What Would You Do?

in Hive Learnerslast year

photo-1599508704512-2f19efd1e35f.jpeg
Photo by Simone Secci

Today happens to be the Hangout of the Hive Learners community. During this hangout, members are given a chance to select three topics out of five that they wish to write as a contest for the coming week. All of this coming week's topic had been interesting ones and that is why I've decided to write on one of the topics that didn't make it to the top three.

The topic of the contest is if we would agree to be given a million dollars but there's a catch. Each time you get a million dollars, someone random that you don't know, would die.

Would you agree to it?

Now a question like this is surely a test of our humanity because we all can agree that getting wealthy off of someone else dying, is nothing short of blood money. But a million dollars is a lot of money and there are people who will do this even if it meant killing someone they know, not to talk of a total stranger who could be anywhere in the world.

But then I believe our decision would be greatly influenced mainly by the condition we find ourselves in. If you have a loved one in the hospital who needs a huge amount of money for a transplant and you get presented this offer, there is no doubt that you would take it without even thinking twice about it.

If you also happen to be poor, then there's a huge chance of you saying yes to the offer because one thing you will tell yourself is that people die everyday if not every second, so why don't you just convert one of those deaths to your advantage.

Truth be told, I don't think the question should be if they would take the offer, it should be how many times will they keep on accepting the offer because I know there are people out there who will keep on accepting the offer, killing hundreds of people and not giving a damn.

Will I do it though? That is a question I've been asking myself because the thought of taking someone's life is something I don't see myself doing but then again, a million dollars is a lot of money that can change my life if channeled into the right direction.

It will be a really huge decision to make and for now I see myself in the middle. What would you guys do though, would you agree to a random person that you've never met to die while you get a million dollars in exchange or would you pass on the offer?

Sort:  
 last year  

I wouldn't take the offer, the money is huge but I surely wouldn't have peace while spending because my conscious is very strong and will hunt me.

Another thing to consider is the word "random" person. It could be anyone, what if it happens to be my mom, wife or any of my kid? It would make me sad so I wouldn't want to cause sadness in the family of anyone that needs to die for me to get the money.

 last year  

Another thing to consider is the word "random" person.

The question was actually a random stranger.. Not anyone you know.. But I get your point, it's a no for you.

Congratulations @prayzz! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 11000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 12000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the January PUM Winners
Feedback from the February Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2023 Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!