Mama Put

in Hive Learners2 years ago

B98F4E45-8A6C-4300-A8B0-D3FE0F6A01B6.jpeg
Unsplash

A friend and I were both listing out things that could literally end anyone’s lives without them knowing and by the time we got to listing about twenty things, we came to the conclusion that trying to be careful and safe wasn’t enough, God is simply the one keeping us alive.

He started talking about a lot of things that we eat that aren’t really healthy and can kill us and yet we eat them everyday not because we want to die, but because we have no idea about the health risk and that made me remember a story I’m about to tell you guys right now.

Some few years ago, I was at this local eatery popularly known as ‘mama put’. The reason why it’s called that, I have no idea but I think it’s because it’s a lower, cheaper and downgraded version of a restaurant. I waited in line while the guy in front of me got served. He had ordered for rice and stew and the lady selling was almost done with his order when something happened. She was putting the stew on top of the rice when she suddenly scooped a huge cockroach from the pot of stew unto the guys food.

The three of us saw the cockroach at the same time and froze but what the lady did next sent rage into the guy who was getting served. She removed the cockroach and continued putting stew on top of the rice as if nothing had happened.

The dude had gotten so upset and had yelled at her, drawing the attention of everyone else to what was happening. One look at the faces of those who were already eating and you could tell they wish they had not come there that day. I quietly made my way out as the whole thing was about getting out of hand.

I remember going home that day and telling my dad the whole story. The man laughed so hard that he almost fell of his chair. My dad has always been against eating outside and though he doesn’t stop us from doing it, he doesn’t do it himself.

“It’s protein” My dad had said and continued laughing.

Sort:  
 2 years ago (edited) 

when she suddenly scooped a huge cockroach from the pot of stew unto the guys food

Gross, she pretended not to have seen the cockroach because she doesn't want to be a loss, she probably thought show much she had to spend in preparing the stew.
If I was the one, I won't collect the food, I may just pay her and leave.

“It’s protein” My dad had said and continued laughing.

🤣your dad must be a very funny man