Masa//A Perfect Breakfast For The Day

in Hive Learnerslast year
Masa//A Perfect Breakfast For The Day
Hello friends of Hive, good day and welcome to another edition of the hive learners weekly contest, this is the last edition for week 62 which warrants us to share beautiful images of anything, either ourselves or any object as long as it stands to be original.

IMG_20230519_084401_553~2.jpg

I had no doubt about what pictures I will flaunt us with since I was on my way to go and have my breakfast when I saw the notification for edition three task. While I clean my hands to have my breakfast, I also cleaned my camera to feed your eyes very well with one of the most popular variety of food in the north central part of Nigeria. The picture above is a picture of "Masa" a dough made from either rice or maize flour or sometimes both. Sometimes masa is prepared in such a way it can be consume with soup and sometimes it is prepared with sugar so that you will not need to add soup to it before consumption.

Though, I stay in the middle belt region of Nigeria, I am not Hausa by tribe because that's the most dialect found around this region. The Hausa people are fond of eating masa very well which gave me a easy access to the food whenever I want to get it. I have develop a strong passion for masa and don't get tired of eating it specially when it is prepared very well.
Preferably, I love the one that goes with the soup maybe because I have been eating it like that for a while but I've tasted the both and the one that is mixed with soup stands out to be the best for me.

IMG_20230519_084311_221~2.jpg

The soup is made up of beans and vegetables, some people will only do it with vegetables but most people do it with the beans soup. The one I had for breakfast is with beans soup as you can see above. I added some dry pepper because I couldn't taste enough pepper in the soup, the meal was delicious and without fault.
I took a bravery step to take some shots of the Masa while it was on fire, I wanted to show you all what "The Local Masa Pan" looks like.

IMG_20230519_084426_398~2.jpg

If you look at the pan, it's actually different from other types of cooking pots, the pan has tiny little spots which the maize and rice recipe is poured into for frying, it is after the frying before you have the doughnuts. It wasn't easy to take those pictures but thank God I was able to convince the person selling it so I could bring pictures for my friends on Hive and tell them about her delicious masa. I don't really know all the procedures for making the masa but I know that both cooked rice and uncooked rice are used in the process.

The rice will then be grinded very well in the engine and for those that do add corn flower will also do same. A little yeast is added and allow to rise for six or more hours so that when it is on fire it will be able to swell up a bit. I could also take a short of the grinded recipe that was waiting to enter the pan for transformation, below is the grinded rice which is used for the masa.

IMG_20230519_084416_715~2.jpg

Rice is carbohydrates and the beans used in making the soup contains protein, vegetables, fats and oil. It is actually a good and rich meal not to joke with, It was indeed a great experience. Hope you had fun reading through..

All Images Are Original and Belongs To Me, Unless Stated Otherwise

Sort:  

This looks yummy. Thank God it’s Saturday, you just made me want to find masa this morning! I have not eaten masa with soup made with beans though. It’s usually groundnuts and vegetables.

 11 months ago  

oh yeah... I think grandnut soup also go well.. hope you enjoyed your meal heheh

I didn’t find masa that day o. It was already late by the time I saw your post. Why do they only make it in the morning sef

 11 months ago  

lols... Most of them make it in the morning maybe it's only meant for breakfast right..?😆😆
But I've seen places where they do make it in the evenings too..☺️

 last year  

Yummy!!! It's been long I had that. Masa is a very good meal, my love for it is so huge. I love both the one with soup and the one with sugar.

 11 months ago  

Lolss... Boss, it's going to be difficult to find someone from this our side that doesn't like masa oo.. I can eat the one with sugar also but I prefer the one with soup☺️☺️

 11 months ago  

LoL that's true . It's only bosses that eat the one with soup na.. for children like us, anyone wey we get, is a goal 🤣🤣

 last year  

I enjoy eating massa. I learned eating it when I migrated to North.

 11 months ago  

oh... I guess it's because the north people are best in doing it right...

 11 months ago  

You are right. I think it's indigenous to them.

 11 months ago  

Exactly.

👍Food looks great my friend enjoy have an amazing day😉
@ovey10 😎

Made in Canva
!ALIVE

- @benthomaswwd - Moderator


This post has been curated by the Alive And Thriving Team, we curate good content in the We Are Alive Tribe that is on topic for #aliveandthriving, and it's included in our daily curation report on @aliveandthriving, plus @youarealive is following our Curation Trail.

 11 months ago  

thank you so much wearealive team..🙌❤️

I appreciate you sharing this! I know masa, but this is something a little different from what I know! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙



Made in Canva

- @tydynrain - Comment Moderator

@ovey10! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @aliveandthriving. (11/40)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

 last year (edited) 

I often see my neighbour, a hausa woman, prepare loads of them and out them inside a plastic container to sell. I often wondered what in the world they were. Although, she used a smaller pan than you one in your picture but they are the same amd since you said it's good, then I believe it is. Maybe I might try it one of these days as you've successfully made me to start craving it. 😋 😀

 11 months ago  

haha.. my dear, you can try it out, I assure you a good meal specially if the person knows how to prepare it very well...

 11 months ago  

Yes boss, I will sure try it out soon.

So sorry I'm replying is this late.

Happy Sunday boss.

 11 months ago  

Next time I prepare some in the house I will show you just how I make mine.
Growing up in the north taught me how to eat their meals.

 11 months ago  

Wow... I'll really love to see it dear...
You grew up in the north..?
What part of the north..

So interesting! There's a dough mix in Central and South America called 'masa', too, that is used to make all sorts of things! I'd never heard the word used for another, similar, food! Thanks for sharing the process! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙

 11 months ago  

lol... Maybe that's masa for the Central and South America and the one I posted is basically masa for the Northern Nigerians, maybe we can regard them as international types of masa..lol😃😃

Indeed! It's cool to learn that there are other types of masa than I that with which I was familiar! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