My Experience From Loan to Loss!!!

in Hive Learners12 days ago


1000236299.jpgImage generated from Bing

During the covid 19 in the year 2020, every student was sent home in February precisely as schools were on lockdown. I travelled home to stay with my aunt in Ibadan and then, I was on the Uptrennd platform where we write and get paid for our efforts. I was at home working hard on this platform day and night as it was an opportunity to be more active since no lectures except for the ones some wicked lecturers would organise on the Telegram app. Two months later, a friend I met on the platform messaged me one particular day and explained a site to me.

The site is a Bitcoin related one where one would invest some amount and earn double from it. The way she explained everything about the site which she was also looking for a referral, poor me, I couldn't say no because I found it to be real when she sent me proof of her earnings. I told her would give her my response later as I was busy. The thought of investing as little as #5000 was not an issue because I had the same amount in my account and decided to give it a trial. She put me through the process and started my journey with the Bitcoin platform.



untitled.gif

I was so excited when I cashed out more than my capital after three weeks from the site and decided to up my game by increasing the capital to earn more. I called the lady since we were already close and knew the site was legit, and told her to loan me some amount that once I withdraw, would pay her back. She gave me a piece of beautiful advice that day but I was so much eager to increase my earnings. She told me never to try borrowing money to invest in such a platform but to use the money I could afford to use. I thought she was just not willing to lend me money and I left it that way.

I have been enjoying the site for over a month but my mind was still on increasing my earnings and started thinking of people to call. I called my sister and explained to her, assuring her that I would pay her back on a certain day but she also warned me to be careful. I ignored the warning because of my greediness and stubborn mind 😑



1000171090.jpgImage belongs to me

After a week and some days, the thought of meeting with @abdul-qudus's brother came to me as I remembered how close we were. We were always chatting and would talk for long on calls. I called him and explained to him of which he immediately sent me #15,000 and I promised to pay back on a date I picked. He sent me the money and I quickly increased my earnings on the site and was so happy that I would withdraw a higher amount.

I could only withdraw my earnings from Mon to Fri while Saturday and Sunday were always their off days, they were operating like a normal business and I also would always check their Telegram channel for people sharing their earnings and getting excited about such a platform.

Seeing different proofs and positive comments from other people made me more excited knowing I was lucky to find such a site and also thankful for the lady who thought of me to share the opportunity with me. I had already calculated my earnings and how my life would change once I returned to school. A lot of imaginations came to my mind on how I would rent a new apartment and start living well 😀


But the unfortunate day came. I had woken up that morning and was doing the chores at home when I decided to check the site for the amount I had earned so that I could initiate a withdrawal and cash out my money so I would be able to pay my loaner his money even before the deadline. Then I saw the site couldn't open. I kept refreshing but nothing was happening, just popping up the 404 error.


untitled.gif

I quickly dropped the broom in my hand and went to check their Telegram channel, I started seeing lots of complaints from people about the site not opening. I waited for hours to see if there would be positive news but at night, some members were already leaving the channel. I became nervous and was restless, there was no appetite due to that. It then dawned on me that the site had closed up, and they'd scammed a lot of people.

I called the lady to inform her of the update and she said that it's likely they have shut down but at least she made a lot of money while praising herself for the amount she had made so far. I was so down and sad hearing such news. I remembered the money I borrowed and the thought of how I would pay back kept coming to my mind. The next day, I got a message that we were to resume the following week. I had to use the money my aunts sent to me to take back to school and pay my loan so that I wouldn't fail him. All my plans failed due to this bad experience.


The experience taught me a great lesson especially when I had to go days in school without eating good food but to manage myself by drinking garri and sometimes, my friend would cook and give some portion to me. I couldn't tell anyone about it but it was a great lesson never to be greedy. The advice I got from the lady and my sister came back and I took both to my left hand never to forget.

Never borrow or take a loan to invest in a platform especially one you aren't sure of. Be careful even after you have made some gains, do not be greedy to invest all of them back or think of increasing to earn more. Platforms like this do not last. Ever since then, I stopped anything "invest this and earn double" and I have been doing fine up till now.

Thanks for your time reading. Looking forward to your interaction.

20240101_131050_0000.png

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 12 days ago  

My sis,
I had this experience too.
I was depressed when it happened to me because mine was about three hundred thousand naira.
Since then, I never invest any amount into such again.

So sorry about that, thank God we all learnt our lessons.

Wow! what a huge amount... sorry about that dear

 12 days ago  

Thanks a lot.

 12 days ago  

Haaa. That huge amount is worth making one depressed when lost into some investment platforms and that moment, we wish time could reverse back so we don't even attempt it. Thank God for lessons learnt and never have to find ourselves in such again.

 12 days ago  

I still used to wish I could turn back the hands of time to undo some decisions I took.
Thank God for lessons learnt 😂😂
They know my reaction to such investment now😂 I could react with a fight.

 11 days ago  

Hahaha. We cannot undo what has been done but we can learn our lessons from them.

I had similar experience two years ago...my brother gave me money to keep for him for a particular project... Not long after, my music director from church introduce me into a platform where you mine and get 3,800 after 24 hrs...he showed me proofs of his results... Registration was 15k. My sis I foolishly borrowed 30k from the money my brother gave me to keep, hoping to replace it back as soon as I get paid... I referred my dad, he opened four accounts 60k😯, I convinced my mum, she opened one account 15k. I referred my friends too... princess, you needed to see my long list in anticipation🤥
When the d day for us to withdraw came, it was a different story...None of us to access the site...My brother insisted I pay back his money...Jobless me...
My sister, I learnt in the hardest way😭
Your story took me back🥲

 12 days ago  

Hahaha. You even had lots of referrals. I am always scared of inviting people to such kind of things because when it backfires, I would face lots of problems which I would regret. It is why I prefer going into it myself and suffering the consequences alone.

I will never make such mistake again...

 12 days ago  

this reminds me of that insme shit and how you wanted to borrow your sister money then. 😂. I can’t forget. Princess you are a legendary inventor ooo. 😂. I don’t even know this happened to you 😂.

 12 days ago  

Hahaha. God saved me on that one. After collecting the money from her, I had sleepless night that made me return the money; I guess it was God working then 😆😆
Yes, I don't think I told Ismaheel about it too 🤣

 12 days ago  

I also learnt the same lesson the hard way too... Honestly, investments should be reserved for the money we really can do away with especially when it has to deal with investing in online goods and not physical good we can always see and take control of.

Well, we learn somethings just the hard way and I hope we don't repeat the same mistakes because that's when we should actually say we've learnt from our experience

 12 days ago  

Yes. Such thing makes us learn our lessons the hard way. It is not good to borrow money for such investment, not a good idea.

 12 days ago  

Hahahh my joy is that you really learned from the experience. I was tempted too to collect loan and invest into one Sharp sharp investment but thank God for the deliverance.

Never use loan for investment

 12 days ago  

Yes. That was a powerful lesson we learn: never to use loan for investment especially one that isn't sure and legit.

https://inleo.io/threads/princessbusayo/re-princessbusayo-2nvzq1b4w
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( princessbusayo ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

 11 days ago  

Wow, that's a huge amount, but you are right, we should never take or borrow a loan to invest in any platform, especially the one we are not sure about because it can lead us into trouble.

 11 days ago  

Exactly. One needs to be careful.

Very sad that this happened to you. These kind of things hurt both in the loss we face and in the loss of confidence we get. Some internet scams took out a lot of money out of me too and it affected my decision making for quite some time. Still in long run the loss can be chalked up as fees for learning lessons the hard way. Here's wishing your journey ahead is much safer, even if slower. Cheers from a #dreemerforlife

 9 days ago  

Yes, these experiences teaches us lessons in the hard way and then we try not to let such happen again. Thank you for your beautiful comment.

Your story reminded me of the time of MMM when most of my friends were enticing me to join, thank God I didn't join oo, when the scheme came crashing they came running to me, and I felt pity for them, it's good to make findings aboUt any platform before investment.

Popped in from Dreemport, always an awesome #dreemerforlife.

I can remember the "SHEGE" from MMM, it wasn't funny at all. Thank you for this wonderful post, I have been able to learn something from it.

#dreemerforlife

It's so sad this happened to you. I don't think I am that strong to venture into something like that.

#dreemerforlife

Once it involves registration with money, my hands are out of it.

I had my own share two years ago. It wasn't funny. Now, I've learned not to listen to all those talks because one day, something might eventually happen.

#dreemerforlife