DEALING WITH UNFAIRNESS

in Hive Learners3 months ago

The word "unfair" is no longer unfamiliar to people because we have grown accustomed to living in an unjust world. When it comes to not being treated fairly, I have had many emotional experiences that have left scars on my heart. Growing up, I detested being treated unfairly for no valid reason, I cried so much because I couldn't stand it. I remember a primary school teacher of mine who used to frequently punish me by flogging.

She seemed delighted to see my name on the list of noise-makers so she could punish me, and when my name wasn't there, she would ask the boy in charge to write my name and blame the student for omitting my name because he liked me. The animosity I developed towards that teacher was so intense that when I encountered her on the street after leaving school, I couldn't help but curse at her.

Source

I experienced unfair treatment during a competition at my church. I shared a story about participating in a Bible quiz and recitation during high school before. The competition included various churches from across my state. My church came in second place, which we attributed to the excellent training from our teachers and our hard work. A year later, my church organized an intra-competition to select the best representatives for the upcoming inter-competition among different churches.

I was also a participant in the competition and I trained diligently, just like everyone else, because we had witnessed how intense the previous competitions were. It started from the branch screening, then moved to divisions before reaching the main intra-competition. It was the first-ever competition hosted by my church and winning would be a significant achievement for whoever wins. On the day of the competition, each representative did their recitations of different Bible books from memory.

At the end of the competition, the judges announced the results, and I ended up in second place, which was quite shocking. Everyone was discussing it because the person they selected as the winner seemed less skilled than me and many others; many believed I was the best. It was disheartening, but I remained composed, thinking perhaps there were specific rules or regulations for the recitation that I didn't meet.
It wasn't until we started packing up to leave that the organizers called me and my teachers to discuss something with us.

It was odd at first, when we met, they were talking randomly and then suddenly asked me to represent the church in the upcoming inter-competition. I was at a loss for words, so my teacher just agreed and pulled me away. I have never been so angry before in my life. I wasn't even chosen as the best by them, so what gave them the right to ask me to represent them?

I vowed that I wouldn't participate in any competitions in my church anymore. I hate injustice and unfairness. They should have just let me keep my second position in peace so I could continue doing what I love, but no, they ruined everything by making it clear that they were impartial with their results. I didn't cry when all this happened because a young, intelligent girl from my branch was among the winners, so she was going to excel in her category at the final big competition.

Thank you for visiting my blog

Sort:  
 3 months ago  

I understand that feeling of managing your small win, then a news popped out from nowhere to spoil the whole fun you'd groomed in your heart.

Church and injustice? That's where it happens most...just the way it happens in the political sector 😅

 3 months ago  

😄😄 I was pissed ehh but we move. You have said it all, fear politics played in church.

 3 months ago  

Yeaaah😅
!BBH

@pjwelry! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @kingsleyy. (8/20)

 3 months ago  

Some people knew what was right they just wanted to treat others unfairly because they knew nothing would change.
They knew how good you are so I guess they did that to keep you close without realizing that you understand what they just did to you.
Am glad you didn't listen to them if not they would just be using you and still treat you unfairly.

 3 months ago  

Yes, they know I don't have any power to counter them. If had succumb succumb to them they would have continue treating me unfairly which I detest so it's not my head they will use. Thank you for your support ♥️