Experience matters

in Hive Learners14 days ago

The other day, I was watching this football match with my friends and as usual, there were shouts from here and there, people yelling at the players and telling them what to do. Mere looking at these guys (the footballers) , one would think that everything they do is probably a walk in the park until we end up giving it a try ourselves and realising that it's not always as easy as it looks like on television.

photo-1431324155629-1a6deb1dec8d.jpeg
Photo by Abigail Keenan

A good example was my first time playing basketball and how I couldn't even hold the ball properly, not to talk of hooping. After I was eventually taught how to hold the ball properly, I still couldn't score. That humbled me and made me realize that it's not always as simple as it looks on television.

Another experience and probably my most humbling experience yet was the day I tried being a fire breather. For those of you who don't know what that is, it's when you put petrol in your mouth (or whatever it is they put in their mouth) and then you hold a stick of fire and try to blow the petrol into the stock of fire, therefore making a much bigger fire.

One glance at it on TV and it seemed like a walk in the park for me, until I tried it and ended up burning part of my face off. Luckily for me, I was able to conceal the damage after months of applying ointments to the burnt spot on my face. After that experience, that was when I told myself that trying to recreate things I see on television was a no no for me because it might not look like it, but these guys have had months, if not years of experience in that thing and they know how to safely do it in a way where it doesn't end up harming them and it's only because they do it so well, that we all think that we can do it too without practice.

Reminds of my eldest brother trying to drive my dad's car without having any driving lessons and him almost hitting my mom with the car at the process, but that's a conversation for another time. I guess at the end of it all, all I'm saying is that because it looks easy on television, doesn't mean it's easy in real life. Most times, experience has a lot of role to play when it comes to things like this.

Sort:  

Congratulations @prayzz! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners
Feedback from the May Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List
 13 days ago  

Indeed experience matters in most of cases otherwise it can bring danger to us. To be a fire-breather you needed at least the guidance of an experienced person. So that you could do it safely. I think those kinds of tasks which can bring danger should be avoided without proper guidance.

 9 days ago  

I agree with you too.. I was a kid back then and unfortunately I didn't know better.

 13 days ago  

yes that's part of life. we live and we experience ~. so time to go experience more things while we are young TT once we're old its a bit harder

 9 days ago  

True. Lol

 8 days ago  

when u gonna visit malaysia O.O

 13 days ago  

you beautifully illustrated the stark contrast between the perceived ease of tasks seen on television versus the reality of attempting them in real life. It's more of a humbling reminder of the importance of experience and practice in mastering any skill!

 9 days ago  

Thank you for reading.

 13 days ago  

Haha, your brother really took a big risk.. imagine holding a steering without prior knowledge of driving, lmao 🤣
Some men eeh ...u guys like showing una self oo ..be calming down lol

Experience will always remain relevant any day, any time.
I come in peace 🕊️✌️

 9 days ago  

Lol.. He probably thought it was going to be easy because watching people drive, it really looks like they ain't doing much.

 13 days ago  

It is a fact that experience is very important in life and a boy who has more experience also plays games well and if experience is more life is also better.

 9 days ago  

Yeah. Thank you for reading.

 6 days ago  

Most welcome dear.