HABITS-Little Changes Matters

in Hive Learners2 years ago
It is easy to underestimate the importance of little changes made in one's daily life for self improvement. Too often we convince ourselves that massive success requires massive actions. Whether its passing an exam, winning first in a relay race, winning championship or achieving other goal. We believe we need to do something great before we can achieve something big.

IMG_20221012_172052_53.jpg

What Habits Entails

A habit is a routine or behavior that is performed regularly—and,in
many cases, automatically.Most times is a behaviour which is done without much thinking,it already part of one's system.My mum does something most times,exactly it around 5am she will turn on the radio and start listening to her favorite program which later becomes an habit of hers,she must listen to that program either by using a radio set or even her mobile phone.

Habit is something you do often times without much thinking because it's already part of you.

Effect of Little Changes

Little changes drives or fine tunes one's habits both in the aspect of breaking off or building up habits.

Well I can't really say for now which is easier to do between forming new habit or letting away old ones but what I'm very sure of is that both needs full focus or attention to implement.
Breaking off Bad Habits

I decided to work on my habits of pressing my phone whenever I wake up in the morning. I created a barrier or Target that must be met before I do anything on my phone.
The first day was quite funny because I already started pressing my phone before I remember that I'm not to press it until certain criteria is met. The next day when I woke up I did my prayers then got out of bed to start engaging myself in morning chores,I started off with room cleaning before proceeding to another chores which I couldn't complete. I was to wash my clothes that very day but could not because I felt very tired and restless at the same time just because I'm yet to press my phone. Luckily for me the following day I was able to achieve my aim of completing my chores before pressing my phone whenever I'm awake in the morning.
Well it about five days since I decided to always do all my house chores in the morning before I press or do any stuff on my phone. It not easy breaking the habits but I'm putting all my strength to break off from it.

Building New Habits

Habits are results of one's regular activities. Back in my first year in school,my classes where virtual in such that I take classes online but I Know that I don't pay full attention whenever the class is ongoing.So,I decided for a particular day to always start reading around 10am and stop around 2pm. The next day I made sure I woke up early did my house chores and attended morning class. After the morning class I started reading,even though for the first day it wasn't quite easy but with so much dedication and focus I was able to read to around 1pm and stopped. The following day, I woke up early and did my normal routine,ate and even watch movie. Having done that I started reading around 10:30am without stopping or doing any other thing I stopped at exactly 2pm. What I noticed was that the task was easy for me to perform in the following day than the previous day. Since then I made it a regular routine to always read between that time except I won't be around or I'm having another thing to do.

Long-run Benefits

The difference a tiny improvement can make over time is astounding.Little changes tend to accumulate overtime,it might not show at the present moment but with time and consistency the changes will showcase.

For daily life,a slight change in once habit can guide one to a different path.Mind you, success is the product of one's daily habits.
It doesn't matter if you are successful or unsuccessful right now,what matters most is that your habit is putting you up on the right path of success.
"Journey of a thousand miles start with taking the first step",you and I needs to take the first step in shaping our Habits,it might not be noticeable at first but with time the changes will heave in sight.

Don't forget to comment and upvote.
Sort:  
 2 years ago  

I so much love reading this, it was as if we discussed and you decided to write the advice you want to give to me 🙂. I'm in the same position of wanting to always press my phone before anything else but now I've learned that putting in a little effort in stopping it will help a lot.

Thank you so much for sharing you habits with us, I've truly learned something and I will do my best to also change and make new habits.

It not easy changing one's habit but with little effort day by day there will surely be changes.
Ooh so I'm not the only that press my phone first thing in the morning 😁😁

 2 years ago  

Not at all, I'm with you in that aspect, lolz. You are absolutely right, little by little we will learn to do away with habits that are unhealthy.