My Healthy Eating Choice

in Hive Learnerslast month

On a normal day, you wouldn’t find me eating outside but yesterday, I was late for work so I wasn’t able to have breakfast. At work, my colleagues decided to go out for lunch and I also tagged along. There’s this huge canteen where students go to buy food because there, you have so many different dishes to choose from. I went in for a rice dish hoping it would be good.

My hopes were shattered when I took my first bite of the food. The stew tasted sour. I was hungry and so I didn’t really have a choice. Halfway into my meal, my tummy started to hurt. I knew it was possibly from the food so I stopped eating and threw it out. Last night I didn’t sleep well cos that food I ate gave me a runny stomach the whole night.

Eating outside isn’t safe at all as I would always say. Unless I have tried a particular restaurant and I know their food is good , nothing will convince me to eat from there. Moving to a new place came with so many challenges but I didn’t expect the food to be different. When I first arrived here, I was still trying to settle in and so I would mostly buy lunch outside. For the first few days, I didn’t like that food and there always seemed to be stone in the food. I didn’t even eat outside for up to a week out of fear that I might come down with an illness.

Growing up, we barely ate fast food unless it was an emergency. Every day, we ate freshly prepared meals and we had very balanced diet. As they say, old habits die hard and I agree with that. Now that I am older and living alone, no matter how exhausted I am, I would always prepare my own meal. On busy days, I can get off work at around 8pm and I would still prepare something for myself. Nothing would make me patronize fast food.

Did you know that people eat food from food joints and restaurants and they eventually die from food poisoning. No one speaks about these happening but they are real. You do not know the condition or environment in which this particular meal was prepared. You don’t even know the ingredients they use. All you see if the food being displayed nicely and you’re already running to fill your belly. There are some restaurants who use rotten tomatoes from the market to prepare their stews. Some even reheat day old food and sell it out to people. We are really living in a scaring world.

Someone once said, the first rule of business is to fuck everyone else over. The selling of fast food and whatever is business. Most of these people don’t care about you. They’re just finding ways to push the food out so they can make their money back. No one wants to invest in something with no returns.

We need to pay more attention to our health and what we eat as individuals because we are what we eat. Cooking a meal at home wouldn’t even take you up to an hour sometimes. You get to save some money and also enjoy fresh meals at the same time. I’m very picky with food but I don’t know for others. In my view, home cooked meals are the best.


all images belong to me.


Sort:  
 last month  

I guess we have a lot in common. growing up too, we hardly eat out which is why I believe I dont like eating out that much.
I hope you're feeling better now sha

 last month  

I’m good.
When I marry you, we would have a healthy home.😂😂

 last month  

😋😋
Yes baby
We would

 last month  

You’re funny.

 last month  

I don't like to imagine what the kitchens of some places where I eat are like! What a misfortune for your food to be spoiled; when these things happen, I get very nervous! Unfortunately, these things do happen, and as you said, we still run the risk of getting food poisoning!

 last month  

Sometimes you just have to pray and hope the food is safe.😅 the other option is to eat at home. It’s that simple.

 last month  

I have said it several times and continue saying that food vendors don't care about the things they give to their customers because they just want to make profit.

Sorry about your experience and this is one of the reasons why I usually don't eat out. I prefer to prepare my meal even though it's not a huge meal, I can be sure that what I made for myself is hygienic.

 last month  

It’s a huge me, you’re known for preparing huge meals.😂

When I land in Nigeria, you’ll see me in your house.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

 last month  

Growing up, I enjoyed eating my mom’s food. Only hers. I didn’t like the idea of eating outside. But, everything changed when I got into the university. With my tight schedule, sometimes (most times) eating outside is the most convenient option.

Thanks for sharing.

 last month  

You’ll come back from class starving hoping to eat the food in the fridge only meet no food because roommate ate it.😂😂

I pity guys in the university, honestly. I wonder how you guys manage to survive.

 last month  

Sweetheart, since you can cook so well. It will be easier for us when we get married. Eating outside is pretty bad moreover these people are not neat.

 last month  

😂😂😂you can equally cook so all I need to do is sit and eat your food.

 last month  

Well, in as much you will also eat the other food 🤤

 last month  

😂😂😂which other food?