My Encounter With A Remarkable Mind

in Hive Learnerslast month

You know, there’s smart and there’s smart. There are levels to everything and trust me when I tell you there are so many smart people out there but when we come to another level of smart, they’re kids in the eyes of extra smart and intelligent people.

Growing up, I knew I was smart. I always aced my exams and I was also street smart. I had my way around everything and I felt I was on top of the world. I didn’t know I had seniors in this smartness/ Intelligent game.😂😂

And that was how I met this friend of mine about 7 years ago. I had just started senior high school and we had vacated for our long vacation. In Ghana, during the long vacations our parents didn’t want their kids to be at home doing nothing or getting into trouble so they would enroll us for extra classes. That was how it was done right from basic school. That particular year, I told my dad I wanted to go for extra classes at one particular school because my friends were going there and I would always get a free ride to and fro from my dad because his work was closer.

I didn’t think many people would attend but to my surprise we are many. I met so many new people during my time there and it was fun. The teachers were good and the extra classes was really helping. Within two of attending this extra classes, people were being toasted and all of that when I on the other hand was making a list of smart people so I could befriend them and learn from them.

There was this guy who would always answer all the questions in class and he was never wrong. He had all correct in all our assignments, quizzes and what have you. I knew he was smart but then he was always walking with other guys so I didn’t befriend him then.

There was so much competition in the class because there was going to be an awards day at the end of the classes. Everyone wanted to be on top of the class including me but no one hated the other. There was nothing like silent hate and envy among us. We would study together and do literally everything together.

At the end of it all, this guy went home with all the awards except two. I wasn’t really surprised because he is actually very intelligent and I was happy for him. He completed High school with flying colors, proceed to the university where he also completed with a first class and now , he’s out there doing what he loves. We speak from time to time and I know he’s doing well out there and putting his knowledge to good use. I’m yet to meet someone as smart as this friend of mine because everyone we talk , he teaches me new stuff that I’ve never heard of. Being the curious person that I am, I’m always happy to learn from others.


all images belong to me.


Sort:  
 last month  

So my nhaji too can mellow 😂. Haha. Smartness pass smartness ooo. I also had a roommate in the university. This guy is so brilliant and intelligent. He came out with a first class too. And that doesn’t stop him from playing and having fun. I feel he is just gifted and also worked hard alongside.

 last month  

If you follow people like this to play, you will go back home alone and leave them in school.😂😂

 last month  

you said you havent met someone as smart as your friend. Have you met fash of mars. Well, im sure you havent thats why.
Anyways, I like smart people to, maybe thats why we are close friends.

Please please Fash of what what, go and sleep🤣

 last month  

😁😁😁lemme let me talk to Nhaji

 last month  

😂😂I’m yet to meet Fash of Mars. I hope he impresses me.😅

 last month  

You will met him some day, he is closer to you than you think

 last month  

Can’t wait😅

 last month (edited) 

I guess from time to time we meet people with extraordinary intelligence. The funny part is that you wouldn't have known someone like that exist until you met one 😅

 last month  

That’s right. We will obviously
meet someone who’s more intelligent that us sometime in our lives.

 last month  

Then, it used to pain me when I see that there are other smart and intelligent kids than me 🤣 small children's thinking then. I was always the first to read scriptures in Church as I was always very fast to open any passage, not until I saw those who were more faster than I was, I was pained and stopped 😆
The truth is, we will always see those who are acing it better than us and that is life. We can never be the only person who is smart and intelligent.

 last month  

😂😂I bet you felt like they should just disappear and never come to church again. Kids will always be kids.😅

 last month  

This story reminds me of a similar experience I had in high school, how one guy just joined my class when I just graduated to senior high school and removed me from the top of the class 😅 that was the day I realized that no matter how intelligent you are, you will surely meet someone that's more intelligent. I stopped competing with that guy the day he went to a national mathematics competition and won 😂 we were definitely not on the same level

 last month  

😂I can imagine how you felt when he moved you from the top of the class. Some of these people help keep us on our toes.🤝😅

 last month  

Yeah, being smart comes in level, also in categories like academics, social, street, skill etc. Parents tends to enroll their children for extra classes during long holidays here in Nigeria too. I can relate to that kind of extra lesson you went too. Many students walking in groups, the funny, stubborn, fashion geng. smart and intelligent ones, there were always competitions.

Being curious in terms of knowledge also helps one become smarter over time, though, it depends on the kind and quality of knowledge one gets.

 last month  

Those extra classes were always dope. There’s always the extra ones, the ones with terrible taste in fashion, the lover and what have you.😂😂

 last month  

Those extra classes are fun, can't imagine me missing it during my junior school days.

 last month  

😂😂I’m glad you didn’t miss the fun.

 last month  

There are some students like that who are just so gifted intellectually and would answer numerous questions as those they've got a textbook in their brain.

 last month  

As for me, I don’t have text books in my head.😂😂
Let’s leave that for people like you who are smart.

 last month  

Hehe! There are levels to this thing, abeg. Omo! This reminds me of my primary school days. This girl, my classmates Sabi book die. One time, I challenged myself to beat her in at least one subject, Omo! I couldn’t oo. She Sabi book die.

 last month  

😂😂she will beat you left and right. Let’s just make way for these people.

 last month  

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.