Alone Walker

in Hive Learners2 years ago

4BA39E3B-455C-495C-80D6-86C456CF3C9B.jpeg
Photo by Leio McLaren

One thing I’ve noticed while walking is that I enjoy walking alone, especially when I have my earpiece with me and listening to some really good songs. Sometimes, when I see someone I know up ahead, I try to slow down or take a different route, not because I don’t like the person or anything like that, I just avoid people because I know the moment they see me, they will take away that perfect alone time I was having with myself during my walk.

But the funny thing is that no matter how much I enjoy walking alone with good music and my thoughts, I don’t think I would want to travel alone in my car. I know it’s kind of contradictory to what I just said up there but thinking about it, I don’t think I would want to be alone. There’s this fun that comes with traveling in a group.

AAF43592-DD09-4E5E-A05C-562328D1DE4E.jpeg
Photo by Annie Theby

The same thing applies to walking with friends but then the only difference is that waking takes few minutes while traveling usually takes hours and I doubt I would want to be alone that long especially when moving from one state to another because the truth is that I’m going to see a lot of interesting things on the way, things that probably would have become much more interesting if I had someone there to talk to about it.

The funny thing about this post is that I’m kind of giving you guys the “I talk to people when traveling” kind of vibe when I travel but the truth is that I don’t. I’m not the type that’s bold enough to start a conversation with total strangers but when they do, I go with the flow. The thing is just that I still enjoy traveling with people (even though I don’t know them and probably wouldn’t say a word to them) because of the conversation they have among themselves in the bus. All I just do is sit and listen, almost like I paid for the bus ticket and got a free show along with it.

Anyways, I don’t have a car for now so maybe when I do get myself a car, my opinion on traveling alone or in group might change, who knows??

Sort:  

this sounds like, anytime you want to travel, you don't want to die alone, so someone has to be with you so you die together incase of an accident.

This is how your post sounds in my ears.

 2 years ago  

What??? 😂😂

How did you come to this conclusion??

Do I look like someone who wants to die alone or with anybody??

that is what I thought as I read it. You have fear for road accident that is while and what phobia do they call it. Dystychiphobia is what they call it. That is what you have.

 2 years ago  

Nope..This has nothing to do with fear..I just don’t enjoy being in a quiet place for too long and that is what traveling alone is.

naso dem dey talk oh! fear fear boy.. how are you.. Shame! 😅🤣

 2 years ago  

Lol.

 2 years ago (edited) 

Dystychiphobia is what they call it.

I used to be this as a kid, especially when traveling by air.

Firstly, I used to be scared of being on motorcycles (okada). In Nigeria, when you're a kid and you have a sibling, or more, and your mother wants to take a bike, there is always going to be one child at the front of the bike man; I was usually that child. And as little as my mind was as a child, I knew that in the event of an accident, I would be the first partaker, as per being in front.

As for travelling by air...
There were so many plane crashes that happened while I was a kid. So the first time I entered a plane, I was internally freaked out throughout the journey.

In my mind, I was like, "This journey is so unnecessary. We could just send our condolences to the family and this place crash will not need to take place at all, "(and there was no sign of anomalies throughout the journey 😂).

My fear of plane accidents crashed the plane that was flying my dream of becoming a pilot. 😂😂😂
Till today, we never see that plane.

Congratulations @prayzz! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 2000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 2500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 2 years ago  

Doing things with people is always sweeter for me.

I do like my alone time and I love it when I get it the moment I need it.

As much as I love to wear earphones every now and then, I not use them in busy environments. In this Nigeria that everybody is angry, I'll need my ears to be on the lookout. 😂😂

And for driving long distances like interstate, no way am I doing it alone. That's like locking me in a dark room.

 2 years ago  

In this Nigeria that everybody is angry, I'll need my ears to be on the lookout.

😂😂 This is true, probably why I always make sure to not plug in both ears.

And for driving long distances like interstate, no way am I doing it alone. That's like locking me in a dark room.

Exactly my point bro, exactly my point.