"A CULTURAL FESTIVAL"

in Hive Learners2 years ago

Every country has her own culture and it's celebrated in different season of the year. I am a Nigerian and there are three ethnic groups in Nigeria namely; the Igbo, the Hausa and the Yoruba. I am Igbo and we have different cultural practices but I will love to discuss about Masquerade festival in Igbo Land.

Find the question from Hive learners community below 👇

Tell us all about a festival that holds in your country that is unique only to your people. And tell us why you enjoy it so much. Or if you don't.

Screenshot_20220320-163650.png
Image source

Masquerade festival differs in Igbo land considering your own State and your village as well. So in Enugu State (Nsukka Village) to be prescise, masquerade is usually celebrated when the second 🌕 moon (onwa about) appear sometime in November every year. There is a way the elders of my village use to choose the festival day following the appearance of the moon and this made it not to have a specific date for the festival. Once the second moon appear, the king will order the town crier to go round the whole village and announce the forth coming festival.

It's usually a two-day festival and always unique. On the D-Day, all cultural dance in the village usually perform massively, the Ogene people and the children masquerade too. The aim is to gather the whole village and have other of our tradition being explained in detail to the young ones, it also serve as the time of togetherness to all villagers where different local games are being played at the village square both young and old people. There are usually lots of palm wine and food enough to grace the occasion. The Dancing competition is another interesting thing about the festival and lots of people wants to get involved because of the monetary price attached. During the two-day events, shops and market are being shut down to ensure maximum participation from everyone. This was how I met masquerade festival being celebrated as one of our culture in my own village.

WHY I DON'T LIKE IT ANYMORE
You see, this part of our culture used to be fun while I was growing up but later on, the motivate of initiating the culture by our ancestors was ruined.

When the event is approaching, the masquerade will start coming out and causing nuisance in the whole town, they will be blocking the road and requesting for money and if you fail to give them money, they will beat a hell out of you. Sadly, I was once a victim of these , it was so painful and horrible experience and that's why I detest it now .

Screenshot_20220320-161822.png
Image source

The masquerade go out the whole town with big cane flogging people left and right, some even embed razor blades inside the cane inorder to injure anyone that offended them. Young guys intentionally wear masquerade in search of people that hurt them and use the opportunity as revenge! Some go as far as to the river for extra spirit power just to perform magic during the event. All these and many more has been happening lately and nobody is saying anything about that and that's my main reason why I don't like the festival anymore. Well, so many things has gone wrong and I just wish we can go back to the way it used to be before.

Thanks for visiting my blog.

Remember to keep staying positive and be happy 😊❣️💕

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

It's really bad that when they request for money and if someone fails to pay, they are told all sorts of bad things. I have never been a victim myself but I have heard it from many

 2 years ago  

It's very bad oo and receiving that beating is so painful.

The memory still fresh within me.

 2 years ago  

YES dear

 2 years ago  

Though I haven't been beaten by a masquerade before, I'm sorry for that experience, I can't even imagine what it was like .nice description

 2 years ago  

My dear, it's not a nice experience and I don't pray for even my enemy to experience it.

Thanks for your comment.

 2 years ago  

This is the mmoo itself. I have ones been chased by a masquerade. Believe me, it wasn't funny

 2 years ago  

I can relate shaa.

 2 years ago  

These is such a beautiful traditional, but in as much as I love to watch them,I dislike the way they beat people with cane.

 2 years ago  

Same here... that beating spoiled it all.

 2 years ago  

Seriously.

 2 years ago  

Smiles, This is quite a nice piece dear friend.
I agree with you on the part that the masquerades do things that are not that humanly but culture is culture dear.

Just that these days things are all spoilt up, leaving us with the ruins left of the culture to face.

it's nice reading through this.

 2 years ago  

Yea alot has gone wrong and our culture is not exempted.

Thanks for dropping by.

 2 years ago  

She is from 042
My friend has told me about this
He is from Enugu
Great state

 2 years ago  

Yes oo
042 life!

 2 years ago  

Masquerade running and flogging happens alot too
I am part of the running committee

 2 years ago  

Hahahaha
I hate the flogging jare!

Hello, we have chosen this post to be curated by MCGI Cares(Hive) community. We are inviting you to join our community that study the words of God.

BES-MCGI-Cares-Banner-Web-ver01-1024x827-1.jpg

 2 years ago  

Thank you 😊

 2 years ago  

Good festival, they even wear the special mask in their festival.
Good job, i like it. 👍

 2 years ago  

Yes they wear mask.
I am glad you like it.

Thank you 😊

 2 years ago  

The first time I saw a masquerade was when I traveled to Enugu State for a burial. They were very much and it was because a chief died that was why they came out to perform on his burial.

My first encounter with them wasn't a friendly one, even to go home was a problem because I couldn't get close to them.

Some of them are very diabolic, because I can still remember one with charms all over his body.

Though I was entertained that day and at the same time, I was very scared of them too.

I understand why you don't like it anymore. Thanks for sharing with us.

 2 years ago  
 My first encounter with them wasn't a friendly one, even to go home was a problem because I couldn't get close to them.

Hahahaha

Yea, some of them are going diabolic and that I detest so much.

 2 years ago  

Hahaha 😂
Okay

 2 years ago  

You can relate abi🤩

 2 years ago  

Yes

 2 years ago  

Its really sad to see the nuisance that such a great festival has turn to. Our cultures are slowly dying because a lot of people have taken advantage of this and used it for their evil purposes...

I wish we could go back to those days when we had traditions and cultures that'll bring people together in unity and Harmony.

This is a great post..Thanks for sharing @nkemakonam89

 2 years ago  

I am glad you liked the post.

Thanks for your nice comment.

 2 years ago  

You're welcome dear

 2 years ago  

Lol that thier flogging ehh hmm it's just wickedness

 2 years ago  

It is oo, no doubt!

 2 years ago (edited) 

I'm from Owerri, in our parts we have our masquerade festival either at the end of the year or the first month of the new year.
It is always full of fun, I have attended it a couple of times now and I look forward to the next one.
Too sad you have had a bad experience with them.
Thank you for sharing this with us.

 2 years ago  

Yea different state with different ways of celebration their culture, it's a good thing that yours is with lots of funs, enjoy while the stock lasts.

 2 years ago  

When the event is approaching, the masquerade will start coming out and causing nuisance in the whole town, they will be blocking the road and requesting for money and if you fail to give them money, they will beat a hell out of you.

actually the culture that you share is so beautiful, but in what you say is there not a firmness for the government in taking action?

 2 years ago  

Government? Noo but I expected the elders and the king to take action but they aren't 😭

 2 years ago  

Little flogging you call it abi😀

 2 years ago  

I understand... that's the way it has turned out to be so far

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment