CELEBRATING CHRISTMAS ON A BUDGET

in Hive Learners5 months ago

December is a month full of festivities, joy, and celebration, and often becomes a period of increased spending. It's not uncommon for people to overspend during the festive season without considering what will happen in the following month. It's okay to spend but one should spend wisely hence it might lead to financial difficulty after the Christmas celebration.

I don't have much expenses during this period, my parents and elder siblings do the bidding that comes with the cost of preparing meals, decorating, and so on. Over the years we usually purchase birds to rear before Christmas to reduce cost and have enough meat to eat and be merry, but this year it wasn't possible due to the nature of our job. We plan on buying birds a week before Christmas to avoid overspending. If we have to wait till Christmas the price will be like two times the initial cost.

Source

In many families, some traditions still hold despite having little, resources. From personal experience, in my family, there are instances where traditions are adhered to, regardless of financial issues. I have brought it upon myself to have open discussions and explore suggestions on how to cut down on these expenses, ensuring that the joy of the celebration doesn't result in debt or brokenness in the coming year. We don't have to continue festive traditions that leave us broke, overwhelmed, and tired. Maybe it can be held once in two or three years.

Buying clothes nowadays is quite expensive, especially during this celebration period. To purchase a ball gown for a baby now is up to 30k(30 $). To cut down expenses I plan on buying material from the market and making both my clothes and my niece's clothes. I have already started purchasing the materials for some time now seeing that the cost of sewing materials is increasing each day. I went to the market recently and I was shocked because the increase is very visible.

For Christmas, I have decided to cut the cost of transportation. I have budgeted some amount of money for my spending. I plan on taking my nephews out instead of going to a very far place where the transportation could cost more, I would rather take them out to a very nice place closer to my place with less transportation and less spending, a fun place to be, and having both children and adults category.

I haven't visited my uncle's place for a long time now because of billing from my small cousins. My uncles built their houses closer to each other so I get to see all my cousins and there's no way a large amount of money won't leave my pocket. I plan on visiting them after Christmas and for that I have set aside money for the youngest of them all and assuring the older ones that I will see to their needs in my subsequent visit. During my previous visit, I found myself playing the role of a generous aunt, particularly when their mom consistently encouraged them to request, leaving me with no alternative but to offer what little I had. It's all about spending wisely this Christmas.

Thank you all for visiting my blog, I appreciate

Sort:  
 5 months ago  

You made a great decision, Transportation cost is on the High side now, and Reducing the cost is certainly the best way to ensure it.
I wish I won't have to travel home this December to save cost, but it's pretty important I travel home, I haven't done that since last 2 years.

 4 months ago  

Thank you so much for stopping by, how was your journey home?

Congratulations @pjwelry! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - December 15, 2023