Kindness

in Hive Learners2 years ago

hiverakd2.png

If you happen to know me in person, then you will know I'm very big on giving and being kind. I've come to realize that there's this inner peace and satisfaction I get when I see the appreciation in the face of those I just helped, there's just something about it that I just can't seem to put words to it.

Along with being kind, I'm also a preacher of kindness. I always believe that one act of kindness to someone might not change the world, it might not end world hunger or terrorism but it could change that person's life.

Yesterday, while I browsing through Twitter, I saw a tweet from a lady. She had narrated how a guy had approached her at the bus stop and pleaded that she paid his transportation fare. The lady had further told us how she literally was broke and had little on her but still went ahead to pay for the guy who was already starting to look embarrassed by the fact that he was asking her for help.

The tweet immediately reminded me of one particular night when a friend of mine had told me he wanted to spend the night at my place and I had to walk over to his place to pick him up because he didn't know the direction to my place. The time was some few minutes past nine when I started going to his place. On my way there, I saw this lady talking to a commercial motorcyclist and just as I walked past them, I heard the lady begging him that the money on her wasn't enough and the man angrily drove off.

I had walked for a little bit before turning back towards the lady. Something deep down in me just wouldn't let me keep on going my way while I knew someone was stranded at that time of the night in a lonely area and I could help. The moment I got to where she stood, I dipped my hand into my pocket and gave her the money I had on me.

"Use it to complete your transportation fare" I said to her before turning back. As I walked away, I heard her thanking me and I just couldn't help but smile, it felt so good to perform a random act of kindness to a total stranger and I vowed to keep on doing it because why not?