Rewarding Academic Excellence: Effective Strategy or Short-Term Fix?

in Hive Learners14 days ago

Rewards for academic performance are good, although they have both advantages and disadvantages. When it comes to motivating students and reinforcing positive behavior, it becomes a welcome idea, but I feel that if this is practiced continuously, with time, students might start feeling entitled, and it could also bring a limited focus on knowledge acquisition.

Purple Minimalist School Admission Facebook Post_20240612_223950_0000.png

Education is powerful and has the capability of changing our society for the better. Even the people we regard as poor families nowadays are still struggling to send their children to school because they understand the importance of education in the long run. However, the sole purpose of getting into school is to acquire knowledge, and in acquiring knowledge, it's better that we watch out for things that could deviate from the main purpose of being in school.

Personally, I love being motivated by rewards, but truth be told, when I can't get the reward anymore, the level of my commitment to such a program might be reduced, depending on what it is. Even staff in different organizations increase their commitment level once a monetary motivation is introduced but return to their way of life when they can't find the motivation. The same thing is applicable to students who are always studying with expectations for rewards; that means that whenever the rewards are removed, they might stand the risk of losing interest in learning. I think if this cash reward is something that happens once in awhile, then it's not bad; otherwise, the negative effects might supersede.

Using my kids as an example, I tried initiating rewards for their studies, and for the main time I maintained this reward, you needed to see how these guys were studying as if they were schooling in Cambridge. Most times, my second son wouldn't even remove his school uniform before attending to his homework and further studies. The little reward motivated them, and while it lasted, the results were evident, but immediately after I removed the reward, they went back to their original study level. Then I had to tell them that they are learning for their own good and not because of reward. I can decide to appraise you once in a while, but that shouldn't be the basis for taking your academics seriously. I talked to them about the need to avoid depending on an external reward to feel motivated, even though motivation is needed once in a while.

Screenshot_20240612-223434.jpg

Having said that, there are categories of students in each class. Those that pick up lessons at ease, those that need a little push to understand lessons, those that need repetitive learning before they can pick them up, etc. Now, introducing Cash Reward for Academic Brilliance will not only keep the schoolchildren on their toes because they all would crave to benefit from such a financial reward, but it will also serve as a financial relief to their parents. Imagine how the parents of such students who benefited financially will be excited, but my major concern is the possible effect it might have on the students in the long run. You know, anything worth money should be treated as a sensitive case, and that's why I would prefer converting such a financial reward to scholarships or tangible academic materials or tools that will be highly beneficial to those top students.

This is my response to the #hivelearners community contest on the topic titled Cash Rewards for Academic Brilliance

Images were taken and edited in canva

Thanks for reading ♥️🧡♥️

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 14 days ago  

You have brilliantly shared your view on this topic ma, and I completely understand your points. The example you cited using your children actually made me see the topic differently. However, I still think it is a great source of motivation for students to do better and it eventually benefits them on the long run. No one can take away the knowledge that one has already acquired.

 13 days ago  

Well, knowledge acquired cannot be taken away but like I said, what about going forward? What about the long run when the reward is not there,? Will they still keep going with the same zeal? Lol
If they will, then it's okay because who doesn't want cash reward..

 13 days ago  

It is hard to tell, because who knows for real?😩

Congratulations @nkemakonam89! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 32000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 33000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - June 15, 2024
 13 days ago  

Thanks for the update buzzy 👍

Keep up the fantastic work @nkemakonam89! Your dedication and hard work will pay off when you reach your target.

 13 days ago  

It's not that cash rewards are not good, they are, but immediately we stop cash rewards students who were working hard because they want to be among the cash rewards prizes will relent because there's no cash reward again and because of that it can affect their academic performance.

 13 days ago  

Exactly my point dear
Thanks for reading through ❤️

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
❤️ @nkemakonam89 suggested sagarkothari88 to upvote your post ❤️

 13 days ago  

You have given an example of your kid and you said not to depend on external rewards but the reality is it won't work. The reward is motivation. Forget about your kid. If it applies to you, me and others. Except for the personality development of students, education doesn't ensure any security to get a good job after graduation. So why take too much hassle for education rather than finding an alternative money-generating source? I am saying it instead of I almost finished my graduation as a topper. I am sure that those people will get a job early who were politically active. So have I done the wrong thing only focusing on studying and staying far from dirty politics? Most of the students have the same thoughts like.

 13 days ago  

Hehehe, this argument is getting so heated up... everyone with their respective viewpoint but all the ideas are all good provided it's functional

 13 days ago  

Reward is good to encourage students to do better and those who are lacking behind to improve, just like the case of your children, I've seen same with my students and can attest to your take.

It's for their own good but for their age and other constraints, scholarship and co are indeed a better option.

 13 days ago  

Exactly..if it's for university students, cash is okay
Thanks for visiting grandpa

Yeah, I agree with you ma'am, on the converting the money into anything tangible. It could be books, buckets, anything that the students can use for a long period of time. Using money as an award is not completely good, it has a bad spirit

 13 days ago  

The bad spirit is what I am afraid of my dear

@nkemakonam89, @funshee Sent You 1 Share for the DrawMatic Lifetime Prize Draws!

Your new share balance will be effective in the upcoming prize pool draws from now on, forever and ever...
DrawMatic shares last a lifetime!
The more shares you own, the higher your chance of winning in each and every upcoming draw! 😎
Drawmatic_cmtBanner.jpgJoin DrawMatic on Discord To check shares and other information, or if you want to gift any amount of shares you own to others.

 13 days ago  

Thank you @funshee 😍♥️

My pleasure 🥰

It's good to reward students with cash prizes either as a way of motivation or for performing well in academics or competition, but it shouldn't be regular so they don't feel entitled to it.

 9 days ago  

You got my point sis 🥰

 9 days ago  

You went further by adding some points to my earlier position on this matter. When monetary rewards are frequent, pupils tend to work for them rather than acquire the knowledge that is the basis of going to school. Converting the money into beneficial materials would be great.

#dreemerforlife

 9 days ago  

Exactly my point
Thanks for visiting

 9 days ago  

You are so right and it is what I said in my post too. Giving cash reward as an appraisal for student's academics is good but it should be once in a while and not something done always as it will definitely affect them later. I used myself as an example. I do reward the best student in my class but it's always unexpected. They don't know when I can give reward and so, they are always prepared as they know it can come anytime. When they become too used and relied on the cash, a time will come that they won't study hard when the reward stops coming.
#dreemerforlife

 9 days ago  

Exactly 💯💯
Really u do? As a Corper or back in the days?

 9 days ago  

Both. Then and now. It is something I love to do to appreciate my students once in a while.

Your post is spot on. Incentives is surely a way of encouragement and when used in form of scholarship, students would work hard in order to be able to qualify for it.

#dreemerforlife

 9 days ago  

Yesooo
That's my thoughts on this and I am glad u concur