Speak Up or Ship Out: Overcoming My Fear

in Hive Learnerslast month

Everybody has that one task or position they dread so much that they would do everything possible to avoid situations that would require them to take up such tasks or positions. Such dislike are natural among humans and are bound to happen, but what matters most is how we stand strong and do not let our fears become victorious over us.

For me, that one task I have always dreaded so much is public speaking. Don't get me wrong; I do talk as much as I can when I'm outside home, and I engage in conversations with others as well. But when it comes to giving a speech in front of a large number of people, my heart usually skips a beat, which is why I was reluctant to accept any prefect position in my school.

It was not always like this. Throughout my primary school and junior levels, I was what you could call the orator of the class. I was in every debating club because I loved debates. As a bright student, teachers were always eager to let me present speeches during graduation ceremonies, cultural days, and any other school celebrations you can think of, and I never disappointed. I was very excited to participate in such activities; call me anytime and any day to present a speech, and I would deliver.

Even though I was a science student right from my junior level and had no business whatsoever with the debate club, so they say, I joined the debate club in my first year of junior high school instead of the science club. I joined because I loved talking in front of an audience, which was a great confidence booster.

However, things took a left turn in my senior year of high school. For no reason and for something I couldn't make sense of, I became more reserved and withdrawn. It all started with me having anxieties during rehearsals and eventually falling sick or backing out close to the presentation day. Other times, when I managed to make it to the day of the presentation and to the stage, it was often a tug of war controlling my shaky, sweaty palms and my cracking voice. It got so bad to the point where I couldn't even do a demonstration in a classroom filled with the regular faces I knew - my classmates.

As time went on, I stopped participating in every school activity or any other activity, which made my teachers worried because they had always known me as one to conquer my fears. But this time around, I was letting my fears overcome me.

It was a serious problem that could have cost me many opportunities. One time, I was nominated for the position of head girl. Of course, I had to stand in front of a committee for a series of Q&A sessions and series of other interviews, which I managed to scale through. But the big problem was standing in front of the school owner for proper scrutiny. I almost dropped out and asked for the position to be given to the other nominee.

But the school principal wasn't about to let that happen. He made me see how I could lose many life-changing opportunities if I kept running away from public speaking and interviews, which made some sense to me. I mean, if it were an interview for a well-paying job, would I have dropped out? That question alone made me have a second thought.

I braced up and decided to face it all. After all, if I perish, I perish. The teachers came to my aid. I participated in many class demonstrations and read many books. The story of Dr. Benjamin Carson was a better inspiration for me. Eventually, I became a better public speaker, and even though I still get anxious about it, at least I don't run away from it.

credits
image from freepik

Posted Using InLeo Alpha