The Price of Purity: A Look At Safe Drinking Water

in Hive Learners29 days ago
They say water is life but most of us in some parts of Africa do not have access to portable water. Did you know that 71% of the earth is covered in water? This should tell you how important water is to mankind.

Growing up in the city, water wasn’t really a problem for us. Our taps were always running and even on days they weren’t, we had other sources of water in our house. But, as we grow things change. I happen to have a change in environment and it had a huge effect on me. I found myself in another part of the country where I had never been to. We didn’t have constant water supply and our only resort was borehole water.

Within a week to two weeks time, I started to experience itchy and dry skin. I thought it was the weather and so I didn’t pay much attention to it until things got out of hand. Soon enough, I found out it was from the water we used to bath. From then onwards, I started to add disinfectants to my water before bathing and I still do that till date.

When it comes to drinking water, there have been so many cases of typhoid fever in the region which is obviously caused by either the food , water or both. I’ve been a victim of this because at times when we run out of drinking I would just go ahead and drink from the tap or borehole.

Aside the rich who go in for bottled water, almost everyone in Ghana drinks sachet water which we usually call pure water. I laughed at my dad when he got a water dispenser for the house because he wanted us to drink clean water. Did you know that most of these sachet water are really not safe for consumption? If only we knew where and how they were being produced we would be more careful.

To think that even the best sachet water I knew of in Ghana is now a franchise has me thinking if it safe anymore. If you don’t know how a franchise works allow me to brief you. Basically, the company gives other people the right to produce their products with their name wherever they are in the country but under some specific conditions and requirements at a percentage. It’s more like giving someone the go ahead to sell products they are producing with your name. What if something goes wrong somewhere?

Tips for healthier and cleaner water

Bioling

Thinking about it now, I think the only way we can be sure we are consuming healthy water is to go back to the days of our great grandparents where they boiled their water before consumption. Not everyone has time to boil their water before drinking but it’s actually the best.

Proper storage

Another way we can keep our water clean is to store them in clean containers which are covered to avoid any form of debris or contaminants from getting into it.

Chemical treatment

Treating water with chemicals such as aluminum or chlorine is also another way to have clean and healthy water but sometimes the concentrations of these chemicals tend to be high and this poses health risks to us.

Water is very important in our lives as humans and what we take is in what makes us. People have lost their lives from taking in contaminated water and you wouldn’t want to be a victim. So, now is the time to start paying more attention to the water you drink or use at home.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@duja just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @nhaji01.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

https://inleo.io/threads/nhaji01/re-nhaji01-2q4y7x9fs
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( nhaji01 ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

 29 days ago  

Clean water isn’t over rated, most people forget about the benefits of good water and over look it. Therefore the settle for whatever they see. I think most people are not even aware of the dangers of bad water

 28 days ago  

Most people don’t know what clean water is because they just follow the crown. We need to educate people on what type of water to take and not take .

 29 days ago  

Nhaji your pics are always stunning and outstanding. I really love them. Your pure water also got a nice design on it.

Water is life. Once we fail to have a good source of it then there is always a problem or the other. What can we do as humans without the need for water?

 28 days ago  

Ohh thank you. I’m glad you liked them.😅

Water is indeed everything but we need to know more about the water we take in and pay more attention to it.

 29 days ago  

I stayed in Ghana some years back and unfortunately, the place I stayed didn't have access to water (not even unsafe one 😂), so we regularly bought from water trucks and that one wasn't safe for drinking, it tasted like they added bleach to it. The solution was sachet water, and even though they aren't really safe, at least they taste good 😅

 28 days ago  

There’s worse and there’s worst.😂😂 water from trucks is a no no for drinking. Only God knows the kind of bacteria that has grown in the truck.

 23 days ago  

I said I was going to keep a record this year by not drinking pure water. My friend made me break it a few weeks ago. But since it was one time, it doesn’t count😌😌😂😂

 23 days ago  

😂😂see rich woman things. I’m rooting for you!😅

 23 days ago  

Oh I’ve not been using my money for that oo😂😂😂
I’m just utilizing the opportunity

 22 days ago  

😂😂😂can you imagine