The loan app dilemma

in Hive Learners25 days ago

If you are a Nigerian you can testify to what I am about to say about loan apps, most of them are frauds they are just using a loan to cover themselves up.

I never took a loan but I had to pay back the money I never applied for.

Meanwhile, here in my country it seems like people can't do without a loan even though they have work and they are getting a salary, more so the salary would have finished even before getting it at the end of the month so I think most people considered getting a loan to patch up their household expenses.

Living in Nigeria alone is hard work and based on the ups and downs happening for some time now I think most people must have thought of getting a loan because things are not the way they should be for most people here in Nigeria.

I am not a fan of loans because paying interest irritates me a lot so I have made up my mind never to have any loan experience, you all know that it is not easy but I tried my best not to lay my fingers on any loan app.

But then a long-time friend of mine messaged me that he needed my help with money, as at that time I just opened my shop and I was still struggling with making sales, aside from that I just joined Hive Blockchain as well so everything wasn't going the way I thought it would be.

So I explained to him that I didn't have it but he kept on saying he saw my shop online and how can I be broke with such a beautiful shop, I told him I didn't have it.

Later he messaged me that he needed the money for his mom's treatment and I was loss of words so I had to check for a different loan app so that I could help him even though he promised to pay it back anyway.

While I was checking online I downloaded some apps to check their payment plan and interest before getting the loan, I never knew some loan apps approved loans just by checking their app. Although I entered some information about myself to see if I was qualified for the loan, what happened later wasn't something I expected.

I got a better loan offer so I took the money there and sent to him, he said "But you told me you don't have so where did you get this one?".

I don't like telling people what is happening in my life but I didn't have a choice to screenshot the app and send it to him so that he could understand that everyone was just trying to balance and there was no money anywhere.

I was able to pay back the loan, but some months later I started getting calls from an app that I got a loan and I didn't pay back, at first I thought it was a scam though it was a scam because I never took a loan from them. I only checked their loan offer and the money was deposited into my account which was unknown to me because the bank details I filled on that wasn't my regular account and I did that because I wasn't really serious about getting the loan initially.

The loan payday was overdue and it was accumulating which I don't have an idea of, so I had to download the app back and then saw the overdue loan, I also went to check my fidelity account and I saw the money there without applying for the loan.

The app customer care started disturbing me to pay back so I transferred the money from the bank account back to them. He still called to ask for the overdue payment and I told him, "You are a scam, I never applied for a loan and my account was credited and now you want me to pay what I didn't take,".

We started arguing on the phone and when I realized he wouldn't listen I blocked his contacts and uninstalled the app. Then I realized that some people are fraud in disguise because how can I be credited without applying for a loan?

Ever since that day I never passed my boundaries to any loan app again, I only checked the apps to help a friend in need and I never knew I would land into trouble just by checking.

Note: all the images are mine.

Sort:  
 25 days ago  

Well, I thought it only happened with me but the application sufferers are everywhere. Good thing that we learned from a bad experience..

 25 days ago  

Yeah we always learn from every experience that we had

 25 days ago  

That's very wrong, some of those apps are fraud while some are genuine. I love how you didn't pay for the overdue charges that's wickedness now, so someone can't check out if something is favorable again. Scammers everywhere!

 25 days ago  

Am telling you, most of them are frauds looking for whom to scam