A Cultural Festival//Week02 Edition01

in Hive Learners2 years ago

Hello Hivians
How are you all doing?

One thing I like about cultural festival is that each country has something to say about it. There's no country that doesn't celebrate a festival in their land and the fun part of it, is that many people get to attend it.

I believe festivals is a means to bring people together in order for them to remember their culture and the land they came from.

Nigeria is a country filled with different tribes and each tribes have one particular thing they celebrate that makes them unique and different from every other cultures. Some of the tribes in Nigeria include the Igbos, Yorubas and so many more. I'm from the Igbo speaking tribe and I love my culture so much

We celebrate different kinds of festival such as the New Yam festival and Ine festival. The New Yam festival is well known by the Igbos but the one that is more unique and cherished is the INE festival.

Screenshot_20220321-002902.png screenshot from my Facebook page

I have never attended Ine festival before even when I had the opportunity to do so, I just couldn't because of the kinds of rituals that is being performed during the festival. Since I haven't been to the festival, I won't be able to give a detailed information about it but the little I know, I will explain to everyone here.

Ine festival is usually celebrated every September, it is used to mark the success of the Isele-Uku people. The Isele-Uku people are known for their great effort towards farming and trading. After new year festival, the INE festival is then used to mark the success of everyone in the community.

During this period, all the chiefs will be available and on the day of the festival, the chiefs will have to assemble at the palace where the King will mark their body with white chalk. The chiefs and their wives will have to be on white attire and the white signifies purity.

After the king has marked the chiefs with white chalk, they will have to match out of the palace dancing to the traditional music which will be lead by the king. At the festival, you get to see the king dancing in his funny moves, many people do attend the festival and at that time, people get to show how happy they're.

One funny thing about this festival is that when the king is purifying the community with the white chalk by blowing it into the air, at this period, if the chalk touches any lady, she will automatically become his wife 🤣, funny right? That is the main reason I refused attending the festival. But I was told that they no longer practice such, though the INE festival is still much celebrated but the aspect of becoming the king's wife when the chalk touches you is not being practiced again.

I hope you enjoyed my little story about my cultural festival?

Thanks for reading

Sort:  
 2 years ago  
 if the chalk touches any lady, she will automatically become his wife 🤣, funny right? That is the main reason

Mad oo🤣🤣🤣

This is unacceptable but thank God they no longer practice such.

I enjoyed reading your article dear

 2 years ago  

😝😝
Thanks for stopping by

 2 years ago  

You are welcome dear.

 2 years ago  

Really an exceptional cultural celebration 🥳
Learning a lot from your post about this awesome program 😍
Thanks for sharing with us dear 🤗

 2 years ago  

Thanks for stopping by

 2 years ago  

That is the main reason I refused attending the festival

When I was reading through I thought as much that this reason you don't going hahaha 🤣 funny though. That's a nice festival thanks for sharing

 2 years ago  

Thanks for stopping by

Hello, we have chosen this post to be curated by MCGI Cares(Hive) community. We are inviting you to join our community that study the words of God.

BES-MCGI-Cares-Banner-Web-ver01-1024x827-1.jpg

 2 years ago  

Thank you so much

 2 years ago  

Hehe wow, what if the chalk touches a young man?.. would the king still have to marry him ??
😂😂😂😂
That'll be really funny.

Glad I got to learn about the Ine festival today thanks to you my dear . Great post!!

 2 years ago  

Hehe wow, what if the chalk touches a young man?.. would the king still have to marry him ??

🤣🤣 Nothing will happen

 2 years ago  

wow what a joyous festival, where kings and tribal chiefs dance together. Hahahaha

 2 years ago  

Yeah
Thank you

 2 years ago  

I had no idea about the cultural or traditional cultural events of your country. Today I enjoyed reading your post so much that I sincerely thank you.

 2 years ago  

Thanks for stopping by, glad you enjoyed it

 2 years ago  

Most welcome

 2 years ago  

Wow, some ladies will be glad for the chalk to touch them while some Will have to hide themselves from this

 2 years ago  

I guess so
Thanks for passing by

 2 years ago  

What a truly unique cultural festival that you share. If the white chalk touches a woman who already has a wife, do you still have to marry her? knowing so many cultures is a great pride for me.

 2 years ago  

If you're married, you don't have to go close to the king so that when he's about blowing the chalk to the air it won't touch you. 😂

 2 years ago  

Thanks for your nice contribution

 2 years ago  

Omo😁😁 So na so I go just turn Lolo if the chalk touch me....

Thank God it is no longer practiced

 2 years ago  

Free Lolo, don't you like it?

 2 years ago  

It is very similar to the benin culture even the outfit, I almost thought it was an Edo chief. In Benin if you visit the palace and catches the oba’s attention, you would have no choice but to marry him.

It's crazy

 2 years ago  

Lol
Yeah is similar to Edo's culture but it's not.

It's a very funny culture, thank God they don't practice so many things now.

Thanks for Stopping by

 2 years ago  

Yeah sure I enjoyed reading
But you've not really told us the real reason you refuse to attend the festival oo
is it the rituals or the chalk
(YOU DEY FEAR TO BECOME LORLOR😂😂?)
Your explanation was good to an extent despite the fact that you've not attended

Your posts are always catchy and nice... Thanks for coming our way

 2 years ago  

is it the rituals or the chalk

All join 😂
I don't want to be Lorlor

Thanks for stopping by

 2 years ago  

You're welcome to😁😇😇

I wouldn't miss this festival, is so interesting. Maybe I could dress like a chief and blow the white chalk, maybe I could see my future wife. 😊

 2 years ago  

It's only the king that gets to blow the white chalk. 😃

Lol, so you're looking for a wife?

Lol not really, but at least it will be easier that way than spending much money on bride price 😏😁

 2 years ago  

🤣🤣🤣
What if after getting married to her and you don't like her afterwards?😜

So far as she is from ya side, I know I will like her lol 😜🤣😂

 2 years ago  

Lol
Okay

Lol, yeah.... All I need is location

 2 years ago  

One funny thing about this festival is that when the king is purifying the community with the white chalk by blowing it into the air, at this period, if the chalk touches any lady, she will automatically become his wife 🤣, funny right?

Very hilarious 😆😆
I wonder what it would have been like then.
Thanks for sharing!

 2 years ago  

Thanks for stopping by

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment
 2 years ago  

Hahahah I can't really say much about it because I don't know what happens after that, though they no longer practice such, it was back then that all this things do happen

I hope you do understand

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment
 2 years ago  

😝😝

 2 years ago  

Thanks for stopping by dear

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment
 2 years ago  

It's from Isele-Uku