THE URHOBO TRADITIONAL MARRIAGE RITES

in Hive Learners2 years ago (edited)

A607ED03-48FE-4FE4-AD96-68BDB15E03EB.jpeg

I really couldn’t pass off at the opportunity to share my own culture’s traditional marriage ceremony with you guys, I have patiently waited to see an urhobo culture post, but non so far, so let me take one for the team.

You know during marriage ceremony it is said that ones eyes are always up, if you ask me to give a detailed explanation of what happened during my wedding, both traditional and church wedding, I would not be able to, I only remember the money I was sprayed (Lol) and me dancing and dancing.

I am from the southern part of Nigeria, Delta state, I am urhobo by tribe but now Isoko by marriage.

urhobo wadooo

Before traditional rights are performed, the family of the groom is expected to make a first visit to the girls family to introduce themselves, they do so bearing gifts of drinks and wine and alcohol and kolanuts. There they get acquainted with each other and the father of the bride is presented with a drink, to acknowledge him as the head of the house,
After which a plate of Kola is also presented

It is said that kola does not walk alone so money is used to wedge it so that it doesn’t fall off, according to tradition, what this simply means is that Money is used to support the presentation of the Kolanut,
This money is gotten from everyone that came along with the family of the groom, one by one they support the kolanut with various amounts and denominations of money.

The spokes mans for the grooms family
Which is refer to as otota in urhobo
Presents everything the family of the groom wishes to present and he acts as the middle man between both family, neither the groom Nor anyone in the family is expected to address the group sitted for the introduction.

The brides family equally has their own otota who speaks on behalf of the girls father,passing any message he wishes to tell the grooms family across.

031F7850-CA31-4B62-AB12-F4012CFB9764.jpeg

At the end of this, the girls mother is asked to go and get her, on appearance before the group, the girl is asked if she recognizes anyone in the grooms family and is told that they have brought drinks to her father to seek her hand in marriage, she is asked to identify the person she knows and also state whether or not her father should Accept all the drinks and kolanut they have presented
If this is done successfully, the introduction is a success and the family felicitates with each other.

During the course of the preparation for the traditional marriage proper, the bride price list is passed across to the grooms family as soon as the date for the traditional marriage rites is set. The grooms family is allowed to contact the brides father and family if they have any issues with the items stated on the list.

5F54D052-B4CC-463F-BB0E-9E917BFBC0F2.jpeg

052A5FD2-7A93-4DA5-BDDA-20D634EAE629.jpeg

For my own bride price list there was the following items (I cannot find the paper anymore jare but I remember a few of them)
-walking stick and cap for the brides father
-mother’s sleepless night fee
-siblings fee
-hot drinks and palm wine for the elders
-bag of salt , kegs of palm oil for the village women
-hot drinks and cash fee for the youths of the family
-bride price money
-10 wrappers , a box , bag , shoe, headgear and umbrella for the bride
-excursion fee to grooms family house

That’s about how much I remember sha, it was a back and front A4 paper sheet list

The groom is allowed to make back payments before the date in other to save time on that day.

The otota for the groom and brides family go back and forth reading the list and making sure every thing on the list is accounted for and paid by the grooms family, if the groom already made back payment, better for him,As that number on the list will be passed by quickly and moved to the next number.

in my case my husband made a lot of back payments so as soon as
They get to the number he had already paid for my father confirms with a “
yes he has fulfilled it”* and the otota quickly moves to the next item on the list*

7B5A6EDD-8CCF-4962-A2B1-DFB2A1B28228.jpeg

If all goes well, the bride is called out but first the female youths of the house demands for a cab fare to go and get the bride, the groom eventually satisfies their needs and the bride is brought out with a lot of serenade, the women in the house,old and young sings for her as she is presented to the grooms family.

She is then asked by the otota of her family if she agrees to marry the man which she recognizes in the grooms family, this Question is asked three times before she says a yes or no (anyone she likes, me I said yes)
Her answer is met with a lot of singing of traditional songs and the grooms family begins to shower her with spray of cash.

EAF0258B-03AD-467A-9D1D-23A330A015A2.jpeg

After which both bride and groom kneels before the brides father for blessing. The father of the bride Blesses a glass of wine and gives it to the groom who drinks and then gives his bride to drink and then he is suppose to finish it and shower the bride with spraying of money.

A2496B45-4ED3-4D30-A762-B6CF8BA22D32.jpeg
(@estherscott see yourself)

The rest is dance, dance , dance, eating and party.

I hope you enjoyed my cultures traditional marriage rites
Please note that I gave a rough analysis here, a lot more details goes into these things but I won’t know because I was inside the house busy waiting to be called out
Lol

Thank You for reading this post

CDEEE612-23C5-426B-9F20-10C92DEB2D63.png

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Such a beautiful culture and wedding traditions, it's almost as similar to ours in the Yoruba culture as you've described it.

