Spread kindness; you shouldn't be the last person.

in Hive Learners19 days ago

Hello, everyone.

Welcome to my blog and another wonderful edition of the Hive Learner's featured post. Lately, it has been a bit difficult to come across kind people, as everyone is only fighting for their own survival and cares less about how others survive. Many individuals in our world today don't mind stepping on others to get what they want, and for this reason, the level of kindness experienced in our world today has reduced drastically. Also, for security reasons, many people hold back and don't want to offer any help or show kindness.

designed in canva.

Kindness is also contagious; a show of kindness can change a person completely. The power of generosity and kindness cannot be overemphasized; they lift a dying spirit and breathe life into it. Sometimes we really do not know how badly an individual needs that little show of kindness. That little show of kindness might be the reason they have hope again, might be the reason they start to see light at the end of the tunnel, so why hold back?

No matter how little you must have achieved, someone helped you get there. Over the years, a few people have been there for me and always came to my rescue. Even when I thought all hope was lost, someone was there to show me kindness, and this has sown a seed of kindness in my heart too. You don't have to wait until you are told to show kindness before you do it; do it out of your own benevolence. If we all come together and show kindness to each other, we will better our community and promote unity amongst members.

In 2018, after staying in my uncle's place with all the maltreatment from his wife and how much I suffered in her hands, words cannot express how much I had to endure all that because I had no phone and no way to reach home. When I was finally able to reach home because of how much I cried, my dad immediately sent me my transport fare to leave there and head back home. I was so happy that day; it was like the children of Israel leaving Egypt. I doubt if the children of Israel even suffered like me in that house.

When I was leaving home, I actually followed a bus that took me directly to Umuahia, but there was no direct bus from Umuahia back to Cross River State, and I was not familiar with the route. But I asked questions and got directions on how to go about the journey. I had no phone to help me keep in touch, so my first stop was in Abakiliki, and after that, I will board another bus that will take me to Cross River State.

I got to Abakiliki and I lost my way. I don't know if the bike guys did it on purpose because I was a new person. I will explain to them that I want to go to a park where I can board a bus going to cross River State, only for them to take me to a motor park that does not go that route. I went to about 3 motor parks, and I kept spending money on bikes to get there. When I finally got to the fourth one, which was the one going my way, but my transport money was short of about 2,000 naira ($1.85), I had no phone to call for help.

I started pleading with the driver that he should at least help me; if we get to the gate of where I live since it's by the roadside, I can get money from anyone there and pay him. The man blatantly refused and told me that if we get to a fuel station, I should step down and plead with them and see if they will hear me out and fill up his tank. I was stranded and frustrated. I was about to cry when a man in the front seat told me to enter the bus and take a comfortable seat. I thought it was a joke, and he cleared my transport fare for me. A total stranger came to my aid, and I could not thank him enough.

Coming back from school in March, I boarded a bus with an old woman, and when we got to where she dropped off, the driver said her bill was 5,000 naira ($4.63), but Mama said all she had was 2,000 naira ($1.85), and that's the amount they always pay. The driver shameless wanted to cause a scene, so I told him to let the woman go and I would pay the balance. Till date, I still feel I owe people that because the man who came through for me did it when all hope was lost, and worst of all, in a land where I knew nobody, with every opportunity I get today, I try to show kindness, no matter how small.

Thanks for reading my post.

Sort:  
 19 days ago  

Congratulations, you received an ecency upvote through the curator @ahmedhayat. Keep spreading love through ecency

 18 days ago  

Thanks for your support.

 19 days ago  

We are not sopposed to be the last actually. We need to keep speeding it around. Not waiting to be asked or to be begged is the right thing to do.
Thanks for sharing

 18 days ago  

Kindness oughts to go round, don't let it stop when it gets to you.

Thanks for stopping by.

 19 days ago  

I like this topic and your write-up, kudos.

 18 days ago  

Thanks for dropping by.

 19 days ago  

The act of kindness is contagious indeed. when you show mercy to others, you will surely be shown mercy. You did well by paying the balance for that mama, only God knows the kind of blessings she unleashed on you.

 18 days ago  

Mama did bless me, hopefully we are able to spread and show kindness when needed.

Thanks for stopping by.

 17 days ago  

Thank you to sir, the pleasure is mine

 19 days ago  

I should step down and plead with them and see if they will hear me out and fill up his tank.

This got me laughing though well I know it's a serious post but then that driver is not a good person, currently, drivers like that still exist on the face of the Earth, they don't help people, no matter the amount of begging they won't change their minds even if your transport is not complete they won't accept it but the good thing is kind people still exist.

Glad that man in the vehicle came to your aid if not you and that driver for fight for Park 😁

 18 days ago  

My dear the driver meant business that day, my eyes were red 😂😂. Thanks for stopping by.

 19 days ago  

You are right Dr.
one is not supposed to wait until they are asked before showing kindness but unfortunately almost everyone enjoys people begging before they help.

 18 days ago  

We all ought to make kindness a habit and once in a while.

 18 days ago  

You are right💯