The Dangers of Addiction: Alcohol and Hard Drugs in Our Society

in Hive Learners4 months ago

One of the things alcohol and hard drugs have in common is addiction. This is one negative impact of these substances that shouldn't be overlooked. It's not bad to take alcoholic drinks. In fact, lots of ceremonies in this part of my world are not complete without alcoholic drinks, but the major problem here is that most people find it difficult to consume them in moderation. Both hard drugs and alcohol get you high and are capable of destroying your body system if consumed in excess. It also has the capability of draining your pocket once you get addicted to it. The negative effects of these substances are just too big to overlook.

IMG_20240611_181038_381.jpg

Most of our young people think that until they start getting high with alcohol, they have arrived in the big boys gang. Some people feel left out, and others see those who don't drink alcohol as outdated people or low-class guys. Some people get totally lost in alcohol due to friends; they want to belong and keep overdrinking themselves to belong to the gang of big boys in town, literally ruining their lives. The last time I checked, excessive intake of alcohol can destroy the liver and kidney, so why should one bring destruction to himself all in the name of trying to impress friends or because this drink is legalized in your country without thinking of the possible negative effect it may have on your body system?

IMG_20240611_181147_567.jpg

In this part of my world, most people see alcohol as a drink to get out of depression. Some men, when they have issues with their wives at home, will run to the beer parlor to get themselves drunk, thinking they feel alright. Young guys even play beer competitions on this side, drinking to stupors and neglecting its negative effects. Moderation is not even in their dictionary. They are so blind to recognize the negative effects of excessive alcohol intake until their health is attacked. Without going far into the videos that fly around the Internet on the effects of too much alcohol consumption, I have seen men in my community die due to this same alcohol. When you try to remind them of the need to stick with moderation, they will remind you that even Jesus turned water into wine. That's true; even the scripture didn't condemn alcohol but never advocated for excessive intake of it. So if I had the opportunity to ban this drink, I wouldn't, but I will always advocate for moderation for people who take it. You wouldn't want to bring your own destruction in the name of talking alcohol. No one who takes alcoholic drinks in moderation has his health affected.

IMG_20240611_181119_326.jpg

And then the hard drugs—this one is not even legalized in my country, but yet, people still have their way into taking this substance capable of affecting their mentality. I have read stories of people who ran mad due to hard drugs. This one, no matter how much you want to play moderation, you can't escape its negative effect; it's that bad. Only if people can value their lives, they stay away completely from hard drugs and stick with moderation while taking alcoholic drinks, and of course the damaging effects of alcoholic drinks are no different from the damaging effects of hard drugs. However, life is a choice, and I hope that people make the right choices in life.

This post is in response to the #hivelearners community contest on the topic titled, No more alcohol

All images are mine

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 4 months ago  

I remembered when some of my guys started drinking alcohol, they made me feel like I don't know how to roll with the big boys; that I wasn't man enough. But from a younger age, I already knew alcohol wasn't my thing.

It's hot and bitter, makes me lose control of my senses and give me temporary confidence. So, why would I want to like or even get addicted to such thing.

 4 months ago  

The bitter taste is even another thing I don't enjoy with tht drink.. wondering how people enjoy something bitter..not to talk of making one to lose control of himself...
Only few people are disciplined enough with this drink
Thanks for visiting

 4 months ago  

Only few people are disciplined enough with this drink

So few. You are welcome mama

 4 months ago  

All these wines are entering my eyes and it seems you went home with lots of them 😋.

Lack of moderation is the problem, a lot of people find it difficult to control themselves most especially when the drink comes for free. Alcohol has become a trend in society and it's not completely bad except that a lot of people choose to abuse it.

Choosing to advocate for moderation will definitely go a long way in fixing things.

