Building Bridges with Acts of Kindness

in Hive Learners19 days ago

Over the years, several people have shown me kindness, and that has influenced me to do the same for others. An act of kindness can be a life-changer, or perhaps simply change someone's day. Many times, I have experienced this; I can attest to that, and I know that many people also have similar experiences, just like I do.

Blue and Green Kindness Is Beautiful_20240420_164229_0000.png
Image taken and edited in canva

I think it's very easy to be kind. It doesn't have to be something too big for us to show kindness to others. It could be simply giving a genuine compliment to someone or being kind with words, which in turn can change that person's mood for the better. It could be surprising a neighbor with a meal or even giving a drink to celebrate someone when he or she least expected it. The list is endless, and by so doing, we keep spreading kindness to each other. Kindness should be a lifestyle to be embraced by everyone and practiced all the time in our day-to-day activities, extending a little helping hand where we can and making others feel happy.


Kindness is contagious, except for someone who doesn't have an open mind to be influenced by an act of kindness received by others. I met someone on this Blockchain sometimes two years ago through engagement, and we kept connecting. This connection extended beyond this space but through other social media handles, especially via Discord. We have never seen each other physically till date, but this person has in many ways greatly influenced me by her act of kindness. Sometimes, through our conversation, I will ask if she is an angel or a human being. We have shared different stories together, and I kept knowing this person more, and her kindness always baffles me. It's as if he is living her life for humanity. I remember the first $50 she gifted me during Christmas last two years, and then I remember how she sent me money to replace my phone last year when she heard that I was offline because my phone got bad suddenly, and many other kind gestures of hers that I can't continue to mention here.

Screenshot_20240420-164738.jpg
Source


As if that wasn't enough, earlier this year, she remembered that I once told her of my offline business, which I am working on establishing, and guess the question she asked me: "What's holding you back from the business? Nkem, I really want you to be established and secure financial stability. If it's money, just let me know how much you need to kick off, and I will help you with it. I can wait until you are able to pay it back." I read the text over and over again before replying to her. I was wondering how someone who hasn't even seen me physically would be this kind to me. Sincerely, I can't express how I feel about this huge kindness from someone I met virtually. The money I needed wasn't small money, and it was so heavy in my mouth to say, but I managed to mention the amount, and to my greatest chagrin, I received the same amount from her, and she even added that if it's not enough, she can assist again. My husband was speechless when I told him, and he couldn't stop examining his life to see if he has such a heart for other people.


This act of kindness to me gave me lots of reality checks and challenged me to do similar things to others whenever the opportunity comes. It's not as if I haven't been showing kindness to people, but this person has been a lot of influence on me, and I am trying to keep spreading this chain of kindness to others as much as I can.

Screenshot_20240420-164457.jpg
Source


Last month, I was set to visit the Lagos market to shop for a particular item, so dear me. This item is personal and quite expensive. Gradually, I was saving for it, and just two days before I wanted to visit the market, a young family man visited my home. Of course, I know him, but we aren't all that close. And I know that he has been struggling financially with his family. He has a smaller car, but it gives him issues. He is a teacher, and since school was on holiday, he wants to fix his car and use it for online rides as an extra source of income to sustain his family. This young man didn't have the money to fix his car and keep hustling, so he came so that I might assist him financially. I was touched by many of his stories, and then I remembered how someone I have never seen could sacrifice that much for me. Why can't I do the same for this young man? The item I wanted to buy can wait. I think showing kindness to this man to earn and feed his family without begging looks more important, I said to myself.


Screenshot_20240420-145208.jpg


You could feel his joy in this WhatsApp conversation after receiving the alert from me.


Finally, one thing I have discovered that kindness does is that it certainly increases our happiness quotient thereafter. I think the world needs kindness and love. It always starts with one person and their own environment. Let's keep spreading kindness in our capacity and not break this chain.

This for reading through ♥️♥️♥️

This is my response to the #hivelearners contest on the topic titled Don't break the chain

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 19 days ago  

Kindness is a thing which is making the world much better and beautiful. If there is no kindness then the world would be very cruel. I think you said about the person who helped you to buy a new phone but you didn't mention her name this time also like earlier time. See, my memory is still sharp.
I think most of the people need financial help in the current time and you are trying your best based on your capability and that's the thing I like most.
!LUV

 19 days ago  

Haha 😂.
I am sorry..but I can't mention her name
She doesn't want to be mentioned for any reason, that's why
Yea with kindness, our world will become so beautiful..I hope everyone continues to show kindness in our different capabilities

 19 days ago  

As they say what goes around, comes around. If someone who hasn’t ever met you before can have this kind of love for you, what’s stopping us from helping those around us. We rise by lifting others.

 19 days ago  

Indeed sis 🥰
This has been a bunch of influence on my life

 19 days ago  

Kindness is an important virtue for me i see kindness as a magic healing nice if people in the world will really extend hand of kindness the world will be a better place for everyone.

 19 days ago  

Yea ..it's an important virtue and I wish many people can start practicing it always

In as much as it seems like the world has ran out of kind people, but no, we still have kind people left.

Permit me to say this, the person who helped you to buy a new and also to put one thing or the other in place is one of a kind. She is really a kind person

And you? Ma'am, you came through for that man, it only takes a kind heart to do that

 19 days ago  

My dear.. there are still kind peeps in our world today. Glad I could do a little 🤗

 19 days ago  

That's so kind of you momma, there's always joy in giving. The man appreciate what you've done even without knowing that you actually sacrificed something you've been wanting to get.

Some kindness requires sacrifice and in the end, it pays off more than we ever expect. Keep being kind!

 19 days ago  

Yea, that kind of joy is usually fulfilling
Really glad I made such sacrifice
Thanks for your kind words my dear
Keep spreading this kindness

 19 days ago  

You're welcome ma

 19 days ago  

I'm really happy you were really able to inherit and take after the good art of this person.

That was so sweet of you mama
And I pray God puts a smile on your face just as you did put a smile to this person's face.

It's never easy to help
Talk less of this time where things are just some how

 19 days ago  

You are right.. there are obstacles to kindness in this hard time
I pray we can have enough to extend to others

 19 days ago  

Amen mama
Thank you for sharing out such an amazing content ma

https://inleo.io/threads/nkemakonam89/re-nkemakonam89-2wgmcj519
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( nkemakonam89 ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.