Cynophobia Is Not A Threat Anymore || Hive Learners Prompt #110E1

in Hive Learners18 days ago (edited)

Cynophobia is a fear of dogs. I had a lot of fear for dogs. This was borne out of a scene I witness on a television scene where a child's was devoured by a dog. In that scene, the narrator gave an insight to the danger of dog bite. Since then, I have had fears for dogs.

Life hustles takes you behind your imagination. A hustler goes the mile to earn a living, doing nearly just anything that brings food to the table. Such was how I lived my life before I found essence with doing one thing and becoming better at it. Some years after I became a teacher, I saw the need to earn more money because responsibility was becoming bigger. So, my way to hustle hard was to take on private teaching aside from being a teacher in a school.

pexels-photo-733416.jpeg
Alexandru Rotariu

Not longer than I made up my mind to become a private tutor then I started having customers who needed my services. I was young and needed time to be with my friends. For me, it doesn't always have to be work and money.

Of all my engagements with the learners, I got more than what I bargained for. My first contract was with a boy named Jamal. He returned to the UK and needed to learn the Yoruba language. That's funny, right? Yeah, I speak and write the Yoruba language as an Igbo man, having been born and schooled in Lagos. Jamal was just one boy who needed to learn the new tricks of how to talk the Nigerian way so that when he returned to the UK he could proudly tell his friends that he spent his holidays in Lagos, Nigeria. Though we did the Yoruba-speaking job, we also dabbled into other aspects.

Jamal lived with his grannies in the highbrow Ikoyi-Lagos with huge Alsatian dogs. And believe me, if there is one thing I fear, dogs can make me melt. Fortunately, the dogs in the compound were only released at night.

This particular coaching period was to last for just two months. And believe me, the pay was mouth-watering and I didn't want to have another coaching during that time. I always looked forward to going to Ikoyi every day.

Each day, when I got to the house, I was served a sumptuous lunch.

On this particular day, when I got to the gate of the building, I saw a young guy who came to take the dogs for a walk. Men, the dogs were huge. I froze at the door post when I saw the dogs breathing with their mouths wide open. I couldn't look at them twice.

When I entered the house, the dogs became the topic for the whole day between Jamal and I. He told me that dogs are very friendly but they don't want to be messed with. A lot was discussed. But one thing I will never forget was how he told me to behave when I see a dog running towards me.

In the final week with Jamal, I spent a longer time with him. Luckily, he could speak a level of the Yoruba language and write some words in Yoruba. That indicated a lot of progress on his part.

free-photo-of-silhouette-of-a-man-playing-with-his-dogs.jpeg
Elisa Giaccaglia

Two days before our session was going to end, I came over to the house for an evaluation with Jamal and found the dogs not on the chain. Immediately, I started to sweat profusely. It felt like I should pee on myself but I remember what Jamal shared with me and decided to be a man. The first dog, huge and black ran towards me, I just raised my right hand up, instead of being attacked, the dog started to wag its waist as the next dog joined in.

I couldn't believe my eyes.However, I still had a symptom of fear when I started thinking of how a dog attacked a colleague who went to attend to a child in a home lesson venue.

From that day, my fears for dogs have been allayed. Many thanks to Jamal.

Sort:  

This post has been supported by @Splinterboost with a 5% upvote! Delagate HP to Splinterboost to Earn Daily HIVE rewards for supporting the @Splinterlands community!

Delegate HP | Join Discord

 18 days ago  

I used to love dogs but then I heard a story of how a dog beats its owner and I was like so a dog can bite the hand feeding him, since then I just developed a hatred for dogs maybe I can love them in the nearest future though.

 18 days ago  

Dogs can be very good friends with man but they have to be well cared for not to engage their animal instincts.

There's nothing in this world that can make me go closer to a dog. My fear for dogs is 100%.

Bro Wale, a tall and huge guy was beaten blue and black by two local dogs🤣🤣 Bro Wale went to visit his friend as usual but that day these dogs decided to deal with him🤣
As he entered the gate, the dogs came, he thought they should play as usual but they attacked him and he fell on the ground 🤣as they pounced on him tearing him, bro wale kept shouting for help before the owner came bro wake dealt with by usual dogs he plays with🤔
He landed at the hospital. I can never forget that experience in a hurry.

Dogs are a no-go area for me👌

 18 days ago  

Jeez!!!
Dogs can be really unpredictable. In my own case, those dogs weren't local breeds, I wouldn't have dine what I did.

Lols