Mondays Are Work-days!

in Hive Learners • 11 months ago (edited)
Hello Hivians!

Today is Monday and I want to share a work experience because Mondays are Work-days 😉.

IMG20221205170557.jpg

If you can recall, last year I wasn't available for almost three weeks due to my Project Management boot camp training and examination.

You can refer back to the story here👇
https://peakd.com/hive-153850/@nemevjassy/rising-above-the-tides-part-2

When I got certified as a project manager, I landed my first onsite job as a Team Lead, I was super excited that I took it on without prior formal experience🤦.

IMG20221205170551.jpg

Truth be told it wasn't all that easy as compared to those series of lectures you have in PM classes, here I needed to put in practice somethings that weren't talked about in class, I assure you it was not easy, I practically learned on the job, the project exceeded it's slack by few days because of a team member's fault, but as we all know, nobody blames a team member, you are the Project Manager!

IMG20221205170601.jpg

This above scene is same or close to what some project managers experience at first try, hence the need to highlight some top mistakes project managers make so one could look out for as well as avoid them;

  1. Lack of clear communication: Project managers often fail to communicate effectively with their team members, stakeholders, and clients. This can lead to misunderstandings, delays, and a lack of alignment on project goals and expectations.

  2. Poor planning and organization: Project managers may rush into a project without proper planning and organization. This can result in missed deadlines, scope creep, and a lack of clarity on project deliverables.

  3. Inadequate risk management: Project managers sometimes overlook or underestimate potential risks and fail to develop contingency plans. This can lead to unexpected issues and project failures.

  4. Micromanagement: Some project managers have a tendency to micromanage their team members, which can demotivate and disempower them in turn hinders creativity, collaboration, and overall project success.

  5. Failure to adapt and learn from mistakes: Project managers who do not learn from their mistakes and adapt their approach are likely to repeat the same errors. It is important for project managers to reflect on their experiences, seek feedback, and continuously improve their skills and processes.

IMG20221205170827.jpg

I learnt from mine and I have been able to manage my team better😊.

You can share your work experience too in the comment section so we can learn from ourselves.

IMG20221205170549.jpg

Remember: It must not be Project Management related 😉!

Thanks for engaging.