwords. You are setting yourself up, especially these days when your year of birth can easily be guessed. In fact, don’t use an easy-to-guess combination as passwords.

  4. Don’t connect to any available Wi-Fi except you are sure that you are not logging any sensitive information or even websites at that time. Remember, there is no free lunch even in a free town. You can get sold out because you connected to a free network.

  5. Again, read, understand and digest privacy policies before you check the box.

Your data should be private, and anything private should be duly protected. The websites will only try their best to protect you, but, if the companies are in situations where they get threatened to release your data to them just like the Nigerian government is currently doing to Binance, your safety may get threatened.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 12 days ago  

I think I am guilty of the fact that I do not read a lot of things and so I just accept policies and my data will or can be easily noticed or maybe tampered with.

 11 days ago  

The fact is that most of us do not read the terms and conditions before we accept it.

 7 days ago  

Ohh
I thought I was the only one...

 12 days ago  

I will never agree to sign a paper that says “your data can get sold anytime to any individual, body or government that pays the highest amount of money

The truth is you've actually agreed to that without you knowing, many times you open a website or app and they show you a long list of terms and conditions, which didn't read but quickly click on agreed and proceed unknown to you that such is part of the terms.

I love your way out, although we should also turn on encryption and as well use some safe decentralized apps.

 11 days ago  

No one ever read that terms and conditions 😂 it's more than 5000 words. We have all agreed to what exposes our yansh. Thanks for stopping by.

 11 days ago  

Just like that, people are stealing our money easily nowadays by stealing our data and doing online shopping and we never get that money back.