"TRADITIONAL BELIEFS"

in Hive Learners2 years ago (edited)

Hellooo hivians..

It's a beautiful day! Hope you are having a great week? Mine has been hectic, multi-tasking from my end but hopefully, I will be alright.

You see this topic on this week's edition, I am not smiling while writing about it, however it's my wish to discuss with you a part of our traditional belief that I feel should be abolished!

Kindly find the question below from Hive learners community.

In each culture, there are beliefs that have been passed down through generations, in this era you probably find it difficult to relate to them. But they are still being practiced.
Tell us about it, and if you feel it should be abolished
.

Screenshot_20220324-111221.png
Image source edited using CANVA

It's so sad how tradition is implemented without proper consideration of the huge negative effect at the long run. It also becomes more sad to see that partiality is involved while making a law that supposed to guide everyone in the community and not only a particular gender.

We have a cultural belief which is : every married women should on no account sleep with another man otherwise,she will run mad! It is programmed in such a way that once a married woman commits adultery, she will run mad in two market days. The only negative mild effect it has on the husband is that he will fall sick immediately if she has eaten the food prepared by the wife within the time the woman committed the act.

I never knew that this type of cultural belief exit in my Community not until one day in some years back, I visited a psychiatric hospital and met one beautiful lady I know from my village. She was mad and she is being attended to in the hospital, I became so worried on how a 2nd year pharmacy student in the University of Nigeria Nsukka, beautiful lady with bright future all of a sudden became mad! I went home and I asked my mom if she is aware of her situation and that was how she narrated her story and this part of our cultural belief. The young lady came from a poor background, she is very intelligent and needed to be in the university, however her parents couldn't afford it, coincidentally she had a suitor and the parents quickly gave her out in marriage against her wish. She never loved the man but the parents didn't care about that, they were only interested in the man training her in school and so she married the man against her wish. The man started sponsoring her education until when she was in second year, she met another man she loved and planned on divorcing the original husband. She was dating the new man in her life and having an affair with him and all of a sudden, she ran mad!

I am not by any means supporting infidelity in marriage but my question is why is the consequences related to women alone whereas the Men are the chief cheater?

Screenshot_20220324-105309.png
Image source

The degree of respect we give men in my Community is already enough . This tradition is still being practiced in this our new era and I feel this particular cultural belief should be abolished otherwise, they should generalize it. Anyone man or woman that commits adultery should face the consequences according to the tradition if not men already has ticket to cheat even Christians that knows the huge consequences of it aside tradition!

I will stop here, thanks for visiting and I hope you agree with my thought on this?

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Yes, I don't support adultery but relating the consequences to women alone is sad and a way of humiliating the female gender. Something has to be done to abolish this belief

 2 years ago  

Exactly my point. Thanks for your support.

 2 years ago  

is it wrong if a woman after marriage is forbidden to sleep with other men? I think this is a natural thing, in my area those who commit adultery will be lashed in a public place

 2 years ago  

Same thing should apply to men not only women.

 2 years ago  

here everyone who does will get the same thing whether male or female

 2 years ago  

That's fair.

 2 years ago  

Really very sad 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

 2 years ago  

Yea it is

 2 years ago  

This belief has also been in my mind ,I really don't know the reason why only women are punished for infidelity, men who commit this should also have consequences that way, there is peace and faithfulness in the marriage.

 2 years ago  

Exactly my dear.. it's rubbish and partiality. My gender aren't given much respect as supposed shaa but it's well.

 2 years ago  

It's well o

 2 years ago  

That's the mistake we make in our society today. If adultery is a very grave offense then it shouldn't be tolerated on both accounts, both the man and the woman has to suffer.
But then I don't even believe in such harsh realities. We're all human beings, we're not perfect, we're prone to make mistakes and it'll be foolish to suffer because of one stupid traditional or diabolical belief,ómo thank God for christianity..

I support the motion. Such should be abolished ✅❤️❤️❤️

 2 years ago  

Jesus has paid the price but then, we have refused to embrace the grace given to us .

Hopefully it will get abolished one day.

Thanks for your comment.

 2 years ago  

Men cheats a lot and yet the society takes it as normal, but when a woman does, it becomes an abomination.

The both should be treated equally. Imagine a young vibrant woman who ran mad because of the ignorance from her parents side.

If they had allowed her to choose the man she wanted to marry, she wouldn't be in this mess.

If I may ask, is there a solution to her madness? At least, they have to do something na

 2 years ago  

Yea, sin is sin and the consequences should be generalized.

For the solution to the madness, it takes God's mercy to reverse it but traditionally, there is nothing that can be done because it's an ancient agreement that can't be broken.

 2 years ago  

Na wa ooo

I have heard about this, and I have to say it is sad indeed. And men like me are the ones championing it because they are not on the receiving end.
I hope this does get abolished very soon because it does not cast a good image on our people.
thank you for sharing this with us.

 2 years ago (edited) 

That's a total mess. I obviously don't support adultery from both gender but this is gender biasing.

But I have a question though, is it that it is an oath taken or a curse because I still find it difficult to believe that someone can actually lose her sanity like that. Well it's a spiritual thing.

 2 years ago  

That's a total mess. I obviously don't support adultery from both gender but this is gender biasing.

But I have a question though, is it that it is an oath taken or a curse because I still find it difficult to believe that someone can actually lose her sanity like that. Well it's a spiritual thing.

 2 years ago  

It's an agreement with the deity and it covers everyone born in the community

 2 years ago  

Wooow... I have only seen stuff like that in Africa Magic, I never knew it was real. Thanks for sharing

 2 years ago  

Hahahaha
🤩🤩🤩, It exists oo, so acheic belief

 2 years ago  

I strongly agree and support stay away from adultery, because adultery has a very bad impact. Thanks for sharing sister.

 2 years ago  

Yea, adultery should be a no no for everyone.

Thanks for dropping by.

 2 years ago  

you're welcome :)

 2 years ago  

Women's are the part of our life 🧬
They should not be l
Punished ❣️
We should take care all of them 😔
Lovely post with well realization.

 2 years ago  

You are right oo
Thanks.