Time Management Is A Challenge

in Hive Learners2 months ago
Hello Friends,

Every student I have interviewed, have had this similar issue of poor time management. Imagine having a whole semester of about 4 months to prepare for an examination, but I won't read and study enough until it's 1 day to the examination day.

ai-generated-8560925_1280.jpg
Free Pixabay

It is when I am in the examination hall that I would be regretting why I didn't study earlier. I would then tell myself that my next paper would be different because I would study earlier. But when the next paper reaches, I would still be regretting in the hall for not taking proper time out to prepare.

This is the story of my life friends, procrastination, and poor time management have made me to lose alot of opportunities and productivities.

I would not really classify myself to be a lazy person, because I know how hard I work, especially offline. My challenge is more of managing my time properly (procrastination).

There's one time I had a presentation to talk on a simple topic. The topic of my discussion was based on Internet of Things (IoT), and I presumed that it was an easy topic for me.

I failed to prepare enough because I taught I had lots of time. Infact, I thought I would master everything in some few days before the presentation, but I delayed till the night before the presentation. I then discovered that my Microsoft PowerPoint was misbehaving, and my work had disappeared.

I felt the real definition of frustration, if only I had kept on going through the presentation work, and given enough time to it, I would have noticed the problem earlier and address in time.

One of the major reasons for my procrastination and poor time management habit is because I always want to take out special time to get tasks done perfectly. I would plan to achieve a job within a particular timeframe, but I would practically see that time passing me by without me achieving my target.

Many might call it laziness, others might call it indiscipline, but I think if I would try to prioritize what is more important at the moment and do it well, I would solve this problem of procrastination to a very large extent.

food-624602_1280.jpg
Free Pixabay

I believe just like me, many other people are having the same issue dealing with procrastination. This doesn't just affect a person's currentofe, but it can equally affect a person's future.

Think about procrastination in respect to schooling or working in an establishment, you would realize that procrastination could bring down a person's career from being at the top to being the least.

Yes it's that serious, because this same habit have affected my mental health. I began to wonder where my problem was actually coming from. I began to check if I could trace it to any spiritual attack against my life, but to no avail.

It's usually as if I am been stressed out from within. But the funny thing about this matter is that I could easily get a task done in few minutes whenever I am 100% ready. But I would always see myself waiting for a presumed "right time," lol.

In as much as it has been a challenge to me, I am still studying and finding new solutions to it everyday. So to as many others out there facing the same challenge of procrastination, I would suggest you just jump right into it little by little.

Always remember that there's not a more perfect time than now, and "now" is the most perfect time you might ever have. It would still be nice to get any possible opinions or advise from my friends here, on how to completely overcome this issue of procrastination.


Thanks for your time here.

Sort:  
 2 months ago  

seems like you need to change your mindset and just get things done first. At least do what needs to be done first and out of the way before doing the less important stuff? I think most people procrastinate to a certain level. Sometimes theres something we don't like to do and we tend to put it off for the gratification of doing a more fun activity which could be watching a movie, playing video games etc but are these more important than doing a report for university. I think no. I guess the first step is to change the mindset. The second step is to have a list and recognize the stuff that need to be done asap. Then if you wanna go to the next level you can actually schedule out your whole day and follow it as best as you can.

 2 months ago  

Woah, you have really given me all I would be needing for many years in one paragraph. It's all in the mind, and as you have rightly said, I would have to change my mindset first, and get the most important stuffs done first. Thanks alot for your amazing time here boss, I really appreciate.

 2 months ago  

haha it's easy to say but hard to do. You have to be really disciplined

 2 months ago  

😂😂 It seems like you have got some experience about these things boss, it's really more difficult to do it than to say it😅

 2 months ago  

No no no haha. This is just life. It's like saying I will get All A's when you are a student but it's not that easy. Action will always be harder than talking xD

 2 months ago  

Words of wisdom from you boss, you are very correct❤️

 2 months ago  

Thank you!

Congratulations @normalyf! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 300 comments.
Your next target is to reach 400 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!