Traditional Beliefs

in Hive Learners2 years ago

Hello everyone
How are you all doing?
How is the weekend going?

I didn't know I will be able to write this post. I was already giving up because most people I call to ask for my traditional Beliefs seems not to have any idea. I couldn't reach my mom because she was busy. Thank God I was finally able to get to someone who knows my hometown very well and also their beliefs.

Though, I was told that my hometown has lots of traditional Beliefs that is passed on from generation to generation, but only one got me surprised. Though most traditions practice this but the repercussions is just unbelievable.

pexels-photo-883441.jpegImage Source

I have always known the people in my hometown to be very caring and loving, but I never knew they still practice some kind of things. It is believed that when a woman is married to a man, she is expected to be loyal and faithful to her husband.

This should also be applicable to the husband. The wife shouldn't be the only one who have to be faithful. My tradition finds it okay for a man to cheat, they believe a man can cheat or marry as many wives if he wants, he can even have concubines outside his marriage and no one will question him, nothing will even happen to him. But when a woman cheats it becomes an abomination.

If a woman goes outside to have an affair with another man, and if the man gives her money, once she takes the money home and she uses it to cook for her family, it will affect her husband. I know you will be confused. In some traditions, when a woman cheats, she will either run mad or she dies.

My tradition is the direct opposite of other people's tradition. Here, the man is affected even if he doesn't know that his wife is cheating on him. Once the wife uses the money to cook food or buy anything for the family, the husband's business will begin to fall and if he's working in a firm, he will get terminated from his job.

pexels-photo-3772618.jpegImage Source

The man will gradually begine to crumble and if the women doesn't stop, he will die. It doesn't only affect the husband, it also affect the children if they have any. For the kids, they will begin to die one after the other, except the woman confesses. Though, when the man cheats, nothing will happen to anyone.

This is a very awkward belief and I feel it should be abolished. Why will a woman's sins affect the husband and children, she's supposed to pay for her sins and not the other way round. The children nor the husband should not be punished for something they know nothing about.

Though when I first heard the story I was shocked, I had to ask again to be very sure I understood what I heard and indeed it was crystal clear. It baffles me why this traditions are still in existence even in this modern time.

Thanks for passing by

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

I agree with you that everyone should bear their sins not the woman being punished for the husbands sin even though men are the head but it not a license to cheat lol oh you should try to always visit your hometown if you want to know more about the traditions and beliefs.

Thanks for sharing 🤝

 2 years ago  

Thanks for your contribution, I really appreciate
I do visit once in awhile, just that I don't stay long when I visit

 2 years ago  

Well writing 👌
The story was very sad. 😢

 2 years ago  

Thanks for your contribution

 2 years ago  

I really do not know why this kind of traditions should still be in existence. All the same, If the people love it so much to practice, then equal treatment should be given to both parties. No more deserve to be treated unfairly.

 2 years ago  

I really appreciate your efforts to get information about this trust.👍👏

 2 years ago  

Thank you

 2 years ago  

The idea of suffering for another person's sin is wrong, everyone should face the consequences of their own sins.

Thanks for sharing.

 2 years ago  

That's the point
Anyways thanks for your contribution

Hello, we have chosen this post to be curated by MCGI Cares(Hive) community. We are inviting you to join our community that study the words of God.

BES-MCGI-Cares-Banner-Web-ver01-1024x827-1.jpg

 2 years ago  

Thank you so much

 2 years ago  

The first part of...its okay when a man cheats is bad as well as the woman. And now @otuyanancy for the one that it is the husband and the children that bears the brunt of the unkmown misdeeds of the woman. Thats verily worrisome o...honesTly.

 2 years ago  

It is, one has to be very careful