Sell Yourself

in Hive Learners29 days ago

image.png


Most employers that interview a candidate for a job opening will factor in appearance in their decision on hiring the candidate. Do I think this is just? Yes, I believe it is just to a certain degree. Personally, I think it depends on the type of job you're applying for and the circumstances surrounding the interview. If they are going to get interviewed for a high management position like CEO etc, they better be wearing all out formal. If they are getting interviewed on zoom, I think semi-formal would be ok like at least have a collared shirt.

If you're applying to be a model, actor or actress, you definitely have to be attractive or look the part for the character. Imagine if someone with a baby face and no muscle played as the main actor in the movie beekeeper. That would change the whole movie and probably ruin it. I think no matter what in most cases ignoring the looks (face and body), the person applying for the job should dress accordingly.

On the other hand, if you're getting interviewed from online sometimes the appearance doesn't matter. For example, there was time when I used to be a manager for an Axie scholarship. I had to hire people from Philippines and appearance wasn't a factor at all in my decision. I just needed to find people that were able to play Axie and play well. In addition to that, I got interviewed for a part-time about two months back. The person didn't really care about my appearance as much. They were more key in finding my work-ethics and my personality to see if it fit with their company culture. I have to say I did end up getting hired but I also ended up resigning due to a being slightly overwhelming. The company had a Hong Kong type culture so it was very stressful and wanted everything done fast with good quality.

I have shared both sides of where appearance matters and doesn't matter. Just to clarify, I believe it's "just" for certain jobs. There are cases where I feel it wouldn't be just but that's just my opinion. If I had a company and started hiring people, I would not care too much about appearance. I would focus more on the attitude and personality and to see if they are willing to learn and grow.

Now that I have covered appearance, let's move on to skill. Do I think it's better for skill to be the only factor considered in an interview instead of looks? I will use back my previous example of actors and actresses. Skills are definitely key; the person needs to be able to have the acting skills. Despite having good acting skills, the person needs to be able to fit the character of the part. You can't be having an old man play a teenager in the movie; it wouldn't make sense. Even if I was given the chance to change this system of appearance playing a factor, I wouldn't change it.

When going for an interview, you're selling yourself. Dress the part and showcase yours skills if possible. That's the way to get the W.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 28 days ago  

In cases of online interview like you discussed, physical appearance isn't needed, however it's best to represent any character you are applying for in dressing while going for physical interview. You can't just dress anyhow or even indecently and expect your interviewer to be impressed with you. The thing is that your appearance may send a negative signal to the interviewer and he is she may not give you the opportunity to express the skills you have got.
Overall, dressing appropriately looks safer and I wouldn't deny the fact that skill should be the utmost concern as well.

 28 days ago  

O.O yes exactly. That's why I always dress minimum smart casual for physical interviews.

I feel it's just a standard. Weird if anybody dressed inappropriately since most schools teach this but then again education is different around the world and maybe some not educated so hard to say.

Thanks for your added on thoughts. O.O what have you been up to. are u ready for web3 gaming?

 28 days ago  

Web 3 gaming? Not yet
Right now, just hustling for airdrops
Lol

 28 days ago  

theres airdrops for playing games o.o