Isoko wadoo✊

 2 years ago  

Ehhhhhhh🙌🙌🙌🙌

 2 years ago  

Smile ☺️

 2 years ago  

I see me.. looking all bloated .. not knowing i was carrying a full blown pregnancy 😂😂

 2 years ago  

🤣🤣🤣 Asin en
I wonder what you were thinking was making your tummy big

 2 years ago  

Food and peace of mind 😂

 2 years ago  

Heheehheeh

Congratulations @reineesmay! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 700 replies.
Your next target is to reach 800 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing NFT for Peace
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 2 years ago  

Awesome culture wedding and this wedding is not same my country wedding

 2 years ago  

Ohh wow really?
I would love to know how yours is done

Thank you

 2 years ago  

Baby girl you sure made a beautiful bride. These pictures are super sweet. Your traditional marriages rites are almost similar with mine. We don't do that back and forth going to get cab fare to bring out the bride. Its a straight forward thing.

 2 years ago  

Awwwn thank you my madam


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

 2 years ago  

Such a brilliant post 📯
Well explained everything about your Traditional Wedding 💒
Really loving your word's ❣️

 2 years ago  

Thanks hasan

 2 years ago  

It’s almost like the story books I read in primary school about traditional weddings playing out in real life. You slayed every look, the groom is a lucky man.
Haha the last picture is a whole mood!

 2 years ago  

Hahahahha
Thank you

 2 years ago  

wow this is really amazing friend, you explain in detail every thing you do 😍😍

 2 years ago  

I tried my best

Thank you

 2 years ago  

It the first time hearing how it done in urobo and I must say it a nice culture.

 2 years ago  

Ohh really ?
Am glad I took one for the team then

Thank you for stopping by

 2 years ago  

This is a masterclass
Pure Gem
Great one and perfectly done

 2 years ago  

Awwn thank you 🙏
I appreciate

This is quite familiar to how we Igbos conduct our marriage rites.

This was really a read, you looked in your wedding pictures 🙂🙂

 2 years ago  

Awwwn thank you

You are welcome, I was wondering, is there a form of Nigerian Group for Hivers.

 2 years ago  

Yes #hive-naija
They are also on disccord
You can add them
Up and join both

 2 years ago  

I love Urhobo people, infact most of my friends are from Urhobo.

Nice culture and nice traditional wedding. Your friend looks so beautiful in her wedding attire 😍

 2 years ago  

Well that’s me
All me and me alone in all the pictures
Not a friend
Me me me

 2 years ago  

So sorry about that
You look very beautiful
I love your outfit
Looking at your pics makes me want to get married now 😉

 2 years ago  

Oya o
Invite us sha

 2 years ago  

Okay ooo

The tradition and wedding ceremony is very beautiful and interesting. Also, you are such a beautiful bride. Congratulations on your wedding! 😊

 2 years ago  

Awww
Thank you very much

 2 years ago  

Awwwwnn... See me blushing on your behalf. You look so astonishing. Your culture is a bit similar to the igbo culture. I have not gotten married and have not witnessed any marriage rites so I can't say.

I love your post. It is never too late to say congratulations. So a big congratulations to you and yours.

 2 years ago  

Awwn thank you Very much
I appreciate you kind words

 2 years ago  

This is beautiful

 2 years ago  

Thanks

 2 years ago  

Wow, the culture was so unique and amazing.

 2 years ago  

Thank you very much

 2 years ago  

What a tradition. It seems I will recommend my friends to come to get their wives from this axis. Wow-what a beauty.

 2 years ago  

Lol
Thanks

 2 years ago  

Chai.. this urobo wedding thing sweet me for belle o. it's as if there should just be one like this that i will witness immediately. 🥰🥰

 2 years ago  

Hahahahahaha thanks

 2 years ago  

You're welcome

This is really a best presentation on traditional wedding ceremony. Thank you so much for sharing with us.

 2 years ago  

Awwn I appreciate your kinds words
Thank you

 2 years ago  

Beautiful, the cultures and traditions of the Urobo people is amazingly beautiful, I'm sure it's quite similar in a lot of other tribes.

You actually gave a well detailed breakdown of a typical traditional ceremony, it's quite beautiful to experience and by the looks of it, you already have.

The list is another thing, it's ok to see that the list didn't cover more than two sheets of paper, 😂 some families would act like you're buying off their daughter. Certainly not this one...

Thanks for sharing , I enjoyed every bit of it ❤️

 2 years ago  

I'm from isoko and with your explanations, we have things in common most especially marriage rites. They way my husband paid my diary is so similar.

You have exercise patient to give this an elaborate explanations.

Cola nut does not walk alone and so, many people would love to support it. This aspect always makes it so interesting.

 2 years ago  

I married Isoko oo
My in-law lol

This looks like a fun wedding ceremony and a beautiful display of the Urhobo culture.

WhatsApp Image 2022-03-27 at 10.12.26 AM.jpeg

 2 years ago  

Thank you very much

 2 years ago  

This details choke
Goes really well... But Nigeria and some funny things sedd WHICH ONE IS MOTHER'S SLEEPLESS NIGHT FEES 😁😁

Awesome content, but what does Ortota mean ?

 2 years ago  

Otota means spokes person

 2 years ago  

Oh okay thank you
Oni óvo mé...😎😎

 2 years ago  

Sincerely I can't wait for my day, hopefully the lady I will get married to will not bill me so much. Uhobo tradition is really amazing and it will be good for one to get a wife from there.

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment
 2 years ago  

It was mine
Every picture here is me
And I narrated based off what I recall from my traditional marriage

Lol
Thank you for reading

 2 years ago  

Thanks