Traditional Beliefs that has been a chaos in the History of Nasarawa state Nigeria

in Hive Learners2 years ago

Traditional Beliefs that has been a chaos in the History of Nasarawa state Nigeria

Snapchat-1141435704_1.png

Good day friends and welcome to my entry for Hive learners week 2 and edition 3. We where asked to write on the subject below

In each culture, there are beliefs that have been passed down through generations, in this era you probably find it difficult to relate to them. But they are still being practiced.
Tell us about it, and if you feel it should be abolished.

I am a native of the Eggon's from Nasarawa state Nigeria, and there has been alot that went viral in the state about my tradition some few years back. I grew up not knowing any of these traditions I know now, it has been there actually but when some of the effects of these traditional believes began to show forth was when it became known to me very well and in the whole state.

The Eggon people are known to have this strong gods tribally called "IJILI". And the they referred him has one who protects them.
One thing about this belief is that you have to go and affirm it so it can work in your life and that is the most part I love about this belief. Thou you can be Eggon by tribe, but this belief only works for you when you go and give yourself into it. Among the Eggon's, those who agree to go and perform some rights to "IJILI" are referred to as the "UMBO-TSE" which simply means The time is now in English.
Now, you will be imagining why would these people call themselves "The time is now", so far so good I've noticed that they're the ones that involve themselves in whatever that has to do with War in our culture. They use to have a head who currently is no where to be found.

images (4).jpeg

Source
The UMBO-TSE feel the time is now to fight, because record has it that the government are against the tradition of IJILI. I can't really tell what result to that exactly but it was recorded that the Eggon's uses that power to fight and kill allot of people. The last government tried to stop this belief and practice by the Eggon people which now lead to the formation of the UMBO-TSE people "the time is now", the time is now to fight war.
The government sent the police to arrest the leader of the UMBO-TSE people who is called " BABA ALAKYO" and you won't believe what happened.

Ombatse.jpg

source

This man called BABA ALAKYO and the UMBASTE PEOPLE killed all of this Police officers making wives and children of these police officers widows and orphans. My friend's father is among these police officers that where killed by the leader of the UMBO-TSE, as am writing this presently the relationship between I and the family fade away like dust blown off by the wind.

images (3).jpeg

Source
It's really painful thou, but I had no idea of what happened I my own self wasn't comfortable as of that time because whatever thing that has to do with someone using diabolic powers am off it. Presently my friend and His family left Nasarawa state to their own state Adamawa state, the connection between me and him has totally gone off as a result of a fight I know nothing about.
These traditional believes actually started by our forefathers but that doesn't mean it is worth emulating, it causes problems both physically, spiritually and mentally.

I am thankful to God for the kind of Family I grew up in, my mother was a good Christian who was very intentional about things of God, she brought us up in accordance to the rights and beliefs of the Christiandom.

o1AJ9qDyyJNSg3izbZJuAx9SfuAeMXu2WDFgoidzVzxy7sYRk.png

Unfortunately I had a friend who's father was part of the UMBA-TSE and held a big position there, but the happy side of it is that His wife wasn't in support of that act. He gave her the liberty to go to church and she didn't relent by taking along her only son who happens to be my friend. My friend's father is now late coming back from a journey on the purpose of the "IJILI" rights. Unfortunately he died in front of His house. It's really unpleasant and astonishing, nothing happened to them when they went to the place of their interest which is far from home, there wasn't a problem too when they where coming back home, it is in front of His house he came and had accident together with his colleagues and he died instantly with some of them in vehicle. I wouldn't conclude anything here but all I can say is that Some of our traditional believes are not worth emulating in this era and should be abolish. I was brought up a Christian and a happy one for that matter and I am schooling, I've learned alot of things regarding Life.
o1AJ9qDyyJNSg3izbZJuAx9SfuAeMXu2WDFgoidzVzxy7sYRk.png
Thou it has been a tradition and it existed before we where born but people can dwell in darkness for as long as they don't have access to light.
o1AJ9qDyyJNSg3izbZJuAx9SfuAeMXu2WDFgoidzVzxy7sYRk.png
Well, speaking for my own self, I can't key into this beliefs because it is not important as long as I am concerned there's no single light in it.
I want to leave us with a proof of this incident that happened. Click to read
the story of how some Police officers where murdered by the UMBASTE PEOPLE

How should we continue to engage ourselves in something that has no profit at the end. As long as am concerned doing the right thing is what matters, the right thing is not war, the right thing is not using diabolic powers, the right thing is not killing people, the right thing is not using anyone's life for the sake of performing some irrelevant sacrifices for protections that you will still die despite it.

I believe we humans have conscience, and our conscience judges us despite some wouldn't key into the right thing there conscience tells them to do but our conscience are alive, some have dead conscience actually that's why they look at evil as a norm. Well am thankful to God mine is alive and forever I will strive doing the right thing. It isn't easy but we will keep trying..
o1AJ9qDyyJNSg3izbZJuAx9SfuAeMXu2WDFgoidzVzxy7sYRk.png

Thank you for reading through my Post

o1AJ9qDyyJNSg3izbZJuAx9SfuAeMXu2WDFgoidzVzxy7sYRk.png

Snapchat-1141435704_1.png

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

First time I hear IJILI and today I know something about IJILI . Thanks for good writing dear.

Keep it up