The Joy Of Cooking My Food

in Hive Learnerslast month

Orange and Yellow Digital Marketing Instagram Post_20240516_190657_0000.jpg
Designed on Canva

Many of my family and friends tend to always call me a foodie, and that's because I don't joke with my meals. If I sense a delay from my senior sisters in preparing my meal, I would go to the kitchen myself and sort things out, lol.

Growing up I was fortunate enough to have had elder sisters who always do the cooking, so I barely had the opportunity to learn how to cook, not until I went to the higher institution and lived alone.

Home made foods was what I had become conversant with the most, because when I was at home I barely patronized fast foods and restaurants. But here in school, my schedules were usually very tight, and being a serious student that I was, I usually didn't get the chance to cook regularly.

Because of my tight schedules, I started seeing myself buying foods almost everyday until I even became addicted to it. I became the laziest cook in the world because even to boil water became a burden for me.

I then realized that these fast foods were taking a very high percentage of my income, making me broke even before the middle of the month. I calculated and discovered that if I were to buy the ingredients and make these foods by myself it would save me a fortune.

This was how I became my favourite chef, cooking what I wanted, the way I wanted it to be. You know in some restaurants or fast food shops, they usually cook foods to the standard that most customers had bargained for, and sometimes that might not be what you personally desire.

For instance, I went to a fast food store the other day to get rice and beef, but the meal was very spicy, and they told me that's how most customers wanted it to be. But that wasn't my tastes, as I don't always like too much peppery and spicy stuffs because of the burning sensations they give to me everytime.

For me, homemade meals would always win over fast food in every way, and there's just something special about cooking and eating food that I have prepared myself. Not only do I have complete control over the ingredients and flavors, but the process of cooking is also satisfying to me.

In my opinion, I think homemade foods are way healthier than fast foods because when preparing a homemade food, I can easily avoid excess sugars, salts, and unhealthy fats that are frequently added to most fast foods. Unlike some restaurants that would play with your health by doing "majority carries the vote" with the taste of your meal.

If I had written this article some few years ago, I would have been saying fast foods are my most preferred because of how easy and accessible they appear, but where's the joy in always patronizing fast food when homemade foods improves your experience and excitement.

I am not completely writing off fast foods, no I won't do that because what would I have done without fast foods and restaurants at those times that I had tight schedules. Maybe it's because am looking at the economical and financial aspect alone, but if I had the financial capability to easily patronize fast foods I think I would even sleep in most fast food shops.

food-8029158_1280.webp
Free Pixabay

I am now a good cook thanks to my constant practices at home. The other day I was preparing rice and pepper soup and I added some fresh herbs. The aroma from the herbs was so refreshing and I could still perceive it while writing this post. For me, I appreciate foods better when I prepare them, so homemade foods would be my pick everytime.


I appreciate your time around here❤️:-)

Sort:  
 last month  

Greetings. Precisely that happened to me, I didn't know how to cook by the time I became independent 😅. And really, the food bought made here can also leave one almost clean on payday

 last month  

hehe, life brings out the best in us when we become independent. And yes, fast foods can drain our finances even without us noticing. I really appreciate your lovely time here friend.

 last month  

Yes, difficult situations bring out our true potential. Thanks for commenting!

 last month  

I should have been a billionaire if not for the money I spent on fast food last year 🥲 it was too much

 last month  

You are funny man, but it's true tho, fast foods are fast in draining people's pocket.

 last month  

😂😂😂

 last month  

 last month  

Thanks for your support @melinda010100

Homemade food is the best, but if you are living alone, I think buying outside is much better that cook yourself where you will need anything, from simple spices to the gas, stove, as in everything which requires CASH, CASH, CASH 🤧. That's why some people prefer to buy foods outside. Aside from it is also time consuming too. But if you are capable and have time and have the money, then homemade food it is ☺️✨

 last month  

Smiles, you made very interesting points here dearie, the time period to prepare some homemade foods are usually not funny oo, it takes hours, unlike fast food that gives us fast chop😂. Looking at it from your point of view, I think you are right because they both cost lots of money get. I really appreciate your lovely time here dearest ❤️:-)

Congratulations @normalyf! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 600 comments.
Your next target is to reach 700 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2024