Traveling all by myself

in Hive Learners2 years ago

Good day everyone, hope we are all doing great. Glad to participate in this week's topic on traveling.

pexels-photo-9137794.jpegsource

Traveling as we all know involves going from one place to another, especially over a lengthy distance. Traveling for me has always come with fears. It can never be a hobby or something I enjoy doing. Though it's unavoidable due to where I found myself and also my Loved ones.

Traveling on commercial vehicles would have been the best for me especially for friendship and companionship but it turns out not being favourable to me and my health. While traveling on commercial vehicles, I feel restless, filled with fears to the extent of helping the driver to match brake. My eyes are Always focused on the dashboard, monitoring the speedometer. Holding tight to the chair and sometimes closing my eyes out of fear. To worsen it, after each journey, I get down with fever, blood pressure high, constant headache. All because of anxiety. Most commercial vehicles go on high speed and I can't withstand it. My most recent experience was last year when I travelled from Abuja to Jos (Nigeria). Just a three hours journey. The driver was so rough on a bad road. Driving 110 and above, playing a noisy music and refused to listen to anyone.
So in order for me to enjoy peace of mind and live healthy, I prefer traveling alone, as this will help me remain focus and stable. While traveling alone, all I need to do is leave early in order to cover some distance before other vehicles. As a result, I will be able to drive within the range of my choice. The journey will end up being smooth and stress free for me. I assume being a better driver than most commercial drivers. I trust myself the more.

Another reason why I prefer traveling alone is to have my comfort. Drivers are always in a haste and at times wouldn't want to stop even when you are pressed. I had an experience with ABC vehicle in Calabar (Nigeria). Years ago, boarded one, felt so pressed on the way. To my greatest surprised, the driver insisted to stop only at the park. You can imagine the feelings. Traveling alone enables me to be in full control. Stopping when I wish to and comfortably easing myself if I had to.

In summary, most people love traveling, some believe it's their hobby but my case is different here. My phobia for traveling is on the high side, as a result, I prefer to travel alone in my private vehicle so as to have peace, reduce fear on the way and at the end remain healthy, even after the journey.

THANKS FOR READING
Sort:  

Yeah... traveling alone puts you in charge and you get to decide how your trip will go. But with public transport that is not the case.
Thank you for sharing this with us.

 2 years ago  

You are welcome

 2 years ago  

It is a reason that i did not think about too...Shouting on driver to drive slowly or the noise in most vehicles...Travelling alone eliminates this which is also amazing

 2 years ago  

Sure. Thanks for reading

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment
 2 years ago  

Really, thought I was The only one

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment