Newbies Tasks 3; Hive Keys And A Safeguard To Secure Your Hive Account

in Hive Learners3 months ago (edited)
When I signed up on Hive, I was asked to put in a master key before I could even generate my password. It was confusing to me then. I can't count how many times I have been ignorance especially about what the Hive keys were meant for, at a point, I felt they were all used for the same purpose not knowing that each of them had a function.

1000077247.png

Kai! Ignorance they say is a disease, and it's true because having little knowledge about something makes you feel like you have gotten a cure to a particular problem, it makes you feel better. You see this life, you cannot make it or know it all on your own
that is why it is very important to have someone who has been there before you or who knows more than you know.

Talking about that, I can't stop Thanking God for the privilege to be part of the newbie initiative because starting from the on set, it has been an amazing experience from learning to learning. I have learnt a lot about Hive, and this week, I have also learnt something new and very important about Hive with interesting questions to answer. come close let's take a look at the questions and hear what my responses are;

Highlight the steps involved in changing the trustee accounts (recovery accounts) to your hive account.

To change the trustee account, you will have

  • Go to your (peakD) profile
  • besides settings there's a 3 dots
  • click on the dots (different options will pop out)
  • choose keys and permission (another option will pop up again)
  • choose a recovery account and scroll down to the last part.
    ( There you will see a list of whoever is your trustee) there is a change key
  • click on the change key If you want to change your trustee account. Enter your username and input your owners key for you to change your trustee account

However, if you are not using the peakD frontend then you will go through here Change Your Recovery Account and follow the instructions in other for you to change your trustee account.

If you invited someone to the Hive blockchain and had to give them a proper explanation of the function of each key, write out what your explanation will look like for each key.

1000077350.png

When you sign up on Hive Blockchain, you are given 5 important keys which are:

  • Owner key
  • Master key
  • Active key
  • Posting key
  • Memo key

Each key as listed has its own function and they are all very important, that is why it is very crucial to protect this keys like the way you protect your crate of eggs because once you loose access to them, forget about it. Now, let's take a quick look at the function of each key

  • Owners key: this is the most powerful and the most important key in our account, when someone has access to this key, it is more like they have access to your entire account.

Whenever you feel like someone has access to your account, you need your owner key to generate a new set of keys, you can also use it to recover your account and create a new master key if need be

  • Master key: it can be used to recover all your keys, in a situation where you have misplaced your password, if you have access to your master key, you can use it to recover all your keys. And since it can be used to recover your keys, you can as well use it to recover your account

  • Active key: This has to do with anything that involves financial transactions. You want to send money or withdraw money, or even power up, you need this active key.

  • Posting key: This is like the engagement key because it is what you need to log into your account before you can publish a post, before you can comment on someone's post, before you can like or share, you need posting key to do all of this that's why most times when you want to log in, they usually ask you for your posting key because without this key, you cannot perform any kind of engagement.

  • Memo key: This is one of the less used keys. It is used to send and view an encrypted message. You can also use it for transactions if you are sending money from binance to your Hive account.

Peradventure, your account Active Key got exposed to the general public. What are the measures you'll take to safeguard your assets and account going forward?

Hehe! There are many ways to kill a rat...If my accounts get exposed to the public, and since the public are often quick in breaking into account and getting all the funds, the first step I will take is to transfer all my HBD, Hive or any of my earnings to someone I trust, then I will go ahead to change or generate a new set of keys with my owner key or master key.

I will also get in contact with my trustee account to help recover my account, that is why It is better I use someone I know and I can trust, someone close to me as my trustee account. And by doing so, I will reach out to my trustee account who will help me gain access back with my owner key.

Oh no! Let's stop here. This is getting longer than I planned🤦

Thank you for the patient to read to this end

Images design by me on Canva

Sort:  

Explicitly explained.
Weldone !

Thank you 😊

You're welcome.

 3 months ago  

This is Well written and Explained, it shows that you truly understand the Topic, and your post was fun to read, keep up the good work Queen💯👍👍

Awwww! Thank you 😊
I glad you enjoyed reading through

 3 months ago  

Hahaha 😂, it's getting longer than u planned..I see.. you tried explaining better , that's why..last task, you complained of lack of words, lolz
You are improving and doing well honestly
Also, try using screenshots to explain some task where needed..for example the recovery process

Thanks for attending to this task

Thanks to you for always making sure I get it right ma'am. I appreciate you 🙏
I will take note of the screenshot too

This is an excellent delivery! Keep it up!

Thank you 😊

 3 months ago  

You've said it all, safeguarding our hive keys is significant. Amazing write up

Yes, it is
Thank you for stopping by 😊☺️

 3 months ago  

You're welcome

Awesome

Thank you 😊

The importance of safeguarding our hive keys can never be overemphasized, you did a great job teaching a newbie to take very good care of their hive account.

I wish you all the best in this initiative, cheers and take care

Exactly
Thank you 😊

Congratulations @queenkong! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 100 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 250 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the May PUM Winners
Feedback from the June Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - May 2024 Winners List