 4 months ago  

Smiles...I didn't go home with any oo 😂, I don't even take alcohol.mits bitter..lol

You got it, people abuse it more when they see free drinks
I wish they are aware of the health implications when taken in excessive

 4 months ago  

I'm personally not a fan of alcohol
Because it's literally not my thing.
But what I can say about the whole thing is that, if not for the way it is being abused in the society, I really don't think it would have been tagged with a negative status in society

 4 months ago  

Yeah, the only problem is the rate of abuse...too bad
Thanks for visiting

 4 months ago  

Exactly
That's the only problem many of this people have
Nigerians get to abuse things too much.
It's a pleasure mama
Thanks for sharing out too

 4 months ago  

Hard drugs and alcohol both are kind of brothers in my eyes. Alcohol is necessary for performing most of laboratory experiment but as a drink I don't think it's a good one. Whoever drinks alcohol I categorize them into a bad person.

 4 months ago  

Whoever drinks alcohol I categorize them into a bad person

Really? That looks harsh
Maybe you narrow it down to alcohol addicts
Lolz 😂

 4 months ago  

Firstly it's restricted in my religion as drinks and in my country it's highly restricted but somehow some people get access to alcohol.

 4 months ago  

I see...

One thing I'll never do is take drugs or drink alcohol just to feel among. That's even a sign that I don't belong in that group. Sadly, there are so many people who are in this shoe. They find themselves high on things that they never would have tried out if they were only true to themselves from the get. It's sad.

 4 months ago  

Yea, many people drink to impress and to belong, too bad! I wish people learn to stick things that will not affect their health

 4 months ago  

I agree with everything that you have stated in your post and this is a clear case of what happens here in our beloved country.
Sadly, the government has not taken this seriously and put out an immediate effect to ban alcoholic drinks.

The last case of alcoholic drinks was when the government shut down a popular bar in the island area of Lagos state and ever since then nothing tangible has been done about it.

 4 months ago  

Wow..I didn't hear about the shot down of a beer parlor but then, alcohol has been wasting lives here
And I hope people embrace moderation
Thanks for visiting sis 💚

All my calculations now is how I will visit you and have at least 5 bottles of this drink🫣

 4 months ago  

Hahaha 😂😂
Be playing 😌

Too much of everything is bad, yes there should be moderation in taking alcohol to save someone from the negative effects.

Popped in from Dreemport, always an awesome #dreemerforlife

 4 months ago  

Indeed my able dreemer
Thanks for reading through ❤️

Lagos and alcohol are like butter and bread, thank goodness it is well-regulated here in the Northern part of the country.

But you see that hard drug is their main problem over here.

I don't do alcohol, I do not like the taste one bit, and I'm not against anyone into it in moderation either.

But sometimes I do wonder why will anyone take stuff that could easily complicate their well-being.

#dreemerforlife

 3 months ago  

So it's regulated in the north? That's interesting to know
I also wonder why people do something that is capable of affecting their well being

So it's regulated in the north?

Yes, very well-regulated.

Only a few shops sell alcoholic drinks around here, and they are not that high in alcohol content.
Even at that, they sell discreetly.

 3 months ago  

Wow..so interesting

You see all these people who engage in excessive drinking or alcohol and intake of hard drugs, they all know the side effects but feign deaf ears to the warning, that's why they will always tell you "one thing must kill a man"

 4 months ago  

Exactly my dear...it's only a pity

 4 months ago  

I have seen men in my community die due to this same alcohol. When you try to remind them of the need to stick with moderation, they will remind you that even Jesus turned water into wine

This part made me to remember a friend in Nysc. He's very learned and till today, he believes that Jesus is a giver of wine and we free to drink as we like😂😂

 4 months ago  

Na them oo 😂🤣😂🤣
LMAO

I don't even know how people enjoy that bitter taste.

Alcohols really affect the system and I also support that there be no more alcohols.

#dreemerforlife

 4 months ago  

I wish we could live and see this drink no more, just someday

 4 months ago  

It's the people that abuse is that is actually the problem. After the warnings and the side effects, people still go ahead to abuse these substances, it is actually very baffling.

By the way, momma, I see the hard work you put in this post. You went to a store to take pictures of alcohol! That's very commendable ma, well done❤️

 3 months ago  

Hahaha
It was a coincidence..
.I went to the mall for another thing and I remembered the post..I was like what an opportunity for original images
Lol

 3 months ago  

Oh😂 it was thoughtful of you anyways😌